The Lion Finds His Courage, and NO WRITING CLASS tonight

in #writing6 years ago (edited)


Today is the day after. The day after what you ask?

Let me tell you. It's the day after the first:

-   Play our homeschool co-op has ever done.

-   Play my son has ever been in.

-   Costumes I've ever made for a play.

-   Costumes I've made without a sewing machine.    

I feel relieved, proud, blessed and also incredibly sad.


# The Good Stuff

Our co-op performed an adaptation of The Wizard of Oz yesterday. As I imagine it is with most productions, we were in chaos right up until the curtains opened - and even after as the ghosts on the old hall kept turning the lights off and on (really, no one was in the lighting booth).

But the kids pulled it all together and gave a fabulous performance. They ranged in age from 4 to 17, and not one of them could have done better.

My son played the cowardly lion. I was working on finishing his costume right up until an hour before the start. I also had to make the tin man's costume which was exceedingly difficult as he wasn't around for proper sizing. My son is at least five inches taller, though I did my best to use him as a model anyway. Here's a picture of the ensemble:

We're a small non-profit providing alternative educational opportunities to our community, so the play was simple. Nothing extravagant at all but the kids made it great (we also have amazingly talented directors!).

Here's a look at them in the Emerald City throne room:

And yes, the wizard is hiding behind that curtain! The "wall" you see to the right is repurposed from an entrepreneurial class taught several years ago. The backside has black mountains where the wicked witch lives painted on.

The entire process, though chaotic, was unbelievably positive. I'm blessed and grateful to be part of such a fantastic group dedicated to helping children be their best. 

So now you know why I haven't been on Steemit...which leads to...

# The Bad Stuff

Since I was so focused on helping with the production and costumes, a lot of things I should or could have been doing didn't get done. There was my personal writing of course, but there's also an interview I did for @steembasicincome which was almost ready, but I couldn't get the finishing touches done to my standards in the time I had. (It's coming soon though!)

Then there was the Freewrite Selfie Celebration Contest. I'd managed to keep up with it through so many challenges, but on the final day of the production I was so distracted I didn't post my freewrite before the cutoff. I remembered precisely fifteen minutes after. I had it all written and ready to go, but I didn't post, so it doesn't count.  Lots of good will come from the days I was in though, and I have a plan for the freewrite series that I intend to follow, prize or no prize. 

Also, I haven't been much help to the @greetersguild either these past few weeks. That should change starting tomorrow. This also means though, that ***my writing class will not begin tonight***, but instead will begin next week. This also means there are more opportunities to win SBI, but I'll write about that in another post so make sure you check my blog tomorrow!

I also have a living room covered in bits of fur, felt, foam, and sticky things. Also piles of dishes to clean. It'll be a labor of love though because all that mess helped create something wonderful!

To end on a positive note, here's my cowardly lion's big scene. They had no microphones, and the theatre was loud, but hopefully, you can hear the audio. 

If you have any questions about this content, please let me know in the comments. Or better yet, click the banner to join my channel on Steemit Greeter's Guild!

Note: All images are mine or licensed from Adobe except where noted. The Steemit Greeter's Guild banners provided by @terminallyill.



Sort:  

Go here https://steemit.com/@a-a-a to get your post resteemed to over 72,000 followers.

The play looks like it was so much fun!!! And it is understandable that you forgot to post! It must have been so much work!!
We will miss the selfies of you and your son for sure!!! but, I have a feeling - not soon, but somewhen in the near future, there will be another one... :)
Hope the vote is little bringer of happiness.

I will keep my eye peeled (and Gina bot tuned) for the next one. Thank you for your encouragement throughout!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64359.90
ETH 3105.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87