Freedom 독립기념관 천안

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

image.png

Freedom

For an oppressed people
This was an abstract concept

Life

Would never be the same
Disregard for individual thought
And traditions of the ancients
Hiding books in the rain

Education

Thought control
Indoctrination of imperialist regime
Preparing youth for extended obedience
Shipping the best overseas to serve the emperor himself

Name

Given by Mom and Dad
Taken by a stranger
Who occupied Land and mind
Replaced name with mud

Movement

Together with one heart and mind
Risking life and family
To hold what they wanted most
Freedom to be

Victory

Unseen was Pyrrhic at best
Fire from the sky
Nation divided at unrest
Still wondering why

Sky

Lives given
Letters written
Poems spoken by midnight fires
Looking up to the sky
A gentle breeze blows cold to the bones
And a star flickers but still shines
Never forgotten

Stars

Patriots
Poets
And the rest
Mothers and Fathers
Let children play on this day
For independence will come
And with it responsibility

image.png

Our family spent the afternoon at the Independence Memorial Museum in Cheonan, South Korea. This is a beautiful museum close to the hometown of the Korean patriot Yoo Gwan Soon. My favorite poet comes from the Independence period in Korea. His name is Yoon Dong-joo. I am deeply moved by his poem: “Heaven, Wind and Star.”

Wishing not to have
so much as a speck of shame


toward heaven until the day I die,
I suffered, even when the wind stirred the leaves.


With my heart singing to the stars,
I shall love all things that are dying.


And I must walk the road
that has been given to me.


Tonight, again, the stars are
brushed by the wind.


죽는 날까지 하늘을 우러러
한 점 부끄럼이 없기를


잎새에 이는 바람에도
나는 괴로워했다


별을 노래하는 마음으로
모든 죽어가는 것을 사랑해야지


그리고 나한테 주어진 길을
걸어가야겠다


오늘 밤에도 별이 바람에 스치운다

Yoon Dong-Joo

image.png

Today was a special day at the museum as it was Parent’s Day. For once we gave the kids some freedom to run around by themselves. My oldest son @artjohn got to use a mini crossbow and meet a guy that looked like one of Admiral Soonshin Lee’s soldiers.

image.png

The kids could learn freedom and responsibility. The moment he got the bow he wanted to shoot it everywhere and he had the freedom to do so. But he waiting until he had an open place where he wouldn’t shoot any people. I wish all people could learn how to use freedom and then there would be a lot more it to go around.

image.png

This is my poem for day 61 in the Steemitschool poetry competition @d-pend.(Steemschool Discord) All pictures here were taken with my cell phone.

Verse of the Day/ John 8:32

*“To the Jews who had believed him, Jesus said, ‘If you hold to my teaching, you are really my disciples. Then you will know the truth, and the truth will set you free.’” **

Mineopoly Quote:

"When the weekend is this long there is a lot of work piled up at the office."

Check out my recent posts @mineopoly

Bukhansan National Park
Palindrome Lullabies Audio
Beyond Labels
Good idea/ Bad idea
Thirst Street
You are not Funny
Sound Waves
Changes
Charlie
Mineopoly Haiku
Reconciliation

QTTA: (QUESTION TO THINK ABOUT)

What is the best way to show kids freedom and responsibility?

I love you all.

For amazing adventure in English please follow @mineopoly mining the heart.

Sort:  

Freedom cannot be given or fought for. It is found when we realize we can never be free and then we are. A very cryptic response, I know. But it is what came from the reading of this wonderful piece of poetic expression. Fabulous:)

Thank you @prydefoltz. I learn a lot from my children. Because they have choices they have freedom but they chose to deny that freedom to really experience freedom. It is like we have unlimited freedom but can only use it by restraining it. Amazing insight you have.

Eternally true - wise words in these troubled times. National independence is hard won, and its benefits too easily forgotten or lost. I appreciate you posting Dong-joo's poem - beautiful written, and not someone I'd normally be exposed too.

Thank you @lazarus-wist. His poem and life have most influenced me and my attitude.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64647.93
ETH 3160.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.09