"A Song For Karen" in remembrance of my niece

in #writing6 years ago


A beautiful bird has escaped her cage,
And flown away to Heaven.
It does no good to weep, wail and rage,
Just accept it all as leaven.



Her spot in the choir, can never be filled,
Harmonies seem weak and barren.
The song in our hearts will never be stilled,
We’ll sing of our love, for Karen.

“Song for Karen”

11/27/63-8/9/17
by
Jerry E Smith
©8/11/17

On my birthday last year 8/9/2017, my beloved
Niece Karen Tippins was found dead in her back yard.
I wrote this poem for her, in remembrance.
I was dealing with my dead transmission, and did
Not get word until 8/11/2017. I was devastated.
They live about 800 mi from here. I couldn't go be with
Them.
It has now been suggested that it was suicide, but
How can I ask that question of my family? Without
Opening even more wounds?




These .gifs were created for me by @coquiunlimited; many thanks



Sort:  

Prayers and positive vibes

Thank you my friend.
image.png

I am so sorry for your loss, Jerry. She was too young to pass on to heaven. Would asking that question answer anything? Or would it just leave more unanswered questions? If it was suicide, there are never sufficient answers. I have been down that road. My brother committed suicide 13 years ago, leaving behind three young children. We have moved on, but the questions remain. This is doubly hard for you because it happened on your birthday. Time lessens the hurt but it never completely heals. There is always a scar.

Loading...

Thank you @ykdesign, as always, but it was not meant to be cute.
She died, and I was expressing my shock and sorrow.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 69796.92
ETH 3521.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.70