It's coming! Prepare for the Awesome AdventuresteemCreated with Sketch.

in #writing5 years ago

The excitement is building on the Bananafish Discord server. We're set to launch the Quest in the Realms on Monday and it's hard to wait!

I wanted to share some reflections about writing and editing with this group of amazing people.

We have a great vocabulary

I like to think my vocabulary is quite good. But after editing the episodes, I had to re-think my assessment.

Collectively though, the writers of these episodes wrote some vocabulary-expanding stories. This is especially true if you aren't well-versed in anatomical or polite descriptions of sexual acts. [I warned in my last post this is an adult adventure!]

I'm curious to see if others agree, or if it turns out I need to start reading a dictionary because I'm the only one who didn't know the words!

It's stylish and atmospheric

I searched to see if there were any other crowdsourced choose your own adventures. I couldn't find any. There are video games based on the concept, but I couldn't find a story like the Quest in the Realms.

The reason I was looking was to get some ideas on how to edit it. Obviously when you get eleven different writers together, you're going to encounter a lot of issues - from an editorial point of view.

There are different styles for one. Even when the story lines up perfectly, each writer goes about telling it a different way. Some are interactive and dialog focused. Others are more narrative.

woman-1489170_1920 (1).png

My copywriter and editorial instincts kicked in, and I started off quite harsh. I chopped like a psychotic ax-wielding monster to make everything simple, clean, and under the word count required.

But it hurt me to do it. I felt like I was cutting out everything that gave the episodes personality, but still, I stuck to it because I thought I had to.

Then, @tristancarax got online as I was editing his episodes and straightened me out. He showed me I HAD cut out all the personality that made the episodes fun to read.

To be fair to myself, I was following directions to keep them short and just moving the story along. But that wasn't any fun.

So, from then on I corrected grammar and made the episodes consistent as they flowed from one to another. And for the ones that were way too long, I did cut out things that didn't help the story, even if they were "good". But I was more conscious of keeping the heart and soul intact.

The result I think, is a story told in various styles. Normally I would say that isn't good in a work of fiction. But here, it works. Each author brings something special to their episodes and we get glimpses of the characters and settings from different points of view.

I can't wait

Having been through the entire story and all the options multiple times, I have to say I'm super excited to share this project with all of you.

I hope you all enjoy it as much as I've enjoyed working on it with the @bananafish Knights.

Oh, yeah, and you can win 30 Steem and some of the 30 SBI shares up for grabs too.

Read more about it here, and drop your name if you want to be notified when it goes live:

https://steemit.com/contest/@bananafish/quest-in-the-realms-a-treasure-hunt-for-bold-adventurers

enter image description here


enter image description here

Join the Freewrite fun today! Visit @Freewritehouse


Proud to be part of the


enter image description here

Please the Bananafish god by entering the Finish the Story Contest

All images are mine or licensed from Adobe except where noted. Freewritehouse, and the Bananafish Tribe used with permission from their owners

Sort:  

That was a fun read.

You are amazing!! You help so many writers on this platform. Thank you so much for all you do!!

Thank you for giving me the home to do it.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Good reiew

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @ntowl! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 8000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 9000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Hi, @ntowl!

You just got a 0.41% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Well I know that I've learned a few new terms. 😂

Hello @ntowl, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64014.44
ETH 3064.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86