Eagle Spirit Soaring

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

image.png

This is @eaglespirit's photo for her Guess the Photo contest. I think she put this contest on when the price of Steem started to drop and she wanted to have some fun so I will write a fun post for her. If you are into nature or into photos I suggest you check out her contest post and read the rules carefully before making a comment.

Eagle Spirit's picture is better than any other I could find online. At first I thought it might be an alligator hand bag because it is scaly and has zipper like things at the end.

image.png

Pic Source

Then I realized it must be some kind of animal because bags just don't have those natural curves... but I still couldn't figure out that black thing that looks like a toenail. Armadillos don't have toenails like that.

image.png

Pic Source

Then I was sure this shape and that tonenail thing must be the work of a very scaly webbed feet. The best I could find was something like this:

Original Poem @mineopoly:)

Webbed Feet in a Parking Lot

I open my wings to catch a breeze from the south
Tired and hot form a long day's travel
Early May brings me across the Ohio

I cannot get rid of my down coat
So I gotta get out of the sunbelt

The sun shinning through my feathers
I am the king of the air

Yes birds of a feather flock together
My buds and I kick it high

Above the word we fly
until we are Canadian dry

Looking below for a water hole
We find a reflection

A hundred friends and I stop for a drink
This is where we always go

Year after year we've stopped before
Somewhere between Joliet and Kankakee

We stop for a break at this pond
That's not there anymore

A hundred geese are confused
Where did it go?

The pond we frequently stopped at is asphalt
The reflection is glass and metal

I waddle from the side of parking lot
To the gutter and take a drink

What's a thirsty goose supposed to do?


image.png

Oh come on
Baby don't you wanna go
Come on
Baby don't you wanna go
Back to that same old place
Sweet home Chicago

image.png

OK... So I admit it. I couldn't figure out it was a goose foot on the first try but I had fun guessing. Have a great week!!

image.png
Pic Source

This is a great picture from fineartamerica.com... but honestly @eaglespirit's photo is better. I remember seeing hundreds of these birds looking confused in the suburbs of Chicago. I'm pretty confused when I go back there too. The cornfields and forests are replaced with subdivisions. The abandoned stockyards are shopping malls. Time goes by but these birds seem to have an instinct to stop at the same place year after year.

GEESE9.jpg

Pic Source

This is day 67 in the 100 day poetry competition @d-pend.(Steemschool Discord) Picture sources are labeled and linked.

Check out my recent posts @mineopoly

Shut Down
Saudade
Who Cares?
Some Day
Fish Tales
Steeped Tea Bag
Community
Freedom
Bukhansan National Park
Palindrome Lullabies Audio
Beyond Labels

QTTA: (QUESTION TO THINK ABOUT)

When do you get goosebumps?

I love you all.

For amazing adventure in English please follow @mineopoly mining the heart.

Sort:  

Yummy! Try this with a Witbier. You won't regret it.

I was going to tag this under beer but wasn't sure. Now I'm sure @beercraft.

Would never have guessed a duck’s foot. I thought it was a reptile.
There’s a bar in Halifax, Nova Scotia called the ‘Thirsty Duck.”

Thank you for sharing @redheadpei. The "thirsty duck" sounds better than "the Blind Pig Saloon" that used to be in our neighborhood. don't think I will ever make it up to Nova Scotia. Animals have become a big part of human culture and language... whether they like it or not.

great post!! thank you for joining in on the party!! :)

Joliet and Kankakee oh, now you're speaking my language. LOL.
<---Truck Driver 😎

My grandpa and my dad were both truck drivers at one point. My grandpa collected road maps. I played with them. It's hard to find the right cities to connect in a poem for guess but I can see this Illinois migration.

So tempted to quote the Grateful Dead

Maps are wonderful things.

I forgot... Are you in North Carolina?

Ohio. 😎

I'll visit Louisville Kentucky this summer.

That's only about a two hour drive from my doorstep. 😎

Wow. I'll keep in touch. Maybe I can get hold of a guitar while I'm down there.

I can see a time we jam together but not clear yet.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66765.98
ETH 3234.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.23