A Living

in #writing5 years ago

Don't think about the money,
That's what I had to say,
That's what I chanted in my head,
When I quit my job today.

Don't think about the years,
You spent reaching this goal,
I saw myself atop the hill,
But that me looked far too old.

Don't think about the risks,
About a future dark and bleak,
What's the point in standing tall,
If you're unable to speak.

Don't think about the fear,
That's been drilled into your mind,
By a society built on obedience,
A system meant to keep you blind.

Today I shook away my chains,
Squared my shoulders,
took a breath,
I cleared my mind and in my sight I saw approaching death.

I'm terrified,
Off on my own in a world so unforgiving,
What was I thinking?
I didn't, I wasn't,
I stopped,
I started living.
IMG_20190226_152346_9.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64777.26
ETH 3101.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84