Vocab-ability–35 (cid, cis = cut, kill) – A More Powerful Vocabulary (earn UpVotes with “Vocab Practice” exercise)

in #writing6 years ago
Each daily “Vocab-ability 1x1” post has 2 main features, as follows:  

One “Vocab-ability” entry

By spending 5 minutes reviewing today’s “Vocab-ability” entry (below), you can learn the vocab roots and many high-level English words.    

One “Vocab Practice” exercise (for UpVotes)

By spending another 10–15 minutes, you can practice using today’s words by composing your own sample sentences. Your practice efforts will be rewarded with UpVotes.   (See “Vocab Practice” rules and notes below)    Today’s “Vocab- ability” entry

With this ‘Mini-Guide,’ you can identify the components in the “Vocab-ability”  entry above.

(To facilitate your quick reference, the ‘Mini-Guide’ has been minimized. For the full "Guide to Entries," right-click here.

      Introduction – For "Intro to Vocab-ability," right-click here
      Guide – For full "Guide to Entries," right-click here
      Index– For "Index" to all Chapters and Sections, right-click here

Note re Copying each Entry

Each separate post in the “Vocab-ability”  series consists of one entry (one text-box). To use any of these “Vocab-ability”  entries for your personal study or in any classroom, you can download them by clicking and dragging the text-box that you want to use, and then print them out.  

Note re Free Use

Please feel free to download the above text-box, copy it, print it out, and distribute it for any and all educational purposes. If “Vocab-ability”  helps you or your students to increase your English vocabulary, it will have served its purpose.  
(I hold the copyright to the original “Vocab-ability” guide, which was published in 2002. I hereby grant free use of all the material contained in this post and in all other “Vocab-ability” posts on Steemit).

Sort:  

You have been scouted by @promo-mentors. We are a community of new and veteran Steemians and we are always on the look out for promising authors.

I would like to invite you to our discord group https://discord.gg/vDPAFqb.

When you are there send me a message if you get lost! (My Discord name is the same as here on Steemit)




Good to hear from you. I noticed the link brought me to "English Lounge." But I don't spend any time on Discord, as I've tried and found it confusing. :-(

It's not really confusing I could show u arund If you chat me up

Hmm, maybe if I find some time ... Thanks!

MY VOCAB PRACTICE

  1. Incision
    Make a small incision with the help of this blade.
  2. Scissors
    He took a pair of scissors to cut that piece of foam.
  3. Homicide
    The police men told me it was a case of homicide.
  4. Suicide
    People often commit suicide when they are under pressure.
  5. Infanticide
    Infanticide is a social evil.

MY VOCAB PRACTICE.

  1. Incision
    If you make an incision right over here, the box will open easily.
  2. Scissors
    Use the scissors to cut the paper into three rectangles.
  3. Homicide
    The serial killer began to commit homicide because he wanted to clean up the world with his own power.
  4. Suicide
    The dolphin attempted to commit suicide after his girlfriend swam to the wandering scuba diver.
  5. Infanticide
    The tiger committed infanticide by eating its newborn.

How do you say "Bitch!" in dolphinese?

MY VOCAB PRACTICE:

  1. Incision
    Circumcision, through the incision of the tip of the sexual member and cutting off the external skin, is a very common practice among American, Jewish and Indians males.

  2. Scissor
    Be careful with those scissors, you could cut your finger.

  3. Homicide
    I could never commit an homicide, not even against a fly, not even drunk, as I love human life too much.

  4. Suicide
    When I was 13 years old, my uncle committed suicide by hanging himself and I never accepted such fact. Only 6 years later he passed away, he appeared in my dream talking about our our and life together. He is still around me.

  5. Infanticide
    When I was a kid, my mum would threaten me of committing infanticide against me, if I wouldn't stop to be naughty.

MY VOCAB PRACTICE

1 Incision
Sometimes a small incision become unbearable.
2 Scissors
My son loves to play with scissors
3 Homicide
The police men told me it was a case of homicide.
4 Suicide
Sherlock Home is expert in solving homicide cases.
5 Infanticide
Infanticide is a big sin.

MY VOCAB PRACTISE

1, INCISION

The paramedic made an incision on the inside of the thigh to remove the bullet.

2, SCISSORS

I used scissors to cut the jeans.

3, HOMICIDE

The man was a suspect of homicide.

4, SUICIDE

The man wanted to commit suicide, but he couldn't commit to it.

5, INFANTICIDE

Some people claim that abortion is infanticide.

I love the wit in #4. Good to see you here, taking part in these exercises!

Glad you enjoyed it ;)

My Vocabulary Practice

  1. Incision
    The surgeon made an incision with the scalpel
  2. Scissors
    The blunt scissors couldn't cut the wire.
  3. Homicide
    With the increase in the police force, the number of homicide still keeps on increasing.
  4. Suicide
    The increase in the suicides of students is a growing concern.
  5. Infanticide
    Female infanticide has been one of the major social evils in India.

Cis and cid ...
Growing my knowledge.....

Bro your little effort can give you bigger reward, This post is for vocab practice, make the sentences of the given words, so you could be rewarded higher.

MY VOCAB PRACTICE

  1. Incision
    Make a small incision below the ribs.
  2. Scissors
    Don't use these scissors to cut paper or card.
  3. Homicide
    it was a clear case of Homicide.
  4. Suicide
    The number of suicide has increased.
  5. Infanticide
    Give or take a touch of infanticide.

MY VOCAB PRACTICE

1-Incision.
Lion is well known as a incision animal.

2-Homicide
Homicide is one of the major issue nowadays.

3-Suicide
Ratio of suicide in India is more than Pakistan.

4-Infanticide
People who involved in infanticide should be hang till death.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 61585.79
ETH 3005.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68