Vocab-ability–37 (cit, citat = call) – A More Powerful Vocabulary (earn UpVotes with “Vocab Practice” exercise)

in #writing6 years ago
Each daily “Vocab-ability 1x1” post has 2 main features, as follows:  

One “Vocab-ability” entry

By spending 5 minutes reviewing today’s “Vocab-ability” entry (below), you can learn the vocab roots and many high-level English words.    

One “Vocab Practice” exercise (for UpVotes)

By spending another 10–15 minutes, you can practice using today’s words by composing your own sample sentences. Your practice efforts will be rewarded with UpVotes.   (See “Vocab Practice” rules and notes below)    Today’s “Vocab- ability” entry

With this ‘Mini-Guide,’ you can identify the components in the “Vocab-ability”  entry above.

(To facilitate your quick reference, the ‘Mini-Guide’ has been minimized. For the full "Guide to Entries," right-click here.

      Introduction – For "Intro to Vocab-ability," right-click here
      Guide – For full "Guide to Entries," right-click here
      Index– For "Index" to all Chapters and Sections, right-click here

Note re Copying each Entry

Each separate post in the “Vocab-ability”  series consists of one entry (one text-box). To use any of these “Vocab-ability”  entries for your personal study or in any classroom, you can download them by clicking and dragging the text-box that you want to use, and then print them out.  

Note re Free Use

Please feel free to download the above text-box, copy it, print it out, and distribute it for any and all educational purposes. If “Vocab-ability”  helps you or your students to increase your English vocabulary, it will have served its purpose.
(I hold the copyright to the original “Vocab-ability” guide, which was published in 2002. I hereby grant free use of all the material contained in this post and in all other “Vocab-ability” posts on Steemit).

Sort:  

My Vocab Practice Comment:

  1. Incite: I like to store all my food incite my Backpack. Wait, that's inside - *sigh ok, ok take it eeyysi. Let's try this again. Incite: The man's words tend to incite action in people. Ok, ok that looks better... Next one.

  2. Excite: The women told me to excite the building through the side door. Oh, ok, ok I did it again! *Sigh - wait, ok yes "Excite" not "Exit" *sigh. Ok, let me try this again. I hope I get the last one right... Excite: The Music Band really knows how to excite the crowd!

  3. Recite: When Software fails to function properly, it's always good to just recite the Computer and try again. Oh dammit! Take it eeesi, take it eesi, I've got it this time.Ok. ok so it's not "Reset" it's Recite. Oh my goodness, please calm down. I hear the Grammer Police comming. *sirens blaring - I didn't do it! Ok, nevermind. I did do it. Ok, ok let's see. Recite: My father always told me to recite my prayers before I go to bed. Ok, I think I got it!

Thank you for your patience.😁

Thanks for the extra effort to lighten my "exercise checking" session. While it did take a bit of extra time, it did not tax my patience at all.

In fact, when I first read, "my food incite my backpack," I was ready to bypass your VocPrac without upvoting or even commenting. But I read on, and had a few good smiles.

Thanks for taking part. Hope to see you "in class" again.
Cheers.

MY VOCAB PRACTICE

  1. Incite
    The ultras incited their football team to push for one more score until the last minute of the game.

  2. Excite
    In Italian the verb to excite has a sexual connotation, therefore when I started to speak English, I was using this term in different situations.

  3. Recite
    When I was a kid, I was going to the Church every Sunday Morning and I was able to recite some part of the Gospel by heart during the mess.

Actually, in English too, the word "excite" sometimes has sexual overtones – or undertones! In fact, when I was living and teaching English in Japan, it led to some interesting chats.

Sometimes at parties, cute young ladies (or girls!) would come over to me and say "I'm so exciting." ☺
(They intended to say "excited," but used the wrong form of the word.)

Occasionally, I would agree that they were "exciting"!! And I don't apologize for that!!


Re #3, was it really "the mess"? ☺

I swear God! ;)

MY VOCAB PRACTICE

  1. Incite
    If he scored a goal, it could incite a comeback.
  2. Excite
    Crypto ideas excite the new generation
  3. Recite
    I recite the Quran everyday.

MY VOCAB PRACTICE

  1. Incite
    The party agreed not to incite its supporters to violence.
  2. Excite
    Try not to excite your baby too much before bedtime.
  3. Recite
    Recite the poem from the beginning.

MY VOCAB PRACTICE

1- Incite
inciting someone to do bad is not good.
2- Excite
Fans were excited to see the match.
3- Recite
Ahmad is very good in reciting the speech.

MY VOCAB PRACTICE

1, INCITE
Anarcho political groups do nothing but incite hatred.

2, EXCITE
The professor's group activity proved to excite the students.

3, RECITE
I was urged to recite my speech again.

MY VOCAB PRACTICE

  1. Incite
    Good friends will never Incite you to do any kind of bad work.
  2. Excite
    India and Pakistan Cricket Match Always Excite all of us.
  3. Recite
    I always feel peaceful when I recite THE HOLY QURAN ( THE HOLY BOOK OF MUSLIMS)

MY VOCAB PRACTICE

  1. In Haiti, the local population was incited to rebellion by Toussaint L'Ouverture.

  2. Human cells can be excited into cloning by stimulating them with an electric shock.

  3. Because of his stutter, the reciting a poem was impossible.

MY VOCAB PRACTICE

  1. Incite
    Philipp Budeikin is a 22 year-old-Russian guy who indirectly incites a lot of ladies to kill themselves
  2. Excite
    A low level of her conversation is failed to excite me.
  3. Recite
    In a exchange between Soliders and students, we were recited all their grievances which soliders experienced.

Good work and good effort. And I appreciate your making the sample words BOLD in your sentences. Thanks!!

MY VOCAB PRACTICE

  1. Incite
    The coach incites us to do more efforts.

  2. excite
    Traveling still always excites me .

  3. recite
    The audience demand him to recite the poetry

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63754.85
ETH 3055.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85