Coin Operated Singing Room 코인 노래방

in #writing6 years ago

Singing is a popular past time in Korea.

The billiard room was closed but the coin operated singing room is open 2 hours. This is just a block away from our school on 3st Street so I will see our school kids popping their heads in and out of there sometimes and more often some kids I taught a couple years ago. I usually think of a poem as I walk down the street and this is the poem that came to mind as I passed the coin operated singing room.

image.png

Original Poem @mineopoly

Singing!!


Clink Clink
A metal coin goes in the machine
Sing Sing Sing

Pick a number
Number nine is always a good one
For some reason my friends pick 18

Hurry and scurry before time is out
Don't choose a love song
That's too slow

Got to get a rhythm and a beat
Feel it vibrate the street

Just shout it
At the top of your lungs

It's Monday
Let's have fun

Ding
Your time is up

Put another coin in
If you want to sing again

My coins are going gone
No more steem
Went down the machine

Better take a walk outside
Than sit inside a singing room

image.png

image.png

Our school faculty planted new flowers and fruits and vegetables together with the kids.

These are some of the flowers. It didn't cost any coins. We did it together and we will enjoy the fruit together. I will take some of the pictures of the vegetables we planted. This is a great urban garden. On one hand we are in the busy city but on the other hand we an an oasis for the kids who live here.

I was talking with @roundbeargames on discord about documentation of my life through this blog. So even though I continue to write poems some of them will be documenting my walks through the city and others our school garden and my house garden. This should be a delightful change in pace.

Actually I do have to practice a song for my brother's wedding but a coin singing room just won't cut it. I need to go to a nice place to practice singing. Some of you have heard my voice and know I will need a lot of practice.

This is my poem for day 67 in the 100 day poetry competition @d-pend.(Steemschool Discord) All pictures were taken with my cell phone.

Verse of the Day/ Isaiah 5:12 "Sing to the Lord, for he has done glorious things; let this be known to all the world."

Mineopoly Quote:

Let's sing without a room.

Check out my recent posts @mineopoly

Who Cares?
Some Day
Fish Tales
Steeped Tea Bag
Community
Freedom
Bukhansan National Park
Palindrome Lullabies Audio
Beyond Labels
Good idea/ Bad idea
Thirst Street

QTTA: (QUESTION TO THINK ABOUT)

What song would you sing for a wedding?

I love you all.

For amazing adventure in English please follow @mineopoly mining the heart.

Sort:  

Good old nore bangs. Something that would be fun to have in the West

Yes @mr-chuckles... Good old No-rae Bang. This one is coin operated. More and more services are unmanned. I've has singing on my mind for a while.

Lovely cheery poem Christopher. Canadian singer Anne Murray, sings a great wedding song,
“Could I have this dance for the rest of my life.”
I'll always remember the song they were playing
The first time we danced and I knew
As we swayed to the music and held to each other
I fell in love with you
Could I have this dance for the rest of my life?
Would you be my partner every night?
When we're together it feels so right
Could I have this dance for the rest of my life?
I'll always remember that magic moment
When I held you close to me
As we moved together, I knew forever
You're all I'll ever need
Could I have this dance for the rest of my life?
Would you be my partner every night?

Thanks for the suggestion @redheadpei. I will check that out. I find a lot of Canadian singers I like.

I love this song, too!

Well, I couldn't sing this song myself, but every time I hear it, it makes me cry...something about it makes me think of my daughter who is 24 and I really hope her serious boyfriend feels this way about her. Seem like it might be a good song for a wedding reception.
It's Garth Brooks singing "To Make You Feel My Love"- Bob Dylan wrote it.

That is a lovely song @violetmed. I will sing a song with my wife and kids. If I was singing alone this would be perfect for me. I will practice it anyway. Great share. I may use it at the wedding. Bless your daughter 1000 times.

Thank you!

Clink Clink
A metal coin enters the machine
Sing Sing Sing

Very good!

Thank you @zeleiracordero. It is very simple. I cannot write deep poems every time. You know me already. I still don't even know myself but I will share more and more and we can help each other together.

What a cute poem! The people of Korea should be happy I do not live there because unlike my daughter, I can't sing. lol

Thanks @debralee. No one really sings well at first but they sing a lot. Then they get better. Singing is a big part of the culture and I'm glad. Is your daughter on Steemit? You know I can't sing well but my wife and kids can sing well. I just try not to ruin it. These kind of singing rooms you can shout as loud as you want and it doesn't bother anyone that you are off key.

Congratulations @mineopoly! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

i remember i used to go to 노래방 a lot with my friends back in college 😆
a great place to go when you're drunk and scream like mad. none of us were great singers. i remember one foreigner looked at it and said it was disneyland.

Exactly. This is called singing practice but is really screaming practice. Just a few years ago it was considered strange to turn down an invitation to 노래방 by the boss or senior but today there is more freedom in companies... at least for school teachers.

oh it wasn't strange. it was mandatory!
i didn't enjoy the culture too much. which is why i quit.
it was enjoyable as a student. not as a 'salaryman'.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66654.57
ETH 3250.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.33