Legs of a Greyhound

in #writing5 years ago (edited)

Even if there weren't several tinted buses humming away outside, I'd still find it obvious that we are all going somewhere. A face of travel isn't really hard to identify. While most people roam about for business and other sensible reasons, there's always an odd man out. Everyone knows it. The outlier - by mistake or good measure. The one who quietly yet boldly slips through life's cracks, those of which the majority of people desire to jump up and over as a youthful adolescent would when climbing steel monkey bars.

I don't know what he's running from, if he's running from anything at all, but he is running. He looks just like a greyhound. I guess you might say an escape is still an escape.

He's a lot like me. Although my trip is purposeful, the temptation to leave everything behind is always lurking in a fog of its own...like an unnoticeable greyish-clear balloon tied to a string that's decided to fit itself around my wrist.

So used to changes, the come and goes, I've never known what it means to be comfortable... people and places fading in and out of my life like a struggle to find perfect reception through a radio knob.


There's something about a departure-related waiting area. It kind of gets to me. A feeling of being in-between. Something like crossing over to the afterlife. There are so many directions to go from where I stand right at this moment. A stitched jigsaw slowly expanding outward as it spins itself a web of some strange and eclectic mix of excitement, sadness, strength, and fear as droplets of each emotion seep through the unwoven spaces sitting bare as the spider works on setting the scene for its next meal in a timely, routine fashion.

It's so much easier to say goodbye as packs of Mardi Gras drunks stumble in and out, only visiting to cure beer-induced hunger and act like children as they relieve themselves.

And so I sit with the sight of a patterned floor upon where my feet rest; spaced out rows of connected, hard-plastic brotherhood. A view I find more calming than the modern food court ahead serving man-made indelicacies nearby a gift shop of meaningless items.

Reluctantly confined and packed in an open room, I've the quietest bark of these dogs in a kennel.


Upon a clean visual sweep of the never-ending stream of walking Mr. Potatoheads, I'm left with the internal acknowledgement of the presence and one-way unity of the distant lone wanderer and I as it finds me in the bliss.

My subconscious speaks out shyly to him:

"Somewhere in the rummage of an overused knapsack...materially equal to the mundane blueprint of our mapped-out lives...I know shelves upon shelves of books of absolutely unshakable etch-a-sketches compiling life-lasting memories were drawn and dreamt in the poetic beauty that ignites your soul."

And before I depart, I nervously swallow and say:

"I don't mind if you sit next to me. I won't pay attention to your missing teeth if you won't to my vacant everything. I want to know where you've been and where you are going. Who did you love? Was she the one? Did you throw it all away? What did you see and who did you meet? Did you get to where you were going? Tell me your greyhound story. Help me make the same mistake."

© This writing was created by and remains property of the username, lionsmane. It is to be claimed as an original piece only on whaleshares and steemit under this username. Creation date: March, 2019

Disclaimer: I do NOT own the rights to the photos used within and will gladly take any photo down at the request of the owners/creators
LINK TO PHOTOS I USED FOR THIS POST (Add "https://" to the link)
#1)upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/a/ae/2003-08-25_Greyhound_bus.jpg
#2)c1.staticflickr.com/1/330/32795729462_86f4bf69ed_b.jpg
#3)images.gawker.com/18k1o4rp77yudjpg/c_fit,fl_progressive,q_80,w_636.jpg
#4) [THIS IS A SERIES OF PHOTOS]media.istockphoto.com/photos/filthy-manual-worker-after-his-shiftpictureid522637412k=6&m=522637412&s=612x612&w=0&h=eclSi6KDKpkDYQsCyOP3_oGoHfwTrZljU0auNOL3HIQ=
#5)www.thehippocket.com.au/wp-content/uploads/2015/08/save-money-on-travel.jpeg

Sort:  

While most people roam about for business and other sensible reasons, there's always an odd man out. Everyone knows it.

Lol, this is usually me, I try to keep quiet go unnoticed when I travel. Your post was really entertaining and I enjoy your writing style


FYI I liked this post so much I decided to pick it as my @pifc post of the week. You can find my submission here

and more about the curation program here if you would like to find authors and help get their content a little more love

Wow! Thank you! I feel honored that I was able to compel you to do that and share my post in that manner. Unfortunately, I'm still working out the kinks of sharing my content and making sure I cover all my bases, but I think you just happened to have caught one of my best writings. I wrote this 7 years ago at a greyhound station in St. Louis, Missouri, USA set to depart to Chicago, Illinois.

Us "odd men out" have to stick together...lol. Thank you again

Posted using Partiko Android

@lionsmane awesome story, very relatable on so many levels. I saw you signed up for Discord. We need to get your seen a bit more. I know your RC is a bit low and it makes it difficult. I would work on posting. Upvote people you like, until you build up some more RC, then start adding comments. We'll get you going. Double check with @wolfhart and @thedarkhorse for some suggestions. They are a little bit more in tune with the inner workings 😊

You were featured in week 48 of @pifc's Pay It Forward Curation Contest by @chekohler. @pifc is a Pay It Forward Community which believes in by helping others grow we build a stronger community. We run this contest each week, it is open to everyone. It's a great way to show off people you find that might need some more exposure or meet new people.

Thank you for the support and for stopping by

Posted using Partiko Android

Excellent writing! I liked this little story!

Congratulations on being featured by @chekohler in his entry for the Pay It Forward Contest!

Such beautiful soulful writing @lionsmane ...

I've the quietest bark of these dogs in a kennel.

That just hit me square in the heart.

We are all in essence travelling aren't we. Which why I really love that FB page, Human of New York. You would never guess how the pages of a person would traverse in a city / universe. :)

Posted using Partiko Android

We are never sitting still. Always on the move. To where we don’t know. An idea and a dream

I came to your post because it was featured in an entry to @pifc's Curation Contest:Week 48
Posts that have been selected by the entrant will be visited by other members of the PIFC Community and given support.
You are welcome to submit other author’s post in future contests. The PIFC community has a support Discord Channel that you are invited to join. For more information about the PIFC family along with a great way to meet new people. We are a group of like minded people that focuses on assisting one another.

Thanks again for letting me into the discord group and also for stopping by my page/post. "An idea and a dream" - I l like that

Posted using Partiko Android

Its my pleasure.
It is a good post and don’t forget to use #post-promotion tab

I love your writing style in this post. You do deserved to be featured in @chekohler entry for @pifc payitforward curation contest - week 48 . You can submit your entry as well

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you so much for saying that and stopping by. I intend to write a lot more, hope to see you around

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @lionsmane! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 10 comments. Your next target is to reach 50 comments.
You received more than 50 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 100 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Carnival Challenge - Collect badge and win 5 STEEM

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Great post. It doesn't seem like you are getting the likes it deserves though. Have you checked out the upvote communities? You should check out steemengine. or steemfollower.com.

Is it weird that I only poop once a week?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64383.21
ETH 3098.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89