Excited! I've just found... Part 5 - Verdigris

in #writing6 years ago

This story! I'd lost it for the longest time and now I've found it, I think I want to do something with it.

I started this one years ago - years and years ago!

Here it is... in parts (sorry, I don't want to overwhelm you).

Pictures from Google

Part 1
Part 2
Part 3
Part 4


Harold laughed at the simplicity of her question. “No lambkin, not to Heaven. We need to move up into the next level of existence. Or at least that’s the way that I understood it when it was explained to me. You see, everyone has their own idea of what heaven is and they have to figure it out before they can get there.”

Katie looked at her grandad, eyes wide, listening to his words of wisdom like she used to, back when she first realised he was the wisest person she had ever met.

Harold laughed at her expression. “You look like just like you did when you found that bird on the ground outside my house. It had bashed itself into the window and you thought it was dead. Do you remember?”

20pcs-Large-Verdigris-Patina-Antique-Greek-Bronze-Wing-Charms-Pendants-Beads-For-DIY-Jewelry-Making-29x11mm.jpg_640x640.jpg

Katie nodded her head up and down to say she remembered. She recalled the event. The bird hit the window and she turned at the noise. It lay on the path under the window and she gave a little cry of alarm. Grandad heard her and rushed outside. She stood in the middle of the six-foot-square of lawn and pointed to the deceased bird.

Grandad picked it up gently. Its head lolled as if confirming it was indeed dead. And tears sprang to her eyes.

“This is a dove, Lambkin,” he said. “It hit the window, but I think it will be alight if we keep it quiet and away from next-door’s cat.” He checked its wings and legs to make sure it hadn’t broken anything in the fall, and placed the dove in a shoe box. He put it in the shade of the house.

Katie kept her eye out for the cat and watched over the dove.

She saw it flutter as it regained consciousness.

The next-door’s cat appeared and Katie shooed it away. It sat on the fence at a distance Katie was happy with and the dove recovered sufficiently to take a look around, flap its wings in a test of strength and it took off. Katie watched as it flew to a higher fence and took a little more time to recover. Then it flew above the house and out of sight.

image.png

“The dove’s gone, Grandad,” she said.

“No, it came back,” he said, pointing.

Katie looked and she didn’t realise that it could have been a different dove. She grinned and clapped her hands.

“Perhaps he came back to say thank you,” Grandad said.

She looked up at him in awe. “Do you think so?” she said

Sort:  

This is kind of exciting, the whole supernatural notch, would there be parts that would talk about her life in the real world. ....I mean there would be people looking for her there right.
And sorry for asking to but I have this series going on and I thought I would get some writing tips from you since its part of the story mentor group but I didnt so far

Nice post , good job . keep good work .

I resteem your post on my blog .

Your post is always different i follow your blog and upvote everytime , your post is so helpful . I always inspire of your post on my steem work . Thank you for sharing @michelle.gent

Excelente. <me gusto esta frase en especial.

"La paloma se ha ido, abuelo", dijo.

"No, regresó", dijo, señalando.

Siempre las cosas tienen más de una visión cuando vemos o pensamos. excelente. Buenos días Michelle.

Feliz día dela Madre a los tuyos.

Hello. I liked your post, keep it up. Good luck to you and have a nice day :)

The story is very fascinating and really exciting
It is a distinctive acidity
Good writing, my friend

Today I read all the parts that I missed. This is really an interesting and heartfelt story. I'm glad that you continue to please your readers (us) with excellent stories on various topics. Diversity.
Thanks for your work!

Loving this new story! Just a wee typo, 2 x "like"...

Harold laughed at her expression. “You look like just like you did...

The chills and thrills of childhood revisited. This was a part of life experienced, so nice to see it handled in a story, only it was a robin.

a sweet memory ...

upvoted and resteemed

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70797.92
ETH 3553.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.76