The futuresteemCreated with Sketch.

in #writing5 years ago

Some days, as I walk down the street, passing houses and stores, buildings and other buildings, and of course the occasional people or vehicles, I reimagine the world as it could be in the future.

We, as humans, have been doing this for a long, long time. Picture it: a caveman looking over his humble caves and imagining them full of... I don't know, skins? cloths? In any case.

It's hardly a new thing to do, but each person, each age, can take their own perspective. Indeed, 'tis a thing we all do.

I can look and see a dystopian perspective, sort of Orwellian, be it because of the constant watch of the government, or through their oppressive regime. All buildings either under constant surveillance and guard, inespacable, or simply breaking down for lack of work - for the government cannot allow the peope too much freedom, even for their own buildings, can they?

I could see the world broken, disaster having struck in foreseen - or unforeseen ways. Be it nuclear fallout of some sort, global warming (undersea palaces, anyone?). Perhaps it will be rebuilt better, perhaps small remnants will be preserved, perhaps everything will simply be abandoned where it was left.

Or perhaps the government will somehow get it right. perhaps everyone will live much as they do now, simply with more advanced technology, more advanced society. I don't know how much that can be counted as "getting it right" - there's plenty wrong with today's world, and just not messing up - just basic technological advancements shouldn't count as getting it right.

Even if they do manage to get the bubble. The bubble. That infamous bubble. What's with that? Is it glass? Is it some sort of plastic? Is it a forcefield of some sort? Why does every futuristic interpretation have it in some form?

The questions every thinking person needs to ask him/herself. In any case, we can move on with these imaginings.

What about some sort of alien presence? If aliens were to exist and come to this earth, we'd have to consider - are they more technologically/societally advanced than us, less, or about the same? Are they coming as visitors, as conquerors, or as conquered? Do they have some sort of humanoid form, or not at all? Are they actually green, or do we just think they look like the sky, since they're coming from that direction?

Well. Be there aliens or not, would we, as a society, have unlocked some sort of superhuman abilities? Would they even be superhuman at that point? Do they already exist in secret, avoiding contact with mainstream society because of earlier... incidents? Why am I still asking questions?

In any case, the world could go in so many directions at this point, we should really consider where we want it to go, then maybe point it in that direction. Unless I'm getting this all wrong?

I don't know, I just vote for the nuclear fallout option. What, you claim not to enjoy others' pain and misfortune?

Liar

In any case, our world remains a wond'rous place, open to exploration and interpretation, and of course, peanut butter

-hyperbole out

Sort:  

I always see the world broken :0)

AH, but of course. For the world is already broken as is, and it is simply up to us to get in those final hits and shatter it irrepairably.



I am all for the nuclear fallout, or really any proper fallout all this pissy shit we have had up until now is a bit silly and of no concern to these people and thinking about the future for the better.

Not sure about too far in the future since I usually get blocked by the black at the end of my road and when I look back I see nothing but a loop of the same tedious clown slipping on the same banana peel. All lies with a hint of progress since they have since actually replaced the peel with oil and set the clown on fire.

Thank you for reminding me - If you saw a clown get hit on the head by a carelessly thrown hammer, slip on a banana peel and fall, then get crushed by a falling piano which was getting lowered from above, would it be funny, tragic, both, or neither?

Aliens exist. We know they do because Blink 182 wrote a song about it in 1999. Hopefully they arrive as conquerors, sooner than later, preferably before I'm dead, and set the world on fire so I can watch it burn while eating peanut butter straight from the jar.

Eh. Peanut Butter is always better when eaten with the knife you used to kill its previous owner.

Remember: buying your own stuff - bad; killing people and taking their stuff - good.

Simple Rules for a simple life.

simple enough, i like it. are you our new alien overlord?

I've long debated whether or not I was dropped here by (my) alien species, and have long since come to the conclusion that I was.

That being said, I'm unsure whether I was dropped here to conquer or simply abandoned because I was found lacking. Either way I should take over, I'm just waiting for the right time... presumably after I finish my peanut butter.

Let me know when you take over, assuming of course it's not obvious to the whole world.

The plan is already in the making, but of course we can always make a bit expanse of room for you.

Yes, that was me (un)subtly calling you fat. You've got something to say to that?

No, I won't argue with the truth, I am enormously fat. If you ever come to Colorado it's easy to find me, just look for the fattest person and that's me. I should stop eating so much peanut butter and maybe try to exercise.

Exercise, you say? If you do, we may need to exorcise you - ouch. That pun hurt even me.

But it's evil to make bad puns, right? That's something evil people do? If not, it is now.

In any case...(get me out of this wormhole!) exercise is frowned upon in the alliance of villainy, might want to be careful about how much you do.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64742.01
ETH 3172.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.10