A strange visitor (short story, fiction)

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

multi_mirror_by_truax4d20201-d3c8691.jpg

February 02 2021
It was an ordinary day. I woke up. I brushed my teeth. I went to work. An I spend 8 hours working in my office just copying and pasting. It was so boring that I almost fall asleep at work. As I was leaving the office I saw Mike. Mike was always annoying. He always brags about everything. And that time was no different.

"Hi Kris" - said Mike while smiling
"Hi Mike" - I said that so un-enthusiastically that it looked like I want to die. But in reality, I just wanted this conversation to be over as soon as possible.
"Dude, you know how much money I made today? A shit-tone of money. I was on the line all day selling shits to people and lying so I can get even more from them."
"It looks like you had a lot of fun today, Mike. But I don't care. Can you just leave me alone?"
"I can drive you home with the new car that I bought yesterday. OH BOY, yesterday I made a lot of money. I am so rich I sometimes surprise myself with how much money I have." - he said that while smiling.
This guy was annoying as hell. He just pissed me off and made my day even worse.
"I will just walk back home."

While I was walking back home I felt strange. Like somebody was following me. I glanced over my shoulder and I saw a shadow. I panicked. I started running. After a couple of minutes, I stopped and I took a deep breath. I looked behind me and there was no one. I took an even deeper breath of relief.

When I turned again I was shocked as I saw the same shadow in front of me. And it was not human. It was just a shadow. Nothing more, nothing less. I started sweating. While stuttering I said:
"Wh... who ar... are you?"
Nothing happened. There was no response at all.
"What do you want?"
I suddenly gained confidence.
"Why are you here?"
"HELLOOOO"
No response.
I approached to touch it and then. Then something really strange happened.

December 05 2120
I woke up in my bed. Like nothing ever happened. Was I dreaming? Was anything of that real? Am I still dreaming?

I stood in one place for about 5 minutes just mind-boggling. Trying to figure out what really happened. Suddenly I heard a noise from downstairs. I went down and I saw a man. A man that was not walking, but rather flying.
"Who are you?"
"Hi, Kris. I know that you have a lot of questions, but first I need you to follow me."
"How do you know my name"
"Is that so important right now? Just follow me"

I started following him because I was curious about what was happening. We went outside and I saw the unbelievable. The whole city was ruined. There was nothing left. The only non-damaged thing was my house.
"Where am I?"
"Who are you?"
"And why are you showing me all of this?"

The stranger started flying.
"There were days when men and women lived with nature. They lived peacefully. They lived without greed. Without money. But something changed, Kris."
I was suddenly above the ground flying with him. Then he continued:
"Something happened that changed everything. A group of people claimed the land for themselves. A group of people that were known by the name of "the elite". They took everything. They created division. They created all of this tragedies. Because they were greedy for control. The land suddenly was theirs and they robbed you, then they sold everything back to you. And you know what? You were on their team all along."
I was surprised. How can a be on someone's team when I didn't even know these people?
"This is bullshit. Who are you? Is this some kind of a trick? I didn't even know these guys how could I have been on their team and supporting them?"
The flying man smiled and said:
"You know Kris, the world was a dangerous place, not because of those who did evil, but because of those who looked on and did not do anything to stop them. But now the world is gone. There is nothing left than you and me."
I started thinking about it. Maybe he was right. I was supporting them. I was ignorant. I only cared about me. Yeah, maybe Mike was annoying but I should have done something to make him be less self-centred. Like I should have done to stop the destruction of humanity. But suddenly I thought about something.
"One bird doesn't make a summer. So it would not have mattered at all." - I shouted that because the flying man was too far.
He approached me and smiled.
"Yes, but without that one bird nothing would have happened in the long run."
"Ok, I get it. What happened to humanity?"
- said I
"A lot of things. At first, race disconnected them with one another, then religion separated them, politics divided them and wealth classified them. From there all of humanity went down to hell. Slowly destructing each other for their own good. Society was ignorant. They were living on Earth as they had another one to go. Killing everything on it."

I shred a tear and I asked confidently:
"Can I have another chance to save humanity?"

The flying man said to me:
"I will give you another last chance. You will wake up in your bed like nothing happened. Don't disappoint me. Do it until it is too late!"

Dear reader, you can do it. Save humanity! God Bless.

Sort:  

Хубаво съчинение, писането ти се отдава! Като видях снимката и първото нещо, което се появи в съзнанието ми беше словосъчетанието "Smoke And Mirrors", не зная защо. После не издържах и Google-нах, та излезе следната песен:

А да, щях да пропусна и още една песен със същото име.

Мерси отново за хубавият коментар. Относно песните и двете ми допадат. Особено на "Poets of the Fall". Поне тази тяхна песен е хубава иначе другите които им видях са пълни със символизъм.

Вярно е, по-рано (преди години) не ми правеше впечатление символизма в техните песни. Но поне като чета текстовете, мисля че при тях се използва с обратен знак, сиреч с цел подигравка със статуквото (Пример за такава песен е "Daze").

П. П. Можеш да видиш и най-новата им псен - "False Kings", в нея се подиграват с т. нар. "играчи".

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64507.66
ETH 3080.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85