SAVE NATURE- Plant A Tree Today

in #writing5 years ago (edited)

image
PIXABAY
As humans, it's advisable for us to perform some selfless service to the community we live in and to earth at large. I will be sharing one of the selfless duty I did in the past to save mother nature (earth). It's been five years now but I just can't stop feeling good for that particular act of mine.

My next compound neighbor was planning to cut down a mango tree in her compound but I was able to stop her. That faithful day I and a friend (who will happened live on same neighborhood) was walking towards our home when we saw some machinery in our neighbor's compound. We did branch by and inquire what was going on and the old Lady told us she wants to cut down the mango tree, her reason was that it sheds so many leaves and her children ain't around to sweep off and discard its sheddings.
She and her husband were too old to be taking care of the leaves sheddings, I didn't know where what I said came from but I vividly remember telling her not to worry that every once in two days I will be coming by to do away with the sheddings caused by the tree. My friend also volunteers to help out too.

The old Lady was grateful and thank us for our will to help out and she also told us of three compounds in our neighborhood who also plans to cut off their trees. So I and my friend came up with a strategy which was giving a talk in the next occupants meeting of our street about the merits of planting a tree and luckily for us the next meeting was in two days time.

On the deal day, I was kind of shy but I did boss up. My friend, Betty started with the speech with me concluding it. I told them the benefits of keeping a tree which entails:
•As a source of natural ventilation
•Trees can give architectural view to an environment
•It's good to save and preserve nature
•Improving air quality by filtering dust particles
•Serves as a control during flooding.

And some other benefits.

image
PIXABAY

At the end of the speech, everyone was mute. I thought we failed in our speech until a man spoke and said he is impressed by what young minds of ours could bring forth and that he will surely plant a tree. The rest occupants followed suit although some didn't love the idea of planting big trees in their compounds. So we told them to plant a date palm since it's a cute tree which can also serve as a form of flower to a house.

After the occupants meeting, I and my friend didn't only helped the old Lady in sweeping and discarding off the mango tree sheddings. We also helped in the planting a date palm in our neighborhood. The neighborhood currently is one that's being beautify with date palm. Though I and my family later change residence after two years any time I pass the neighborhood I just can't help but admire it's beauty.
Trees are nature's beauty to us so we should try to save a tree today and also help in planting one.


Thank you for reading. I remain @prechyrukky

Sort:  

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! We encourage and support quality contents and projects from the West African region.
Do you have a suggestion, concern or want to appear as a guest author on WAfrica, join our discord server and discuss with a member of our curation team.
Don't forget to join us every Sunday by 20:30GMT for our Sunday WAFRO party on our discord channel. Thank you.

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64271.38
ETH 3157.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25