What Happens When You Don't Have A Phone?

in #writing5 years ago


Yesterday I went to the mall, I kept reaching inside my purse probably for times already while my face frowned. I was like a little kid missing her favorite toy. It suddenly registered to me that I looking for something that obviously was not in my purse.

Am not sure if am getting old or just addicted to my mobile (which we all are).

It's been two days since I dropped my phone in the water. So, while I was at the mall, I was trying to decide what am going to do. I didn't really have a specific purpose going there except that I needed to go out and be in a different environment, instead of always being inside a big wall with my neighbors, whom I barely bump into. It's either their at work or they're too lazy to go outside their crib.

After about an hour of walking around, I finally decided to sit down at this small and cozy place that serves juices and some random healthy creations (for the most item on their menu).

So this is what I ordered.

DSC_2612.JPG

It's a cocoa pudding and coconut milk topped with chia seeds.

Oh, you're probably wondering how did I take the photo. Well, I brought my DSLR camera with me. I haven't used for about a month now so, I thought I'd bring it and maybe I'd bring it to the camera shop to try some other lenses (which by the way didn't happen because I forgot). Not like I was planning to replace the current one, am not even familiar with all the settings yet.

DSC_2609.JPG

I also had my kindle with me and I finally finished my book. I read while I was in the taxi on my way to the mall and finished before I left. Ever since I joined Steemit, I barely use my kindle and haven't been able to set up a new reading goal on my Goodreads account. I missed reading, I forgot how much I love to read. So, maybe it was a good thing that I dropped my phone in the water? lol

I noticed more events happening around me while I was at the mall, I guess, you pay more attention when you're not staring at your phone all the time. Funny though, 9 out of ten people I saw at the mall were on their phones. There are also people who do social interactions most of them are on their sixties.

Today, I checked my phone again after putting it in a container with rice. Yep, you read it right, I got the idea online, they say to try it (the rice helps pull moisture out) but nope, nothing in the grace of the old gods and the new gods. So I guess it's time to say good-bye to my best amazing Google PLX Xl phone!.

Moving on...

I have a few books that I added to my "want to read list" although am still in search for other books to read. I feel like reading any contemporary books this time. Do you have any recommendation?


XOXO, Gil

Sort:  

This post has received a 21.49 % upvote from @boomerang.

Neat that you have a DSLR. What brand do you have? My brother recently got one, though I forgot what his was.

Posted using Partiko Android

D3400 it's good for beginners

Get some bags of desiccant (silica gel) to try and get the moisture out of the phone. Hope you get it sorted, I've never known the old rice trick work for anyone! you could also try warming it with a hairdryer.
Have a great weekend anyway, and it is nice not to be 'available' 24/7 sometimes :-)

my phone was working until I tried the hairdryer, lol Hmmm haven't heard of silica gel, I'll see if I can find one here

thanks, you too! ;)

Aha!

When I don't have my phone with me, I would just usually read a book. It helps my mind keep healthy, I think

Posted using Partiko Android

That's good, what books do you like to read? Have you read some of Daniel Steel books?

Danielle Steel is one of the best authors! I love her novels. 💕❤️

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi, @purepinay!

You just got a 0.99% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Hello @purepinay, good that you are enjoying the independence of the cell phone, many times we get caught by this technological vice and forget so many things we can do if we take away some and hours of use of the cell phone, good that you chose to enjoy I leave with craving. Keep enjoying and happiness always.

Posted using Partiko Android

About 61.89$ has been spent to promote this content using Steemium.
Learn more here!

You got a 19.80% upvote from @brupvoter courtesy of @steemium!

@purepinay, Now Smartphone is became like air for many because if they don't see their mobile around them or they don't feel it then many behave awkwardly and there are many people who behave aggressively.

This stuff is looking delicious and it's appearance is like Art.

This comment was made from https://ulogs.org

it's true, I am the same when I didn't have my phone, I felt awkward but now am getting used to not having it (for now I guess?)

thank you, trying to practice some shots ;)

Welcome and enjoy your Photography time.

You got a 21.00% upvote from @spydo courtesy of @steemium! We offer 100% Payout and Curation.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63464.16
ETH 3111.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98