The Ghost on the Golf Course - Part One

in #writing5 years ago (edited)

There is a story told in Victoria, which is well known to every school child.

The tale has appeared in newspapers for many decades. You may hear it repeated in bars, around campfires, or by the operators of Ghost Tours. It is the story of a gruesome murder-suicide which occurred on a golf course in 1936 - and of the haunting by an extremely vengeful and dangerous ghost.

I want you to know I researched this story thoroughly. I read books and watched videos. I spoke to people who claim to have seen the ghost. The more I learned the more one question kept running through my mind: Where are all the photographs? You know what? I'm a photographer. If anyone could capture this ghost I felt certain it would be me. If only I had never begun this quest... It has terrified me ever since. It has changed my life and shaken me to my very core because it seems the ghost has now made me the target of her anger! Would you like to hear the story?


Doris Gravelin was murdered by her estranged husband Victor and her body was stashed on the golf course beneath some rocks and driftwood beside the shore. Victor went missing and was not found until a month later, his body entangled in seaweed a hundred yards offshore. In his pockets were the shoes worn by Doris on the night of her murder.

Prowling the shoreline at dusk
gig2e6p53b.jpg

Is there something about me which allows me to see ghosts? What about my camera - is it defective? I never did send it back to Nikon for that recall... I don't know, but from the moment I first set foot on the golf course, I felt the presence there. It is angry, it is relentless. Doris cries out for justice and will let nothing stand in her way. She is vicious and over the years has become almost pure evil. If she were not the victim I would have no sympathy for her at all. She is what I call a classical ghost, dressed in white - her wedding dress as it turns out. She floats in the air, she screams although the sound is only heard in my mind. She is hungry for revenge and above all, she is incredibly fast!

I visited the golf course every night for weeks. I could always feel her presence, but it took a while before Doris began to appear for me. It was longer still before I learned to capture her photograph, but I was hooked immediately.

On the path
0lqqfvsmzp.jpg

The first thing you should know if you venture out onto the golf course at night is you should take care to not attract her attention. If you see her, stand still. Avoid eye contact at all costs. If you're lucky she will pass by and leave you alone... but if she sees you, even from a great distance, she will instantly appear before you. I believe she is still searching for Victor and she wants him to pay. Does she not know Victor is dead? She surely wants somebody dead and if your name is not Victor I believe she will happily accept you as a temporary substitute! If she confronts you, the only thing to do is stand your ground. Eventually, she will fade away like the mist at dawn. Eventually...

She Rises
dkiq8jicjg.jpg

Here is where her body was discovered, hidden behind some logs and rocks. The temperature plummeted when I approached this spot. A hot summer night instantly became frigid and I had to fight the urge to flee in terror. I waited for a moment and then from the tall grass she arose...

I have since learned that the ghost sightings repeat themselves like actors rehearsing a play - or like scenes from a movie playing on a loop. Most sighting reports have basically the same outline and details. There is the scene at the bell on the sixth green. In another scene, she appears by the road where she will try and often succeed in causing car crashes! Did I mention how fast she is? Fast enough that I believe she can appear in two locations at once!

Let's see, what else... Oh yes! She dances beneath the full moon! She also terrorizes groups of walkers and can even summon the wind at will. I've worked on this project for so long I have succeeded in photographing each act of this play. And now after all these years, I fear she has begun to write new acts for the play, and that she is including me in the story!

Would you like to hear the story?

Sort:  

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Thank you @pixresteemer!

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Happy to see you are still haunted by your ghost pictures ! ^_^

Hi Barbara, thank you :)

haha! creep city man! I want to hear her rewritten story if you're one of the stars of it! I love the way she appears in your photos, very ghastly and ghostly! I wouldn't be going there by myself though, too scary.

haha! creep city man! I want to hear her rewritten story if you're one of the stars of it! I love the way she appears in your photos, very ghastly and ghostly! I wouldn't be going there by myself though, too scary.

Hey, thanks a lot, @janton! I'll think about posting more, right now this post seems to be a dud...

well I thought it was very interesting, creative, unique and cool. Sometimes it takes a day or too to get noticed but some fall kinda flat for some reason. Like my post today, only had about 4 or 5 people comment on it so I guess it was boring to people even though I thought it was interesting.

I say to do what you enjoy, do the type of posts that you enjoy and eventually people with similar tastes will find you. If they don't then there's always weku! lol.

Well, I already commented on your post! I do get discouraged easy. Sometimes you can put a ton of work into something and it goes nowhere. I'm never going to Weku - I've been banned from there anyway because I opened an account but never posted. Now Whaleshares might be different. I'm doing better there with 30 followers than I am here. Really makes me think.

Howdy again sir Keith! oh wow, well people keep telling me to go to weku at least to register and open an account even if I don't want to post anything now, just to hold an account in the username I want but you say that got you banned? lol. I've heard that whaleshares is good. Is it simiar to steemit? what tokens or coins or whatever do they pay in?

I've heard other people get banned for registering but failing to post. If you sign up you should post something. Whaleshares is yet another Steemit clone. There are some differences: 14 days for a post to payout. No bots. No delegation. The coin is called Whalestake - WLS. It seems to be worth 0.05 US right now. You can purchase it and power it up, but I don't think you can power down, or at least not fully. I think the number of users is quite small - and therefore it's like getting in on the ground floor. It's still only a long-term investment and completely speculative. Feels a lot like Steemit though as you might expect.

Do they have a ranking number like our rep number? You have more active people there than on steemit? how long have you been with them?

No, I have only 31 followers. I posted the same ghost story there and it will earn at least double what it will bring in here even after an ocdb vote. (I could only transfer 2 steem) They did away with the rep number on Whaleshares, that's another slight difference. I think everyone keeps a 25 rep forever. I've been posting there for a month. Mostly unique posts but occasionally a cross-post.

This post is sponsored by @Appreciator in collaboration with @c-squared . Just keep up the good work.

I'm glad this post caught my eye @keithboone and I was also very happy to be reminded about how good your story telling abilities are.......and those images. Wow! They are scarily mesmerizing. I think I caught sight of part 2, so I will make my way there with a strong torch to light my way in the dark but also to fend Doris off if she gets too close.

Thank you for reading the story, Trudee. I wish I could take credit for making it all up, but alas the tale is true. I mean seriously - who could invent a ghost with a name like Doris? At least Victor has a name I can believe for a villain! But Doris? I suppose she is truly just a good girl gone bad. Very bad as it turns out! :-)

Quite frankly, I think it takes just as much skill to re-write a story as it is to write one, especially if it is well known, like this one. You've caused your readers to ask questions and that takes skill.

I know what you are saying about the name Doris. It does seem rather benign for a ghost. When I hear the name 'Doris' I think of Doris Day, the famous actress and there wasn't anything scary about her from what I can recall.

This tale needs more publicity so I gladly resteem it. Can't wait for episode 3.

Thank you so much for the resteem, Trudee! Episode three is now online ;-)

Awesome! I'll check it out now.......with caution and suspense in equal measure.

Just got around to reading this spooky ghost story. You are doing it justice Keith...really scary.
I’ve seen a few real ghosts in my lifetime so know anything is possible.

Thank you! There are plenty of ghosts down east. There was one in my grandfather's house... footsteps could be heard on the stairs at night - this was after the house got rebuilt from a fire and the new staircase was moved to the other side of the building! Crazy stuff!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Thank you so much, @c-squared!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63706.21
ETH 3073.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76