When Sickness Threatens Your Job. :/

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

Sick kids make life hard. My Little Willow is home again today, she has a high fever and a cough.

0405181555a.jpg

Usually my job is very lenient on me about it but today didn't go so well. When I called to let them know, the manager on duty accused me of being out at least one day a week for sick children and "no one else has that problem".

I didn't know what to say, I'm not really all that good at confrontation or standing up for myself in the moment.

But the accusation was unfairly made. Do I have sick kids more often than any parent would like? Sure I do. I never want my sweet babies sick.

But weekly? That is a pretty blatant exaggeration. It can happen in clusters, there are three of them! If one gets strep it's likely another will too.

But most times when one of my kids are sick I simply bring them to work with me, so I am not missing work and they are not affected.

Perhaps she is having a bad day and my calling off makes it harder, and I feel for that, but, she said she will be taking me off the schedule. I can still come in for my shifts but they will not count on my being there.

Screenshot_2018-05-09-07-37-39.png

That hurts. I've been with this job for over a year now, sticking with it through homelessness, CPS threats, illnesses. I've shown up on days I could barely breathe from fear about what the day would bring and still managed to smile and do well.

I'm pretty frustrated that I have given so much loyalty to them, stayed there when more "socially acceptable" jobs were offered at the kid's school. But I'm undependable because my kids get sick now and then.

I'm kind of unsure of my situation in this moment, what would you do? I'm so petty my first thought is to start keeping a calander so I can slap it on her desk with a smug look and say "weekly, was it?"

Ugh.

Sort:  

If she fall sick regularly then you should consult with a good doctor.
Having fruit (specially apple because it is said "Take an apple daily keep doctor away") in a regular basis.

Drink water with a routine base time.

  • 1 or 2 glass of water Just after wake up from sleep at morning without brushing.
  • A glass of water , half an hour before breakfast,lunch,dinner.
  • Take little little water middle of eating.
  • Never drink just after finishing eating. Drink Minimum 15-30 minutes later.

best of luck, be safe

At my last job they conflated me with a co-worker who was kinda my counter part.
Boss: "You're out sick too much!"
Me: "I still have lots of days left of my sick time."
Boss: "No, you don't. You're out sick all the time. You miss work almost every week. For several days."
Me: "No, that's co-worker. Go look at my attendance log on the computer."
Boss: "I don't have to look, I know what the attendance log says."
Me: "Obviously you don't, because I have like a week left of sick days and it's co-worker who has used all theirs up."
Boss: "No, you used all yours up, too. You're always gone."
Me: "Look it up and show me, then."
Boss: "I don't have to. I just know."
Me: "No, you don't."

We've been at the doctor for 2 hours and we have to wait another 30 minutes for antibiotics.

She has strep throat and cannot go to school tomorrow either.

Poor baby. I remember having that when I was little. I hope she gets better soon. The antibiotics should work pretty quick. :-)

I can feel your feelings right now @hickorymack! No worries though, just shake it off, as long as you are true and honest with the job thats what count the most! Anyway what matters the most is our family!

It should be Ok and you could just mention it is not weekly and sometimes kids get sick. Could also mention about you have brought the kids to work so you don't miss work.

I don't think it is petty to keep a record of when you children are ill if it is an issue with your place of employment.

I worked for a local business cleaning houses for over 3 years so that I could easily take time off when my kids were sick or over various holidays. It was hard work (but I was young then) and everyone understood my situation.

My sister had to leave a job because the owner didn't like her bringing in her new infant to work. People are weird about kids.

I really do not have job loyalty anymore. I got burned by a few people and hurt emotionally in the process. I just do my job well but at the end of the day, it isn't my business.

Take care and God bless. Those babies don't stay small forever!!

Hi, Hugs @hickorymack. I hope your little girl is feeling better fast. Our 'society' can be so cruel and complicated at times. It sucks for everyone when children are ill --or anyone for that matter. All i know is that this system is failing, it's broken and so are many people thinking they are doing what's 'right' but at such a cost to themselves, others and often our environment. Prayers for you my girl.... to pull through this towards finding a better way. There has to be a better way 💛😬🙈 Hugs, miracles Blessings.

This is a tricky situation. You need to work to support your kids but work is not support you.
Now this is only my opinion based on what I would do if you were me. I would start looking for another job that fits and is supportive. Having a great work community, that supports you just as much as you support it.
Once you found that job give a weeks notice and blow it up in their face. If it is so easy to say things like that to you, then perhaps you are not as valued. why stay there? What is being appreciated from you when you work there? Pros and cons. See it and then make the choice that best suits your needs.
It is not a good place to be, especially on your morals if it is only bringing you down. You do not want to be just a number on a piece of paper.
With all that being said, keep in mind I do not know your financial situations and capabilities and I do not know what your job is either.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66654.57
ETH 3250.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.33