Charlotte Morgan and the Lemonade Stand--Chapter 11--Poster for class

in #writing6 years ago

 This is my next book. Charlotte Morgan and the Lemonade Stand.  

It is still in the work-in-progress phase. The cover I am posting here is a temp cover derived from the first book.  But I like sharing my work here first.  The book is leveled for third grade readers and up.

I am using the #steemiteducation tag because the book is about using math and earning money.   To read what has happened earlier click the link for each individual chapter for chapter 1. Chapter 2, Chapter 3, Chapter 4, Chapter 5, Chapter 6, Chapter 7, Chapter 8, Chapter 9, Chapter 10

Summary: Charlotte asks her teacher to advertise the lemonade stand.


  Chapter 11 Poster for Class 

“Charlotte, what’s with the poster? Did you do a class project?” asked Aniah, a fourth grader. 

“No, it’s for her lemonade stand that she’s going to do next weekend,” replied Sally as she walked up to the bus stop. 

I pointed to Sally, “What she said.” 

“Is your teacher going to let you put it up in the classroom?” Aniah asked. 

“I don’t know. But I guess I will find out.”

 “Let me see the poster!” yelled Brandon, an energetic second grader. I thought it he was going to rip it as he looked at it. “That’s cool looking. It’s like you’re on a drink bottle.” He pointed at Aaron’s label. 

The other kids at the bus stop looked over my shoulder at the poster. Then most of them walked away. “I’m sure Mrs. King will let you hang it up in the room,” Sally patted my shoulder as the bus pulled up at our stop. 

A few minutes later, the bus pulled up at Turing Elementary School. I got off the bus with my backpack and large poster. Luckily, I wasn’t the only person walking down the hallway with a large poster. It seemed that several classes had been assigned to bring in a school project on poster board.  

At 9:15 a.m. Mrs. King called us to the center of the room onto the carpet for our Morning Meeting. I brought the poster with me. After we greeted each other with a handshake or a high-five to the person sitting next us, Mrs. King went over some announcements for the day, she opened the meeting up for people to share about their weekends. Gavin went biking with his cousin, again. Calvin saw the new comic book movie. Marie went to visit her cousins in Smithville. 

I never raised my hand.

 “Charlotte, aren’t you asking to speak? You brought something with you, so I am guessing you have something to share,” said Mrs. King. Sally gave me the thumbs up before I replied. I turned the poster around, so the class could see it. 

“Sally and I, and a couple of other people made these posters. We went around our neighborhood. We are going to have a lemonade stand at my house next Saturday.” 

“I wonder where you got that idea!” interrupted Gavin. 

“Gavin, please don’t interrupt,” said Mrs. King using her calm voice. “Charlotte, please continue.” 

“Yes, I did see Gavin do a lemonade stand this weekend,” I continued. 

Mrs. King interrupted this time, “Gavin, why didn’t you say anything about that, having a lemonade stand? That sounds interesting.” 

Gavin shrugged his shoulders, “I don’t know.” 

“Anyway Charlotte, I am sorry for interrupting,” said Mrs. King. 

“That’s okay. Gavin did seem to do well with his lemonade stand. And I need to earn some money to pay my mom back for some things, so I thought maybe I could do a lemonade stand.” 

“Cool,” said several students around the room. 

“Mrs. King can I keep this poster up in the hallway?” I asked.

 Mrs. King paused, “I don’t think I can have you put it in the hallway. You’re advertising something outside of school. That has nothing to do with school. If you were doing a lemonade stand for the school, then that would be within the rules. But maybe we can hang it here in the room and consider it creative work you have worked on. We can share that here.” 

“That’s fine,” I replied. I sat down, and we finished morning meeting. I was hoping the whole school would know about the lemonade stand, but I guess the twenty-four students in Mrs. King’s classroom would have to be enough for now. I had six days until the lemonade stand, I was going to have to figure another way for more people to know about it. 

Six days.    

Sort:  

This sounds quite interesting. Unfortunately this is my first read of this story. I might have to check out the other chapters.
I do hope Charlotte get the funds she needs though. Looking out for the other chapter @mctiller.

this chapter quite interesting......i enjoy very much...i wish for charlotte,to get fund very soon.....

You have been upvoted by the @sndbox-alpha! Our curation team is currently formed by @jeffbernst, @bitrocker2020, @jrswab & @teachblogger . We are seeking posts of the highest quality and we deem your endeavour as one of them. If you want to get to know more, feel free to check our blog.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 63997.36
ETH 3133.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.15