Green School

in #writing6 years ago

The green school shines
in the desert of dust
a diamond glows

The green school bell rings
kids hold hands and walk
all in a line

Getting fingers dirty
smelling the soil in their hands
feeling the breeze and water flow

Watching what they planted
grow from a seed
into something new

Lettuce
mint
tomatoes
grow

In the dust of a soccer field
There is life flourishing

Harvest a little every day
enjoy and pray

Green school
is here to stay

I'm very proud of our school and teachers who found a use for the small strip of land we have. We worked together to plant it and we take turns to water this garden. When something grows it is not mine or yours but it is ours. We eat it together and enjoy the fruit of the land.

I'm really impressed at what we are doing at school but our home garden is a mess. It is really a jungle out there and we need a lot of work to get something to grow well. The picture below is the bamboo trees we planted last year as seedlings. Now they are a year older but don't show any significant signs of growth.

Last night there was a storm that knocked down the bamboo down flat. And the shoots we have are not so leafy as they were last year. At first I was going organic and expected them to grow naturally but I think they need a little fertilizer. I think a lot of the nutrients from the soil ran off because of the slope.

The neighborhood we live in is a hilly neighborhood next to a Buddhist temple. The neighborhood I teach in is an inner city neighborhood in a valley. I'm really proud of our school for planting a vegetable garden on the side of the football field. We ate for lunch what the kids planted a month ago. Zero miles from farm to mouth.

I submit this poem for day 95 of the 100 day poetry competition @d-pend.(Steemschool Discord) All images here are from my cell phone.

Verse of the Day/ Luke 13:8

'Sir,' the man replied, 'leave it alone for one more year, and I'll dig around it and fertilize it.

Mineopoly Quote:

"Try some homegrown."

QTTA: (QUESTION TO THINK ABOUT)

What's the best way to keep the bugs out?

I love you all.

For amazing adventure in English please follow @mineopoly mining the heart.

Sort:  

Escuela Verde
está aquí para quedarse.

Gracias.

Thank you. We all need a lot more green :)

Organic poetry and as green and fruitful as the work developed in your school, dear @mineopoly. I hug you nice!

Thank you for such a lovely comment. This time I hug you back @zeleiracordero.

I hope you can keep your garden growing well. But, you might want to consider another patch for your garden next year and plant something different in the current patch; or let it lie fallow. Good crop practice is to rotate your crops and includes letting a field lie fallow at intervals.

Exodus 23:10 “For six years you are to sow your fields and harvest the crops, 11 but during the seventh year let the land lie unplowed and unused.

Thanks @momzillanc. I got it. All the answers are there. I will look into what grows well together.

the last time i had homegrown food was more than 20 years ago. some tomatoes and fruits..
this is awesome stuff. it gives you perspective when you have something from the soil all the way to your dishes.

Thank you. I'm gonna try to grow more. In your case it may be difficult in the apartment but start small. Try growing something you will like. I guess your wife wouldn't mind mini tomatoes.

Lovely poem and great initiative - to get children closer to earth!!! We don't have a garden, and we do ) because my son and I grow stuff in big pots! Look at our green peace, it has grown in a pot:

2018-06-10-20-01-27.jpg

Beautiful @liverussian. That's a good plan to use big pots. We have to find some way. Your garden is making music. I can hear it. Are they herbs?

“In the dust of a soccer field there is life flourishing”

Where I’m living GMO corn fields and high school sports rule. Really wish we had more green schools. Things are changing very slowly. Not fast enough for me.

I feel the second stanza is a little out of place. Holding hands and walking on a line seems way too traditional and restricting. Otherwise I really love this poem.

Thank you for your insightful comment.

Grass is hard to grow in Korea so we play sports in the dust... but there is a movement to grow food for everyone to enjoy freely in school property. There are a few schools in America but in Korea it is more mainstream in the schools these days.

I'm glad the second stanza seems out of place. You were the first person to comment about this.

The bell
Holding hands
Lines

All the things I can't stand but will not go away.

I have to work within the system. These lines present the paradox of reform in the face of a conservative system.

It sheds light and also presents the present reality of a broken system.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66384.36
ETH 3272.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.27