Musing 24

in #writing6 years ago

Monday - Moon - Gabriel - silver - cherry tree -purple - brain, reproductive organs - rice - 0-7 yrs

Together with a Steemian friend, I’ve been looking at the Heart of Steemit. Does it exist? Or so I took our investigation into that direction, rather than debate the non-issue of what makes heartfelt blogging/vlogging. Even a puerile text can convey the heart (although it is usually belly-thinking) and every half decent blog must be mind-made.
For me, the project has always been to observe whether Heart can be found, sustained and grown between a group of souls gathered here virtually.

I don’t think there is a style for it or a “trick of the trade*. Who writes from the heart here is not the right question, I don’t think, but who can carry Heart into our midst is more interesting to me. I know one or two who can do it with little more than a photo. But most photographers bring us their personality and trade wares. Also nice, but I am like an explorer looking for the source of the River Heart and can only pass through all the charming villages on its banks.

It may sound needlessly provocative and difficult to suggest that the answer is not so obvious to know; but like we can all spot a robot we can sense perfectly that Heart is carried by certain presences. It comes with individuals. This is not to say that the others do not live from the heart or create heart spaces AFK but to bring it into the cyber world is a different thing.

Examples?

It doesn’t matter what material they post or who they are behind the name, face and voice they adopt here. These may be individuals you have something in common with (superficially) or not. They may speak in a language very foreign to your own (catering to different social sections) or even be antagonistic to you personally as they manoeuver the undertow on their way out to the open sea. Also the Heart must, at times be shielded and can come weaponed to the high teeth.

The new and truer democratic element possible on a platform like Steemit (the good news at last!) is that it brings together people regardless of their lives and their life-styles. Vegans could happily coexist with paleo-men and marines can talk to doulas.

There are many tributaries of the Heart Stream running through the posting current. The fact that nothing can pool here is precisely conducive to this flow! (More positive news, can you believe it!) May it show us that the Heart flows where it CAN. There is only one thing that can dam it up or dillute it and that is ego, with its gloopy fear or it’s prideful gushing.

Ego can hyjack the mind but it cannot live IN your writing; it can merely make your writing really boring or dead.

Most people here use Steemit as a school to practice clearer streams of consciousness - but that is not innovative or artful or community building or creating a new-virtual-archictectural mystery centre of the Heart. It is just social media in general providing a community service. Not somethig to make Steemit a market leader in Heart Consciousness. Still, if we don't "market" the Heart somehow, it will fall into disuse.

Freeing the Heart

How can the Heart best be conveyed electronically, if at all?
I suppose by being who you are, eventhough it takes a specific make-up. It takes a kind of intelligence that is cyber resistant. It has very little to do with being a good-person doing good things. This medium loses a lot in translation; so, larger cosmic powers are required at the input end for there to be anything of that Heart Intelligence to have survived at the other end. If there is a formula it is pointless to hand out: those how are the most Heartfully intelligent wouldn’t recognise it if they pulled it out of their own heart.

The digest-sized "picture novel" It Rhymes with Lust (1950), one precursor of the graphic novel. Cover art by Matt Baker and Ray Osrin.

If vlogs capture the real person in one “complete expression” , i.e. the undisguised personality interacting with real time as opposed to the timeless dressed-up impression of print, does the “freewrite” format aim to strip some of the cloak and dagger while simultaneously sharpen the “intent of presence”? There must be something worth exploring there because the inimitable Heart Presence #malloryblythe is considering entering the 50 day challenge. It means she’ll be forcing herself (not unlike I did) to make Steemit her “point of presence”.

Since this lady is a lot more coin savvy than I ever care to become (because I can’t!) I am very much keeping my fingers crossed that she is the one to get it through to the mighty fish brains that this is the type of Steemian that should be “hired” for the sake of irrigation from the Heart Intelligence. There is no point expecting subgroups to organise themselves to support "good writing" for this is precisely to encourage ego and debilitate the Flow.

A larger editorial decision should be made. Maybe some kind of "subscription vote"after all! What!? me and automated voting? Possibly, but I can see it working only if it is done on a large scale, and thereby imposed upon all users. Maybe for this to be possible, in turn, Steemit would need, at least, to triple its number of active users in a very short period of time. Predictions are to the contrary, decline in development, at this moment.

To be honest, if humbly so, the slow road to China, where gradually you are discovered until you are trending is impossible for the Heart Stream, its integrity cannot take the churning that eventually it must undergo to becomes the Hukou waterfall.

by Leruswing, Yellow River.

Furthermore, there has to be a rehabilitation programme in place to get all the millions of views and likes and votes away from the numbing druggy stuff and onto the Heart-building nutritious stuff. The cramped minds need to be lead to the ancient well again.

Mallory may hope that the social rewards are sufficient to egg her on, but even if they come with fans and their votes attached, I worry that it will compromise the Heart-Stream sooner or later. To write from the Heart is not the same as being convivial or kind. Moses threw snakes and faced burning bushes. Jesus wasn't stewing flowers like a hippie. Zen masters carry sticks! There will be pressures to give the audience what they want (or have become used to) which a) curbs your own free Heart and b) does them no service whatsoever. But what can you do? I suppose we all can only do what we feel compelled to do. Then it's wait and see how much Heart it conveys.

By the way

I do know it's not Monday. And not because, one day it will be Monday again in this blockchain that might not be eternal in a closed circuit of finite electricity, but otherwise pretty indellible, but because in the Heart Conscious Monday coexists with Tuesday, I waited to post the final post in the series of Weekday-gemstones till today.

Moonstone

is a member of the feldspar family, a tectosiliicate. This is a monoclinic crystal form, most clearly represented by gypsum. Others in this group include epidot, malachite, kunzite, lepidolite, jade, azurite.
With the parallellogram for its geometric patterning, you get a sense of topplyness instead of straight, firm, grounding verticles. The monoclinical affinity is not a very stable one. If you have a monoclinical lifestyle (often aspected by the zodiac sign of the Crab) you will be changeable and not particularly reliable. You love to live for tomorrow, in search of that perfect home, but it means that you are moody today and overflowing tomorrow. The here and now is all good and well but things are always different to what you expected: you are not very trusting in the way it seems to be. Is not everything illusion? Like the light of the moon? Best to shield yourself then in a hard crusty shell....

Although this fundamental lack of healthy (sane) rhthm in the life of a typical monclinical person is a massive issue to well-being, it does leave room for intuition. If you introduce plenty of discipline and routine you might even hit upon a perfect flow of Heart.

The gemstones in the tectosilicate group work as filters, absorbing or reflecting things. As such they hand you intuitive findings. You are able to hear the pauses inbetween the soundings. Others with this property, aside moonstone, is lapis-lazuli, amozonite, soalite. These are all very calming, as their blue colour suggests. The more translucent varieties lend clarity of vision and broaden our horizons as such: labradorite and sunstone. (triclinic), and also the moonstone (in a pendant in above phote with block of amazonite).

Sort:  

I resteemed this post, not only because we both posted purple, but because I LOVE that you are here to find heart and to conduct a most interesting social experiment. I am here (HEAR) in order to find the real voices, ironic as that may seem because in my small world I wondered where the creatives had gone. I used to be on myspace too and enjoyed the art shared there which seemed to be gone when adding real-life family and friends to FB.
Also, seems the internet sort of shut down in its aperture of what it offers as far as just good 'ole surfing goes and I'm happy to find people are still being creative/thinking outside of the box. I'll take virtual if I can't find it elsewhere.
Truthfully, I don't even understand the SP, voting, powering up, etc. at all! I've started to read articles in regards, but find it tedious and mind numbing.
Anyway, really happy to have met you and others here who are truly inspiring and interesting.

Waiting for my Mojo to return. Edit: Steemworld lied :/

Come come now, what's got you so glum?
Lies here? Surely not here, too?! (Is that sort of a half a glum face?)

My VP was supposed to get back to full value; it didn't, it was off by 20% and it still is. I waited for 3 hours :_(

Oh no, is that face crying now? (I can read, I can read! Finally, I can read punctuated faces.) Your empathy is too much! Of course, I am shattered by this financial set-back your sluggish recharging has caused me and I must dig deep in my magnanimous heart to forgive the failing Steemit system, but also this will pass. All passes.
Far graver things are happening on my side of the tracks: I missed an entire post of yours - and it's not the first time "things seem to go missing for a bit". It's probably just me going loopier faster than I was hoping. But how could I have missed that Ferrari tractor!?
Tell me it actually drives and I'll reconsider a tractor for my next ride. (I presume you could pimp mine up with a pizza box and a comfortable passenger cushion on the back?)

Cars and Tractors will have to do for now. The movie shoot yielded almost 2000 photographs, but unfortunately they will have to wait. Some shots already leaked as some actors were really eager to add them to their portfolio; a compliment to me, but a problem keeping the movie a secret before the premiere.

Yes, the V-12 tractor actually moves out really well, but these days you wouldn't have to pimp it; some come with better amenities that a new BMW.

Missing posts is a function of either following to many people or a poor setup of the feed where posts get buried deep within a short time span. You are not as think as you loopy you are.

Oh wow! I am very flattered that I’ve been featured in your musings and that you’ve given me such a strong endorsement. I don’t feel worthy! Some thoughts:

  1. It would be a lie to say that I don’t dream of “making it big” here (financially speaking), which would certainly be a big help. But I’m not under any illusions that it’s likely to happen. Still, as I say at least once a week—a girl can dream.

  2. I’ve had a lifelong writing habit—it’s been my best emotional outlet for as long as I’ve been able to write (hence the diary series, which I’ve been meaning to pick back up). I feel destabilized in a way when I don’t write, like there are missed opportunities to document my life, or even just thoughts and work that is entirely disconnected from me on the surface but came from the “Heart,” as you said, which I’ve always assumed would be completely uninteresting to other people. Steemit has revealed to me that maybe there are some people out there who would enjoy reading them. Maybe that means that the social rewards are enough, as you say, and maybe not. I did take a pretty long hiatus recently because life stuff + lack of motivation.

  3. I’m not very talented in general in almost any way except that I can write. I have only one artistic strength but an abundance of desire to share art with the world. I guess it’s part of the human impulse toward desiring some form of immortality, which I suppose is kind of silly.

  4. Before this, I had very little “purpose” in being on the internet in general, other than reading the news and maybe a couple of subreddits. I wasn’t contributing anything. Steemit is now filling a big void that was left after Livejournal fell out of fashion.

  5. You know, you’re genuinely my favorite person I’ve come to (digitally) know here, hence why I signed you up for that Steem Basic Income share and have tried to goad you into joining a contest, though it seems I’m off the mark in finding a contest you’d like. Also, I’ve had you on autovote via steemauto.com this whole time. (My votes didn’t come through yesterday because my SP dipped below 70%—oops.) I wanted to make sure you were still getting my support, however small it is, in my absence. So I do hope that you’ll stick around even if it doesn’t seem financially worth it right now.

  6. On that note, the financial aspect— I think that you have a better chance than most to do (relatively) well here, at least enough to make it “worth it” in the end. You’ll need to stick with it a bit longer, maybe six months to a year, but I think you could be pretty successful. You and I were basically neck and neck back before I took my break, and now you’re twice as far along as I am in terms of SP, which can generate passive income (through autovoting, or lending it out to others). And here you have all of these musings that will stay here for all to read and enjoy.

  1. As Fiona Apple put it: I don't go to sleep to dream. I come to steam.
  2. Well, in writing at least is where I do my best sleeping. (Which for an esoteric researcher is most likely to mean coming the closest to reality - life being maya/just an illusion.)
  3. Yep, get what you are saying about not being talented, I could say the same, though not buying it in your case. Your structured manner of thinking compensates for what you might lack as a tapdancer or pom-pom girl. Our general attitude to talent is totally overrated,anyway; I hereby declare that being under-talented is the new cool. Spent this afternoon - dozing in the sun for a change - admiring, as if surrounded by wise grandmother energy - how you remained standing so formidably in this dog-eat-dog competitive world you are in. Don't let them suck a single free drop out of you!
  4. Totally missed out on Livejournal. Never even heard of it. May this remind us to be wary of the longevity of Steemit! I was on that other obscure platform that's going to take me a night to think what it was called again.....
  5. Ibidem here again. With a marginal note. Your autovote made me laugh, made me cry. It made me stick at it and made me feel very ridiculous at the same time. You seemed to have moved onto bigger and better things and left me in what was frequently a gaping black hole, at square one again. Of course, there were others; but it wasn't the same. And always onnovocks, without whom none of this might have been possible! Whenever my hottub broke down or my car cigarette lighter needed reprogramming he was there for me. It is pretty darn hard going to find more who don't take themselves too seriously but are able to be remarkably commited to Steemit (or whatever it really is that makes it worth our while to write or simply be HERE).
  6. I desperately need to figure out how to consider upvoting after I leave. An article that passed by a while ago, comparing different options was fairly inconclusive. My son suddenly tells me today that I would be a fool to give out my details to the Upvote proxy. I said we are all honest here on Steemit, nobody is going to run away with my money... and I promised that I was in touch with a pair of clever cloggs on this front (you and aforementioned). Perhaps, you could leave some details on how to go about considering my options, on discourse? (Lending it out to others v autovoting?)

Once I have my options in a row I can better see if I must close down my account or keep it purring in the backgtround. For an energy worker the difference may or may not be significant. Need to sit in more sun for this decision.
Whatever happens, and I have the feeling the last fortnight will be different, I won't leave you hanging and if I can I will try to say more of what this has been about for me and what it has or hasn't done for me or anyone else much (because it can't or needs something other before it can).

Ah! in under 30 minutes: My Space! That was what that platform I was thinking of was called. Also a whacky experiment. No. Whackier by far.

I don't believe in the longevity of any digital empire, to be honest, not past a decade or two. Look at AOL, Netscape, Myspace, Friendster, Livejournal, and so on. Steemit isn't even a blip on the radar at this point, though who knows what'll happen in the future.

I will imagine that in your remaining time you might have a change of heart. Maybe? For #6, I'll switch from numerals to bullet points:

To keep your voting legacy going, there are a few things you could do:

  • Set up autovotes on steemauto.com by logging in there and going to Fanbase > enter in the usernames of your favorite authors, and make sure to adjust the settings. To address your son's concerns, you don't have to login with your master key. You can use your posting key (I believe), which is one of the other three keys that you have in your wallet. That way, you can limit your exposure to security issues. For settings, I set each to 29 minutes at 100% voting power and limit 1 per day. You're actually the only one I allow more than 1 vote per day to, not that your account ever takes me up on it. I can explain those choices if you want me to go in more detail.
  • There are services you can use to lend out your SP which will send you back some profit, though I don't know what that profit is and if it would be any more than what you'd earn autovoting or delegating. I haven't tried any of them and I wouldn't want to. Seems kind of antithetical to the philosophy of Steemit that I'd prefer to follow--vote lending to tip the scales in favor of those gaming the system even more.
  • You could delegate your SP to your friends here and let them do your voting for you. You'd still be in control of your SP and you would be able to take it back whenever you want. It would take a bit of trust for purposes of earning curation rewards, since they'd have to send them back to you.

Are you a cancer?
What a lovely experiment to find the heart! I'm glad you elaborated a bit more on what you've been doing here.
Perhaps, you've already read about/investigated ONO and Ke Xu?

My son is a cancer. I come before.
Never heard of Ono (except Yoko). Seems like you have done more research than I have already!
I am very much in two minds (duh, June-bug that I am) about the possibilities on the virtual front; I think the value is limited to confirming what we already know (you and I) and extremely valuable in that (even knowing that you know what you know needs adequate endorsement - since it ain't ever much to begin with.) But then what? The web (an sich, as material to work in) is trecherous and generally more draining than giving. All this compromises free-love work (not so unconditional that it goes and flows anywhere it is willed). On the other hand, the membrane of real life is becoming interwoven with the cyber network anyway.....
Our encounter is significant and I shall be watching closely where I can hook up with regards what you have been working on so far.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64359.90
ETH 3105.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87