My novel is almost ready - or maybe not

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

I started writing this novel some months ago. It was supposed to be a collection of short stories, but then I found a way to write those stories as an attempt to make an atlas of places and creatures. So now all the tales are together and, well, it is a novel, somehow.

I asked to some trusted friends to read the draft and give me their opinion (they are men of letters). Later I'll contact an editorial series director I know to propose my work for publication.

What I want to show you now is an updated provisional list of the chapters/stories. Here it is.

1.  The Land of the StoryEaters - Reportage from a land were people tell and listen to stories daily. They have to. 

2. The Labyrinth - Part One - Description of the place - Weather - Inhabitants - Landscape

3. The Valley of the Sonorous Cloths - Weird communication system in a little village in the mountains.

4. The Manhole People - A weird and not human kind living underground in a very common and trivial town.

4. Provisional Index. This Text.

5. The Healed Guerrilla - A legendary tale told by unreliable witnesses

6. The Clearing of the women - Another legendary tale told by me as a witness, so it's not so legendary.

7. ?

8. How the Travelers meet and identify each other in a Police State.

9. The Mountain Chicks - A species of clever animals living on the run.

10. The "I remember" game and how to use it to travel.

11. The Inhabitants of the condemned buildings and the Invisible Sociologists

12. The Hugely High People and their land. They are not humans but look like humans.

13. The Library and the creatures living there.

14. Strange creatures not really known.

15. The Infinite Buildings and its geometries.

16. The kingdom of the King of Shit.

17. The People of the Wind. A whole population living in the wind and their customs.

18. The Outcasts and why it is very dangerous to meet them. Categories of outcasts

19. The Labyrinth - Part Two - How you arrive there, how you leave, why you want to go back to the Labyrinth.

20. The Cellar Doors. An unproven theory about wormholes and non- Euclidean spaces.

21. List of the travelers I interviewed for this Atlas and their characteristics.

22. The "I remember" game and how to use it for traveling 

23. The caverns – A comfortable habitat with no inhabitants. 

24. The Great building – A building-State and the many species living there

25. Epilogue.

Since I never wrote such a long story before, I'll need help and advice from an editor. It will take months for sure. :)

Sort:  

Writing a book is a gargantuan task, @paolobeneforti !!! I wish you all the luck <3 How many words is it, entirely? :O

it is around 40000 words so far.
thx! :)

congrats. I have written a few short stories, but I hate editing (as one can tell from my steemit posts full of errors). Good luck!

The titles of each chapter left me with a lot of curiosity to note that it will be a fantastic novel! I hope you can soon finish it and share it with us for sure will be a success!

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63956.04
ETH 3066.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.31