Characters Are People Too - Part II

in #writing6 years ago

Size for FaceBook.jpg
In my blog post, Characters are People Too - Part I, it was pointed out that novelists must be fascinated with people in order to create believable characters. In this post, we’ll take a further look at character development.

Memorable Fiction Characters

As an aspiring fiction writer it is important that you learn to like people, to listen to people, and to study people. As a fiction lover, it’s a given that you read a great deal of fiction. Take a moment and think about some of the characters that you’ve met in those novels. What made one or two of them stand out in your mind? How do you think the author was able to make them spring to life on the pages?

One of the keys to good character development is simply observing people. Not in a lackadaisical manner, but on purpose and with focus. Let me give you an example.
dentist office.jpg

At the Dentist Office

Several years ago, I was in the dentist office waiting my turn. From the back came a middle-aged man into the waiting area. It’s obvious he has just had some work done. He's holding his jaw. His wife, who has been waiting for him, stands up and walks over to him. She is rather overweight and speaks in a tone that is several decibels too high for the small waiting room. The first thing that becomes apparent—after noting the wife’s penchant for megaphone-type speech—is that the husband has a genuine fear of the dentist. And the wife is loving it.

Here’s how I recorded this scene in my notebook:

“Did you ask him?”
“Huh?”
“Did you ask him about the other tooth?” The wife cackles a wicked laugh.
He holds his jaw and shakes his head
“Chicken. You’re just chicken. A little yellow coward.”
The wife calls to the dentist. He comes into the waiting area.
“He has another one here giving him trouble,” she says. “He needs it out.”
Dentist looks up at the man. The husband is a large man. “Is that right?”
The man shrugs. Still holding jaw that doesn’t need to be held any longer. After an uncomfortable silence he speaks. “Would it be any trouble?” Probably hoping dentist will say he has no time.
“No trouble,” the dentist assures him.
The two disappear into the back.
The wife cackles again. Has no concept of his level of fear. Totally unfeeling of his hurt. Has found a soft spot and goads it.


This is exactly how I scribbled it down later that evening after arriving home. Think of the drama here. Consider the intricate interactions between these two people. This large man has an area that is difficult for him to handle, and instead of compassion, the wife serves up a big dose of cruelty. And with an audience to make things even more uncomfortable. I wasn’t the only one in the room, and the receptionist was there as well.

To most people this is a scene that needs to be quickly forgotten. But not to a writer! Oh no. Heavens, no. This is fodder. This is fuel. This is an incredible lesson in humanity.

Another Notebook Entry

Stopped in at the dollar store. A black girl is in a parked car singing out loud. Melodious singing; belting it out in full voice. Full and rich. Out over the entire parking lot. It makes me smile.
Mailbox.jpg

And One More…

Are you getting the idea here? Let me share one more:

Older lady comes up to the mailbox in front of the post office. Mutters to herself as she reads the pickup times on the box. Starts to put letter in. Hesitates. Pulls it back out. Starts to walk off. Then comes back. Puts it half in, takes it out. Then with an exasperated sigh—shoves it in and walks off.

Does it make you wonder what was in that letter? It does me!

Cultivate Powers of Observation

Do any of these contain earth-shattering revelations? No. But as you learn to become oh so observant, you will cultivate a heightened awareness of what goes on around you—how people act and react.

Have I ever used any of these scenes in a book? No, quite honestly, I have not. But have I used my knowledge of human nature and basic psychology? I certainly have. Many times.

Understand that the writer’s notebook becomes like an artist’s sketchbook. Actively fill your notebook(s) on a daily basis with what you see and hear. You will have an arsenal full of portrayals of life as it is lived out on a daily basis. Then when it’s time to create your characters, they will not be flat cardboard characters; they will be vibrant, living, breathing, fully fleshed-out people. People whom your readers will not want to say good-bye to when they hit the final page of the last chapter.

And guess what else? Character development is so darn much fun! You’re gonna love it!

Meanwhile, keep on writing...


http://www.beanovelist.com/
https://www.facebook.com/BeANovelist/
http://www.cleanteenreads.net/
https://www.facebook.com/CleanTeenReadsNet/

Sort:  

I started out writing satire, a la Andy Borowitz, as a hobby a few years back. More as a release of tension than anything else. Over the last few years, ya know, since the world has gone totally bonkers, it's been harder to write satire because I can't compete with reality. I mean, when I can't think of anything more outrageous, unbelievable or sickening than what's on the news, time to change my focus.

So, I moved to fiction to scratch my itch. But with short satire stories, I didn't have to worry too much about the "show me, don't tell me" rules that govern the quality of fiction writing. That's because short news-style satire doesn't have to deal with character development.

And, as I'm finding out, character development is hard...but also fun, once you can get your mind into it. As I was reading your post, I was thinking of the things I do that help me "show" my characters (the notebook thing is something I don't do, but will).

One thing that I've noticed, something I don't do on purpose, is I make faces as I write. "I'm trying to figure out the expressions of my characters.", he typed, furrowing his brow and biting his bottom lip as he contemplated the proper expression to apply.

I can't imagine what I must look like to others as I write. Hopefully, Facebook hasn't turned on my vidcam to surreptitiously record me, hoping to blackmail me someday...ya know, after winning the Nobel in literature.

Evidently you don't have a video cam pointing at you. LOL.
And I certainly agree with you about today's news. Sickening is a good description!
Thanks for sharing @matthias-green!

Hi @norma-jean,

Beautiful post you've got right there. As I read through your scribbling in your notebook, I couldn't help but picture the wife cackling wickedly in my head with her yellow teeth!!

Kudos!! Your post has been chosen to appear on SteemSwift. Keep up with the originality and follow me to stay updated!!

Thanks @neduzze5. This is exactly how our "character-developing muscles" are exercised!

I hope we can work together. vote my blog and direct me reply @Juninho
Thank you my friend

Resteem bot Service! Promote Your New Post.Find New Followers - Upvotes. Send 0.400 SBD and your post url in memo and we will resteem your post to 9500+ followers from two different account.@stoneboy and @vimal-gautam.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70597.89
ETH 3559.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.77