Charlotte Morgan and the Lemonade Stand--Chapter 7--Business Ideas

in #writing6 years ago

  This is my next book. Charlotte Morgan and the Lemonade Stand.  

It is still in the work-in-progress phase. The cover I am posting here is a temp cover derived from the first book.  But I like sharing my work here first.  The book is leveled for third grade readers and up.

I am using the #steemiteducation tag because the book is about using math and earning money.   

To read what has happened earlier click the link for each individual chapter for chapter 1. Chapter 2, Chapter 3, Chapter 4, Chapter 5, Chapter 6 

Summary: The Number Investigators discuss different ideas and pricing for Charlotte to earn her money.

   

 Chapter 7 Business Ideas 

“Well, obviously, you would need to do better than the thirty dollars that he did,” said Marcus. 

We sat in the middle of the tree house. “I am open to suggestions guys,” I replied. 

“What about mowing lawns or walking dogs?” Aaron asked. 

“I guess I could do that,” I said. 

“But your parents have already bought the stuff for the lemonade stand remember? Sixty-six dollars’ worth of stuff remember?” Sally reminded me. 

“Let’s focus on selling the lemonade first and if we need to earn more we can then do something else.”

 “Well I guess that means we have to have the greatest lemonade stand ever!” Marcus grinned. 

“We need to advertise it and let people at school know about it.”

 “But again, with all the stuff we have even if we sold it all I would make $14,” I reminded him.

 “What are you charging for a cup of lemonade?” Marcus tilted his head and asked. 

“Fifty cents.”

 “That’s too cheap. Go for a dollar a cup.”

 “Then that gets her only $28, and that’s if she sells all the lemonade!” said Aaron. 

“So, if we double that cup to two dollars, then that doubles our profit. And $28 doubled is $56,” replied Marcus. 

“That’s getting me closer to what I owe my mom,” I replied. 

“But that still requires us to sell ALL of the lemonade. And who is going to buy $2 lemonade in a plastic cup from a kid on the street?”

 “If people think that it’s for a good cause and that Charlotte’s lemonade is cool, then people will pay for it,” said Marcus. 

“Then we need to get people to think Charlotte’s lemonade is cool and everyone will want to buy it,” Aaron said. 

“Selling $2 lemonade sounds very difficult,” I replied. 

“I think it will beat mowing other people’s lawns,” responded Sally.

 “Good point,” I replied. 

“I think we need some poster paper and regular paper to create posters and signs for your stand. Gavin didn’t have any posters up. He just put his stand out and hoped for the best,” Aaron said. 

“And he seemed to have done okay with that.” 

Sally raised her hand, “I agree that we need to make posters and signs. I recommend that we meet back here tomorrow afternoon to make some posters for this.” 

“I am all for making posters,” I said.

 “Wait!” Aaron interrupted. “Are we still allowed to even be here tomorrow?” 

“Yes, but no meetings on school nights,” I said. 

“Then I guess we better get all our posters done tomorrow,” said Sally. 

Sort:  

business solution are comes with the math equation.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64140.77
ETH 3133.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.15