Story Unboarded: Science Fantasy

in #writing5 years ago

booktunnel.jpg

I’ve always had a difficulty with finding fiction I really enjoy. Science fiction appeals to my inner tech nerd. I love thinking about complex systems solving problems in unique and innovative ways, and I also love how Science Fiction manages this while maintaining a grounding in reality. There are no magic power sources or fungible spells to drive conflict or solve problems, so the stories have a sense of grounding.

But fiction is also about escapism. That’s where fantasy appeals to me; cataclysmic battles between immensely powerful beings, creative magical spells with interesting effects and caveats… even the occasional non-human being with their own special abilities. These stories tend to be more fantastical, which is both an asset and detriment depending on the situation. When it’s unclear if resurrecting the dead is possible or solving other problems with as of yet unmentioned magical methods, it immediately becomes more difficult to create real tension. That said, some people just want to see the main character throw a fireball when diplomacy has failed.

I’ve played both Fallout and the Elder Scrolls, and frequently I will just be sitting there struggling with which I want to play. I wish I could use magic within Fallout, or see the occasional robot shambling around in Skyrim. But other than mods, we can’t see such things… and it’s obvious why. The lore of both worlds are miles apart, and introducing elements between them quickly breaks immersion. Sure, Fallout occasionally eludes to religion, and Skyrim has some ancient automatons hanging around… but the tone is always vastly different between the two. I’m stuck wanting to have my cake and eat it too.

This disconnect is a very clear dividing line in fiction. There is Science Fiction, and there is Fantasy. You usually get one or the other, with very little bleed over. If there is magic in Science Fiction, it’s at least partially explained through science. If you have advanced technology in Fantasy, it’s powered through magical means.

My own writing, I’ve come to realize, is a reflection of this internal conflict. I like parts of both genres. I certainly tend towards Fantasy, but I also have quite a bit of technology in my writing. The magic system itself is heavily based off my own admittedly layman understanding of real world science, with casting types being based off of different forms of energy. I try very hard not to just have the battles turn into people shooting magic beams at each other, and instead have opponents use their powers within a very defined context of what is possible and what is not. But with all of that said, I won’t shy away from more fantastical elements, like flying mermaids or shapeshifting demons.

When asked about the genre of my writing while not being constrained by a defined list, I describe it as Science Fantasy. Fantasy with a focus on scientific consistency, similar to how Hard Science Fiction is Science Fiction with a heavy focus on realism. I hope one day this becomes a defined genre of it’s own, because I think many stories that would fit into it are being unfairly pigeonholed into either Science Fiction or Fantasy.

Same post on Minds

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63994.25
ETH 3062.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94