The Apology (Weddings and Great Beers)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

I sat in the chair, sweat beading on my brow, mind racing desperately. What do I do? What do I say?

The problem seemed enormous, not something I could easily overcome. I’d practically made a promise, and here it was, almost broken already. I needed an apology. I needed an excuse. I needed - “hyperbole!”(or whatever real life equivalent). The voice broke in and interrupted my musings. “Come on, we’re going on a camping trip today with the whole family, you’d better get packed.”

I was shocked, bewildered even. It was early afternoon already. If my entire family was going on a camping trip that very day, why did I not know until mere hours beforehand? I suppose practiced ignorance does tend to cause failings at the worst of times. Still, I wasn’t altogether unhappy about the concept - it was always fun to get together with my siblings and parents and do something. Besides, something was sure to go wrong in an amusing way.

And just like that, my plans were upended. No apology, no post on steemit about how I had known I would miss Saturday, no writing about how I felt simply unimaginative, drab even, on Sunday. No writing about the wedding I had needed to attend and pushed off writing till afterwards, no writing about how I had danced my heart out and enjoyed the event immensely, no writing about how I’d come home after, exhausted but prepared to work, and found the internet down (some problem with the router, fixed by the next day).
books.jpg
I was stuck. I’d missed three days of posts, and here I was, about to miss a fourth. Oh well, at least I could post the next day… But sadly that was not to be. When I arrived home around 30 hours later, in as much good spirits as I could possess, being far more than half asleep, I collapsed immediately on the couch, rising only when offered the delectable substance that is pizza. No, I was good for nothing that day. I could look at the computer, but nothing was getting done.

And so it is, that 5 days too late I offer you my apology, my excuses. To you, my loyal followers (all 3 of you) (that struck far too close to the truth) I apologize for there is truly nothing I can do to make up for it.

Oh, and I suppose for those of you who came for the beer in this clickbait-styled title, I should toss that in somewhere around here. The camping trip was amazing, including all the mistakes made. My brother lost track of time and showed up close to an hour after we planned on leaving, leaving us perhaps 10 minutes to set up the tents before the fading light was gone. Everybody forgot pillows except for me, leaving me a perfect opportunity to gloat - but somehow I managed to give my pillows away to my parents, though it was a struggle and a half for me to give up. And so it went.
pillow.jpg
But whatever mistakes there were, there was too much of a feeling of camaraderie, of simple satisfaction to bring us down. Perhaps the greatest moment in the trip, and one which just felt so satisfying to me, was when my family sat around a picnic table, enjoying the fresh steak and dogs and arguing about the best way to make smores (you’d be surprised), and my father and I shared a great beer (Lagunitas Maximus). I tried to pull a Boom review on the spot - “It’s dark and … ale’y.” A pause as I sat to consider, then took another sip. “It’s very strong, immensely flavorful, and surprisingly dark considering its light amber color.”
20180809_123501.jpg
And there it was. All these adventures that I’ve been up to. There’s far more to add, far more to describe, but I figured this was enough to suffice for now. I’ll try not to do that again though, it felt like I was giving up, as uncontrollable as it was. Though part of the problem is that procrastination of mine showing up all over the place. And I suppose I could post more if I took time off of my plotting for world domination - but I can’t giggles maniacally

Hyperbole out.

Random words under text: All pictures are either my own, pixabay.com's, or some weird combination of the two. I'm going to try to post more frequently from now on, like I did the first two weeks.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61830.08
ETH 2986.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73