Dialogue Blast

in #writing5 years ago


Image Source - Pixabay

Crossing the threshold, Adam studied his grandmother, seated regally at the head of the table as she surveyed the crowd around her. As was her custom she was was adorned in diamonds worth a king’s ransom, her ears, her neck, her wrists and fingers sparkling with jewels that told the story of her great wealth. She was an imposing figure, used to reigning supreme over her family and business empire over the years. She was both admired and feared by all who knew her.

“Diana,” he greeted as he came to a stop beside her chair, knowing full well that he was one of the few people who could get away with calling her by her given name. “You’re look as beautiful as ever this evening.”

She ignored his flattering words, waving a hand dismissively at the compliment. “Tell me Adam, are the rumors true?”

Adam was used to her straightforward manner, she wasn’t one to waste time on pleasantries. It was one of the reasons he loved her so much. “Rumors?” he asked keeping his expression deliberately blank.

“Oh come off it boy,” she admonished. “You know exactly what I want to know, everyone is talking about it.” She pinned him with a pointed stare. “That Maria Donovan girl. Is it true that you proposed to her?”

“Yes, it is true,” Gabriel affirmed. “In fact, I just proposed last night; why anyone would find that an interesting topic of conversation, however, I haven’t the slightest idea.”

“You are being deliberately obtuse, my boy,” she accused with a reproving frown. “Now tell me straight out, does she really turn you on? Does she set you on fire?”

He looked thoughtful for a moment then responded. “She makes me very comfortable and I love the tranquility I feel around her.”

“Regrettably so, because that means Maria is not the woman for you.”,” she replied in a flat, matter of fact tone.

“No?”

“No. She is too much like her mother. You deserve better.”

Her mother? He started at his grandmother with a bemused expression. “But you've always liked Mrs Donovan.”

“I tolerate her,” Diana replied with another dismissive wave of her hand, “There’s a difference. Maria is very pretty, that's for sure, but like her mother, the girl is an absolute feather brain and as shallow as a dinner plate.”

Shallow as a dinner plate? Diana was never one to mince words and he had to resist the urge to laugh,

“I’ve loved and known you since the day you were born, and I can assure you that despite her impeccable pedigree the girl is not worthy of you,” she continued, eyeing him steadily. “Mark my words, Adam. Marry her and you will regret that decision for the rest of your days because she will bore you to tears within a year.”

Her expression softened a little. “You, my darling, need a woman who's not only intelligent but also very passionate. You need a woman who will spark and hold your interest, a woman who will challenge and excite you, someone who won’t simply fade into the wallpaper once you get married.”

“I see,” he replied thoughtfully. “Perhaps I should simply drop down on one knee right here and now. I can think of no one who demonstrates such qualities more than you.” He winked playfully and flashed her a grin. “However, I'm afraid that would be incestuous and more fodder for the grapevine and rumor mongers.”

“Insolent boy,” she scolded even as her eyes lit up with warmth and a hint of laughter. “You’re lucky you are my first grandchild and I love you so much.”

“Oh yes I am.” He spoke with complete earnestness now. “And all jokes apart Grandma, I promise to consider your advice very seriously.”

She patted his hand affectionately, nodding in approval. “You mustn't settle for the ordinary Adam. There is a woman out there who’s worthy of you. All you need to do is find her. Oh and by way, I saw the way Ashton’s wife was ogling you as you walked in,” she said with a disapproving frown.

Adam’s brows drew together in surprise. “Lawd! Nothing escapes you. She can ogle all she wants, I'm definitely not interested”

“You would do well to steer clear of her this weekend. She is nasty, cunning and very determined to add your name to her list of conquests.”

Adam was aware of Angela Ashton’s interest, because much to his aggravation, she had been actively pursuing him for months. He’d never felt right about dallying with another man’s wife, preferring to keep his romantic entanglements free of such a burden. “Trust me, you can set your mind at rest about that. I haven’t the slightest intention of becoming one of her conquests.”

"Very well then. Off with you boy, go mingle with the others. I would hate to be called out for monopolizing your company." She said with a smile as she waved him away and settled back into her chair to observe the guests.

Hey Scribblers, do check out the call for new entries by @laureate and have a go at it; https://whaleshares.io/@laureate/the-dialogueblast-a-call-for-new-entries

Cheers and thanks for reading!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64107.21
ETH 3073.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88