A Horrible birthday, turned around

in #writing6 years ago

0809181147.jpg

In my first post today, I was on my phone as I sat outside a
Rehab center, where I had delivered my friend, and waited outside
In the Heat.
Once he was done, I returned him to his home, which is right next
Door to my erstwhile neighbor and "IT Guru" who I had called
About my email problem. I spent about ½ hr sitting on his porch
While he diddled with my laptop, and there at least, the email
Is working in Chrome. (not on my PC, when I got home)
While all that was happening, my phone rang.
"Hi Jerry, it's Mercy and the Phoenix of Tucker"

We were wondering if you were free to come last minute and
Play for a "Hawaiian Luau" themed party for our residents
THIS AFTERNOON AT 2:30 (it was now 11:30, Tucker is an hour
Drive away)
When I told Mercy that it was my birthday, she said
"well never mind then, you probably have plans"
I did not have plans, so I agreed. I warned that I don't do but a
few Hawaiian songs, "Blue Hawaii" and "Tiny Bubbles" being
the main two that came to mind.
She said "they love you and will love whatever you do."
0809181148.jpg

Back Story on the Turtles

About 4 yrs ago, while leaving this area where I lived, I topped
A hill, to find a man in the middle of the road, confronting a
Very large Alligator Turtle. These are not common and
Rather endangered. They are also fast and VERY aggressive
For a turtle. I helped him get that turtle out of the middle
Of the road, and the Sun (A stream runs through a large
Culvert under that part of the road; why it didn't go
Through that nice, cool safe and WET tunnel, I don't understand)
So today as I was leaving, hurrying home to clean up and change
There was this much smaller version (this one was about 12 inches
Head to end of the shell (not the head or tail, just the shell)
I picked it up, avoided being severely bitten (I'm a country boy)
And moved it to the edge of the woods, where it promptly
Turned around and tried to bite me. I hope he continued on
Into the shade and safety.

It was a dismal day for me, I forgot my knee brace, and I am so
slow by myself setting up that I only had about
15 min prior to the start time for sound check etc; and I was hurting badly.
I didn't take any mid day meds, because I was in a hurry.
"Tiny Bubbles" is not in my current song book,
but I did have the flash drive with the midi, and I used my
phone to grab the lyrics.
I never did do 'Blue Hawaii', but I did do
"Lets go on a Moonlight Swim" also from that movie, and
I did "Red Sails in the Sunset"
0809181916b.jpg0809181915a.jpg
0809181916.jpg

When they came towards me carrying the cake,

I was mildly surprised and very pleased.
I had a birthday Luau and
everyone sang to ME

A Horrible birthday 2

turned around
by
Jerry E Smith
©8/9/2018


These .gifs were created for me by @coquiunlimited; many thanks




Sort:  

Happy Birthday Jerry! May God bless you with many more!!! I am so happy they did that for you that is truly nice! What a wonderful surprise!

Thank you Nikki my dear friend.
It is true, to me a B'day is just
Another day, but it is nice to
have something done
For you
For a change.

Absolutely! I love that they managed to surprise you, ha, ha.

They did that!

Wow! That was really special. A complete surprise for you. Did they know it was your birthday ahead of time and plan this for you? This was so sweet! Happy Birthday, Jerry! 🎂🍧🎇

Hi Mama Castor, I think if you read more closely, I said
That when she called to ask if I'd come play,
I told her it was my B'day
She said "Oh, well you probably have plans then"
Which I didn't. So they got the cake made up
And planned this surprise in the course of
Three hours between the call to come
Play, and my arrival. They were
Doing the Luau already
Thank you.

I worked out beautifully. That was pretty swift planning then on their part!

Yes it was. Thanks again.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 70112.96
ETH 3549.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71