the evolutions of a post

in #writing5 years ago (edited)

How a JNET post comes to life..

May 29 8:40pm. I post one photo via the partiko app.

Story forthcoming. Check back :)

8:45.. Five minutes later....Wanting to post additional photos, I log onto steemit and load photos from a prior visit to the Huntington and center them. As much as I love the partiko app, I can only post one photo (correct me if I’m wrong).

Each post goes through several edits and updates as I find my voice. I don’t know if anyone feels as tortured as I am in the process. Sometimes a paragraph would annoy the heck out of me. What kind of JNET voice is that? You sound mechanical and didn’t give enough heart and soul in those words. Paragraphs get deleted. Sentences get moved around as I compose my pacing.

From the constant pruning and editing, I usually run out of resource credits. Ha! This gives me more time to mull over my words and create a direction. Creating a new post is like learning new choreography or a new piece on the piano, I obsess over the details and technique, going through the same measures over and over til the practice and repetition sounds natural, expressive, and honest to me.

It’s past 5am. I don’t know why I haven’t slept yet but my post has been sitting open, getting picked at. Ironically after writing this, I feel sleepy. I hear the birds singing and the world starting to wake up outside. Do I tuck in? No, I read everything from the beginning for the umpteenth time to see if there’s one last stray word that needs fixing or deleting. Only after that do I decide to grant myself a nap. I have places to be in a few hours. I will pick up where I left off later this afternoon. For now, good morning and good night....

May 30, 10:30pm

Before I closed my eyes this morning, I sent my post link to the minnow project and steemchat groups on discord for their upvotes. My current reputation is 49 and my posts usually get a dozen upvotes. When do I become a dolphin? I don’t know. Sometimes, I create posts that get 200-300 upvotes on a random sunny day. I’m still trying to divine why that happens. The steemit universe is an immense mystery.

This post, like all my previous posts has gone through several evolutions. I have a process in creating my post just so. Is my voice distinct from the others that any wary wanderer that lands here can feel refreshed? I hope you feel like you found an oasis here and that you visit again. Next time, I’m sharing something very special.

Peace to you as you piece together your posts.

JNET

Posted using Partiko iOS

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by JNET from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Thx. I like to find pieces of heaven near me and create them. You’d be surprised at what may be within walking distance from home. I don’t think I’d survive LA as well if I hadn’t searched for such places. I hope all is well in your world 🦋

J

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.37
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70162.45
ETH 3540.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.79