Sort:  

That often seems the result on here. Tons of shit overvalued, while many actually good posts are undervalued.

They're slowly killing the platform, one day at a time.

OK, so what's the point of this? You are telling a bunch of people how to handle their money. You are adressing the outcome of a deeper problem, that is rooted in the way the site operates in general.

No shit the content is garbage. I've written about this extensively. And it's not only the writers, but the readers as well.

The platform is pay-per-action. All of these problems aren't going to go away until Steemit is established as a legitimate social media platfrom, that is not tighed with the volatility of the crypto market.

It's not the whales.

You're absolutely right, this is just another one of those tens or even hundreds of those rants on the exact same topic!

You can say there's no point to it but as they say "hope is the comfort of the fool" and I am the fool that pushes the same snowball in hope it gets big enough to make a change. (Which won't probably happen any time soon).

Thank you for coming out with your own arguments, I have not thought about this that way. I will definitely look through your posts in order to read more about what you have in mind!

Don't get me wrong, I totally get the urge to write such posts at least once a week. In the end, there are certain conditions that must be met to facilitate real change and not just patches.

Unfortunatley those with the most invested (and most to lose) act in a manner that is most detrimental for the long term success of Steem - they should be doing all they can for the long term success as they have the most to lose.

I tend to disagree that content here is garbage in general - there is some bad content around but thats true for every platform! I think there is loads of good content out there if you go looking - I follow loads of great Steemians with awesome blogs.

They "shouldn't" be doing nothing that is not in line with what they want. They're making decent money. They don't actually have any real incentive for this platform to be a mainstream social media, because that way they'll lose their tight grip on the reward pool and influence they have in here.

And sure, there's great content here (pareto principle). But it's not highlighted organically. The engagement itself isn't organic.

I guess cash is king. Thats true I didnt think about it that way - but in saying that if we do get mass adoption this could lead to some massive investors down the line which could lead to Steem having a big increase in price - so there is some incentive for them.

Yeah thats true you have to go searching for the best content which isnt how it should be

Good post man, I like to think that I post quality work and I am working hard to build myself a following. There is a lot of trash on here that seems to make a mint which can be annoying but there's always going to be that sort of thing on websites such as this. But the people who consistently post quality work with a lot of thought and effort will always rise to the top. There's no point in getting mad about it, just focus on your work and as long as you're happy with what you're publishing I'm sure the votes will follow!

My understanding is that 'some' of the whales support each other in voting circles (so they are probably early adopters and together just upvote each others content without even reading their content.

I tend to agree that they should delegate out some of their SP to community projects if they dont have the time/interest in curating good content.

I tend to spend alot of time on my own feed and find the content pretty good - I am careful and selective on who I follow, and not afraid to unfollow people if their quality goes down, they resteem to much etc - I see this as positive infact as I think 'Why follow someone your not interested in hearing from?'

Unfortunately the majority of the biggest whales wont make a change! Im only a small minnow and can already see that a focus on community and helping everyone grow together is the best way for long term success of the platform - that way everyone wins rather than the select few at the top. Thats why so many people come and go on Steemit - they think they will make truck loads of money with little effort but thats not how the system works

My hero :-)
the problem is auto voting whales just voting for each other as theyve been here the longest. Take a look at anyone with an over68 rep and see how much their posts earn and who the votes are coming from. Same people everytime. Makes no difference how long or short or good or bad the content is. (some exceptions of course)
Now we have Goldmatters giving gold away to the Steemit 'Legends'...all who seemingly live in the US and are legends because...errrr no idea why except they earn a fortune each post.
Basic problem. No one reads, everyone wants to be read and because many people knows that no reads, they dont care what shit they put out...

PS. I need you to teach me about styling
PPS where am I sending your book ? my personal email [email protected] :-)

You, Sir, have got an e-mail! 😁

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66004.40
ETH 3243.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.19