Is Steemit really meant for rewards?

in #writing6 years ago (edited)



Source

I've written too many drafts that I haven't had published. Probably these are one of those days that my mind is just totally blank. I can't even think of what to post first, or what should I do. How about write about why can't I write about something? Just perfect.

Something just came out of my mind and would love to ask other people's opinion on this: Should it really be deemed necessary to keep all of your posts on the best quality? I mean, to get attention on this platform and have a higher probability of earning more money.

One reason I've always wanted to post things that are of the best quality is to find success in here. But I just got one of the best mindblowing fact today - stop chasing for rewards. Just do what you love. If you love writing, just keep doing so. Steemit wasn't really meant to be a source of income; as what I've understood. It's a substitute on those centralized social media platforms and that's it. The rewards are just the result of what it was really meant for.



Source

If you think of it this way, then mass adoption would be closer than it would be. Everybody's not a decent writer. If Steemit is meant to be the Facebook alternative, then it should be advertised to be as one. Most of the advertisers who go outside always say "Come here, your post and you'll be rewarded", of course a lot of people would come. But would they stay?

There's more to Steemit than rewards. I've been here for more than half a year and I've met really cool people. I've joined a lot of communities, maybe I don't talk that much in them, but I really see the fun. We should advertise this as a decentralized social media platform and another way to meet people, rather than as a source of income.

Come for the rewards, stay for the community.

Classes just started today. Even on the long preparations that I did, I am still not ready enough. I guess the busy days are back. Making PowerPoint presentations, lecture notes and all of the documents that are needed to be filed; back to the reality that I still am unstable enough not to leave my job. Do I hate it? No. I just want to be stable enough to have lesser workloads, yet spend time on a greater love that I found - Crypto and of course, Steemit.

And yes, I didn't even proofread this one to make my point.


Sort:  

This post has received a 2.03 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @michaeljpsalazar.

Loading...

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by small🐬 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

To the question in your title, my Magic 8-Ball says:

You may rely on it

Hi! I'm a bot, and this answer was posted automatically. Check this post out for more information.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.39
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70463.21
ETH 3549.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.87