57. My Writing Journey: Failure 2, Success, Success, Success, Success, Success, 2/6/2019

in #writing5 years ago (edited)

It’s been a busy week.

Let’s start with the big failure. I submitted a story to The Threepenny Review, one of the big-name literary journals. They swatted it back down within 24 hours. Oh well. On the bright side, at least now I can add “Rejected by The Threepenny Review” to my resume.

Enough about failures; let’s talk successes. It’s been a productive week.

First, I got a number of pieces accepted into various Medium publications. They are all behind paywalls, so if you click on a link, know that you only get free access to so many per month (I think it’s 3 articles per month). Here’s the full list:

  1. The Religious Right: Abandon All Morality Ye Who Enter Here on ExtraNewsFeed
  2. We’re All Southern, Man: Family Violence, Trauma, and Shameful Politics on Invisible Illness
  3. Celebrate the Small Victories in Curiosity Never Killed the Writer (You can probably skip this one)
  4. And a chapter of a near-future light sci-fi dystopia entitled America a Posteriori: The Territory of Michigan on The Junction

Not to name names (but to totally name names), I think the sci-fi one might appeal to @birddroppings, @theironfelix, @f3nix, @dirge, and anyone else who wants to read some sci-fi dystopia that feels just around the corner and yet also right in our faces.

Oh, one other thing I pulled off last week:

image.jpg

That’s the money I made for editing my colleague’s academic manuscript. It was for two hours of work. I would have gladly taken $80, but he was feeling generous, I guess.

On that note, I’m now open for business as an editor, if anyone has something they’d like me to take a look at. I’m willing to do anything from just fix the cosmetic grammar and mechanics stuff ($2 per page) to copyediting for consistency and grammar/mechanics ($3 per page) to straight up content editing with some back-and-forth input from you ($6 per page). I've done that kind of work for colleagues, Ark Tribe, and random takers.

Send business inquiries to michaias.grigori@gmail.com

Take care, y’all.

Sort:  

Congrats on the successes!

Thanks!

Posted using Partiko Android

Yah forget that I am the SFF account, but I shall forgive that mishap and stop actually being sassily passive-aggressive. Anyways, seems like link machine is broke to be quite honest (for the SF story that is). Also, weird yah also focused on Michigan though I do wonder if the stories more outside or inside Detroit (just saying since I have a set of stories set there, maybe not in name 100% of the time). Anywho, nice on the copyediting work to be quite honest.

82719356-012D-4C29-B7CF-63F104AB5D8D.gif

Links fixed. Thanks.

I chose Michigan because of its border status. That'll make more sense once you're into the story.

Hello @michaias, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Congratulations @michaias! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 700 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 800 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66785.29
ETH 3229.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30