A wedding. The Steemfest. That Charity.

in #writing6 years ago

IMG-20180607-WA0068.jpg

Hello, every and all of my followers here! Today we will have a different post. I will talk a little about my plans in the near future as they concern some of you and this wonderful platform of Steemit, that opened up many doors for me. And, even in the crypto down-time and STEEM struggle, I still view the platform as highly as I did before. Why? Because it has made sure I can live doing what I love, and I am just at the beginning. Yes, I am powering down again as the hard times have touched me as well and I need the coin in real life to pay rent and buy food, all the basics and that. But I have no doubt that we are going to go up again and I will be able to stop my power-down before I slurp away too much from my account.

What prompted me to write this post instead of doing the usual and talking about myself a little in the weekly charity blog? I recently found out that Steemfest vol. III is on, and it is on very soon. I am also packing today, to go to a Steemit wedding that many of you helped me get to. And, I am looking to go to Bangladesh to teach some of the kids that study in the charity school of @SchoolForSDG4. You see? There are so many connections that I have to Steemit and its users, and I would like to honor the platform and everyone who has been on this journey with me so far.

First off, the wedding. The plan. The gear.

As you might know, I made this post a while ago and I was taken back by the response. In a good way. Many amazing souls helped me and I am therefore able to go to @Nikflossus wedding that is on 18th of August. I met Nik on Steemit, in the Whaleshared discord server, when he was hosting a curation show. Most of you might know that I went on to join his team and even though we are on holiday now (wedding preparations and other things) we will most certainly be back. In one way, shape or form, or another.

I am mentioning this joyful event as I want to tell you that I have packed and the fancy camera is coming with me. I will make a lot of pictures for you and me, just like I promised. And, if Nik lets me put pictures of him and his beautiful bride up, I will most certainly upload these as well. If they will want their privacy, however, I will honor that and take pictures of the wedding in a different light. I will most certainly sneak in a picture of me in my wedding guest gear, and a snap of another friend from Steemit, who is coming with, @Kubbyelizabeth, as well!

Overall, we were lucky to fit in our budget and find some bargains. In the end, I spent around 55 euros on my Airbnb, 60 euros on the car rental, and 100 euros un the train tickets. I used www.trainline.de for the train tickets as the page is great and finds trains and buses all over Europe for you and with affordable prices. I used www.rentacar.fr/en/ for the car rental and chose freeloc+ rental that is cheaper than regulars as it has commercial stickers on it and a mileage limit of 600 km. The only downside is that the company is very French and I fear their English is close to zilch. Either way, I hope that going to a distributor instead of a third party service will pay off. We also found a lovely country house close to the wedding venue for a very affordable price. How it all looks and works out, we will find out later and I will inform you with stories and pictures later.

So, I have spent 250 euros on all those things that I asked your help with. The only other necessities left are gas and food for us but I am sure it will be okay as I did manage to save up a little bit for that part. I will be leaving this Wednesday, early in the morning, at 4 AM, and I will be back on the 22nd in the morning. Again, very early. I will probably not post in this time as I will be enjoying the wedding. However, I will make a post for the charity, as I always do.

Second, Steemfest, 2018.

Now, here comes the funny part. I am quite close to Krakow but I am still not sure I will make it. I have been going to many more places this year than I intended. Mostly, I spent little amounts no money on them as I always had a bed to sleep in but my traveling has still resulted in zero savings of any kind, especially after I will have sent the little that I have on the Wedding :D. Right now I am hoping on crypto prices going up but you know how it is with crypto, it decides on its own rules and Steemfest is very close so time is not on our side :) However, I might make it, somehow. I always have before so I might. After all, the train tickets are just 100 euros together and I could find a cheaper Airbnb.

We will see as I have not promised myself anything yet but I would really love to go. You might also convince me by telling me if you are going! It will encourage me to scrape together what I can find. :) I have made some great connections here but I would love to see my fellow steemians in flesh. It is a totally different experience altogether, to put a face on words, and I think we would have a lot of fun in the fest together.

And, if I do not make it, I would love to see some of you guys visiting. If you are traveling from far away and would like to drop by me and explore more of Europe, hit me up! We have a spare room, even two. And a comfortable bed will be waiting for you. Plus, it is very, very beautiful here, where I live! And we could even make our own tiny steemfest!

Sylhet, Bangladesh. Charitable deeds.

Now, this last one is a little bit further away than anything else. I am thinking of going to Bangladesh next year. I checked out the flights already and they are a little over 1000 euros. I have never paid even half of that for a single trip, so buying a flight that pricey seems quite exotic to me :D I plan this for the end of the next year as I will really need to save up some money to make it there. And, as I want to spend around a month there, I will also have other expenses so I am just building the idea up in my mind. You know, focusing my energy on it.

Now, why would I like to go? I have worked with @SchoolForSDG4 for a year now. Like many other things, I found out about the project on the Whaleshares discord server and started following it on Steemit. After I trusted the project enough, I offered my help. Me and Mohammed (@Azizbd) have worked together since. By now I have learned the faces that study at school and I have built a relationship with the amazing Mohhammed. I would like to think we are friends. I also feel like I want to do more for the charity at this point and that is why the idea of going there was born.

I like to think that my English is quite okay, and, that maybe, with @Azizbd help, I might teach something to the little ones. In English and such. I would like to ask you if you know any great study books for first to third grade English. Not in English speaking countries but for kids that have a different first language. I would also like to bring the tiny laptop that I own but do not use to the kids as I think they would put it to a better use than I do. I have mentioned it before. Also, is there anyone out there that would like to go with me? Maybe you have worked with the charity as well and would like to see it ''in the flesh'' too. Or maybe you are just an adventurer seeking a new exciting journey?

Have you been to Bangladesh? What should I know? How is the paperwork? The people? The food? I know that the government is not greatly loved but how do they look at tourists? Do you live in Bangladesh? Close to Sylhet? What places should I visit? What vaccines should I do, if any?

I was already warned by another steemian that there is a lot of rain in Bangladesh and that it is better to go in Winter as it is not as humid there then. Also, I am informed that the rain and flood are not as persistent in the winter.

This project is really close to my heart as I always wanted to help but did not know how with the small amount of money that I earn. Steemit gave me an opportunity to improve myself as a human being and I will always be thankful for that.


Now, those are some of the more important things I want to do in the future. And all of them are possible and happening because of Steemit. I want to say thanks for all the human connections. And I want this post to be a reminder, even for myself, that the downtime is never as bad as it looks. We make it worse by being down with it. Believe me, I know, I am one depressed cooky trying to make it right now but falling short and looking terrified at the money I will withdraw for my next three months of survival. But I am also hopeful as in the last year I have grown tremendously. I may not be earning much but I am doing good. I am healthy, I have food and I just saw my brother recently. There is nothing more than I could ask for right now.

I am working towards my ambitions and goals and I am improving, slowly, but improving. I have learned that I need to hold on to my goals stronger as I often do not reach them and get discouraged. But you know what they say, many unsuccessful people are not successful because they gave up a step before victory. So, do not be that person, see your dreams through. There is always a way. I say it to myself and all of you! :)

IMG_0512.jpg
I am one excited cookie! :D Thank you for sticking with me!

Have the best day! Today, tomorrow, and forever.
Linda

Sort:  

I cannot afford to go butbI am recording some applications as there are a few contests ongoing giving away tickets so you never know 🌱

You might win one of these! You are an amazing person and steemian, and singer, and musician, and everything nice!

Woow, woow, woow... so much love in this post @lindahas, at the end will you go to SF? Really congratulate you cause good vibes is not something that someone can find every time!

Cheers for that!

No, I will not make it! I have too many different places I have to be at and my budget is out and done. Maybe next year! :)

Oh sure I understand...budget is a problem with this Crypto price..hope this will change soon! ;P

I hope so as well! We have got to see some positive things happening in the crypto world! And sooner rather than later :D

Totally! :)

Peace V!

We will certainly takes lots and lots of pictures together

We did, didn't we?! I am uploading them now and will send them to you first!

Hey Linda!

It's been a while...

It's great to be reading all your plans for this and the following year. I hope you can make it to steemfest3 so, you can meet other steemians. The plan to come visit Bangladesh sounds amazing as well! Good luck with your future endeavors

Cheers 😃!

Hello! Haven't seen you in ages! And I left exactly when you dropped me the comment! How have you been? I hope, well?

Hey, I have been sort of M.I.A.
It was a little hassle to be constantly moving and trying to be online all the time. However, I am currently staying in a fixed zip code which means, I'll have more time to be here.

I look forward reading your stories.

Have a great day 😊😊😊

@lindahas have some nice time ans wish nik the best

Thank you! I just came back and it really was a great place to be!

Hello @lindahas, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Hey, hey! Thank you a bunch!

I hope you can go to steemfest!

I already decided against it. I have made some frantic holidays this year and I have sworn off traveling at least until the new year. At least that is my stance right now :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70391.42
ETH 3572.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.74