Excited! I've just found...

in #writing6 years ago

This story! I'd lost it for the longest time and now I've found it, I think I want to do something with it.

I started this one years ago - years and years ago!

Here it is... in parts (sorry, I don't want to overwhelm you).

Pictures from Google


Verdigris

She followed him unthinking, unquestioning and uncurious. She watched his shoulders as his gait took him, and therefore her, farther away from - actually, now that she thought about it - from what?

image.png

Suddenly, just as though a cover had been lifted from her mind, she at once thought to herself, ‘What am I doing here?’ And as though they had been waiting for one to be asked first, as though none wished to be the first, the rest of the questions came in a flood. No, not just a mere flood, a tidal wave of questions, demanding to be given voice, to be spoken and heard - and answered. They swamped her head with their wanting to be asked and needing to be answered. She could hardly think for the cacophony of all those questions.

Such questions as:

Where am I?

Where am I going?

Who am I following and to where?

How did I get here?

And suddenly, the most important:

How did this man know that I would be here to be fetched?

Which led on to:

How did I know to follow him without being told?

and:

Why does he look familiar to me yet I know that I have never met him?

Finally, she stopped walking. Without turning around, her guide also stopped. He stood waiting with his back adamantly toward her. His head ducked down and forward as she assailed his ears with her cursing.

image.png

“Just what the hell is going on here?” she asked out loud, one question had broken free of the confines of her head and she was having difficulty in holding the rest of them back from bursting out of her mouth.

She realised that once she lost control of the questions, they would overwhelm her and she would stand there babbling them in such a jumble that they would never be answered to anyone’s satisfaction.

She had not noticed that she had made him cringe and even if she had, she would probably not have realised that it was her use of the word ‘hell’ that had induced such a reaction.

“I am taking you to Verdigris,” he said.

She thought for a moment before selecting one of the clamouring questions and asked it.

“Is Verdigris a place or a person?”

He nodded his head and at last turned to face her. He was smiling and she finally realised who he was.

Tears sprang to her eyes immediately and she felt like a little girl of four again. She ran to the man who was younger than when she had last seen him, as well as being a damn sight healthier. The salt-water drops spilled down her cheeks freely and copiously as she flung herself into his welcoming arms and snuggled her head close against his chest, feeling his head nestling on the top of hers as she said, “Grandad.”


Worth going on? Let me know in the comments

Sort:  

I definetly think its worth continuing.......at least I would love to know what verdigris is......I suspect its a place

Yes, I'm interested in seeing where this goes, especially after that last paragraph. And the bracelet with the dragonfly ....... be still my heart, that's beautiful! xox

I deliberately used that dragonfly bracelet for you.

You are awesome, thank you! xoxox

yes!

enjoyed the story , looking forward to the next part ... I think i can see where this is going but i also have to keep in mind you have surprised me before...lol

upvoted and resteemed

That was moving. Plus, I really like your prose. Keep 'em coming!

Tears streamed from her eyes immediately and she felt like a four-year-old again. She ran to the man who was younger than when she had last seen him, in addition to being damned healthier. The drops of salt water spilled down his cheeks freely and copiously as he threw himself into his cozy arms and huddled his head against his chest, feeling his head upon his as he said, "Grandfather.

So it can't end, I want more details, your emotion, your grandfather's, what happened next??

That's not a quote of my work. What did you do to it?

Maybe it's the translator who helps me, I don't speak English and I use a translator, he also helps me in my commentary, sorry

Ah! That explains it. Thank you for reading it despite not speaking English.

but now I'm doubting my translation, is it very different from what you meant?

The gender has been changed - he (male) instead of she (female) and some of the words are altered. I noticed because it looked different. Nothing very different, into his cozy arms for example.

Yes, definitely! I want to see where this story goes.

Yes @michelle.gent please continue the story..
I would love to know how her grandad found her..

How the rest of the journey would be..

Why was only her taken, don't she have brothers and sisters too?..

I would really love to read the rest because this is captivating.

Definitely! I want to know who she is and what the place holds for her. Please bring it on!

Hello, after so much suspense and tension, I end the story very emotional and beautiful, thank you for such a beautiful ending. Happiness always

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70557.88
ETH 3560.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75