How To Be Man

in #writing5 years ago

Six packs and segmented muscle probably with a bony face could be mistaken for a man. No, men are not born , people only become men. Being a man is not all about the physical structure, it's more of the mental formation than the physical components.

Back in my college days, every youth wanted to prove their masculinity, so they engage in a duel every Saturday to prove their strength. Most persons who showed up were muscular and might have gone through gym training, with wide chest and big muscles, this was enough to scare us to death without even trying . We accepted defeat even before trying.

The few times I tried gym, I couldn't cope with it . Just then I knew the lesson wasn't for me but the bully and intimidation never stopped . My smallish body was an advantage for them to bully me with the assurance that I wouldn't fight back. This continue all through my college till when gain admission into the university where I met Dr. Fred. He noticed me for some time and decided to share this lessions with me, which is title "how to become a man".

image
Source

After narrating my story with Dr. Fred, he stayed for a while, pondering on what I really can't identify, then told me the lesson would last for three sections each holding a strong lesson that was supposed to usher me into the kingdom of men.

“Being a man isn’t just about physical
appearances but also about one’s mental
state. You lack self-confidence and, are
demotivated. This day onwards, I will train
you in one exercise a day and with that, you will grow not only physically but mentally too.” Hearing this, I was quite encouraged and decided to follow everything Dr. Fred had
just said.

Then the lesson began with lesson one :

Dr. Fred took me through an exercise that was targeted to broaden my chest and shoulders. He wanted me to believe in myself, to be confident in who I was. When a person is confident, they treat others with respect no matter who they are, it makes them free men not to intimidate but to observe a close relationship with them .

Lesson 2:
The exercise was called pull-ups, this was intended to increase my stamina and strength. This was the stamina needed to speak up my mind and not shy up by saying "sorry" in every action i take.

Lesson 3:
This exercise was called face up, this involved carrying heavier load. Because the lighter one can cause a bloody noise. This involved killing up ego, as ego ruin relationships and taking responsibility , even higher responsibility of our actions and people around us.

So becoming a man involved
1: learning to respect other person's decision and confident enough to hold on to our believe, not easily shaken

2.Confidence to speak up our minds

3.killing off ego and building good relationship as well as taking responsibility for our actions.

4.In addition, body physique.

Acknowledge KMITRA for this work

Sort:  

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! We encourage and support quality contents and projects from the West African region.
Do you have a suggestion, concern or want to appear as a guest author on WAfrica, join our discord server and discuss with a member of our curation team.
Don't forget to join us every Sunday by 20:30GMT for our Sunday WAFRO party on our discord channel. Thank you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66579.21
ETH 3282.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30