The Demise of Chauncey

in #writing6 years ago (edited)


Source: Pexels

You want to know about Chauncey?

Yeah, everyone these days wants to know about Chauncey. It seems like just yesterday that the little guy captured the heart of the world with his adorable little face, his cute bark, and the way his tiny butt wagged as he walked. He was the star we had all been waiting for. It's crazy to think that it started only three months ago. But that's all over now.

I knew Chauncey well. I was his manager after all. The two of us would spend a lot of time on the road together. When the lights went down and everyone went home, there was always something else to do. Some other engagement. Another interview. Maybe an appearance at a private party or something. We had to ride the wave while it was there. We couldn't afford to stop.

There are a lot of people who blame me for what happened. They say that as the manager, and as the human, I should have seen what was coming. But the truth is, there was nothing I could do.


Source: Pexels

Chauncey had a mind of his own. It started about two months ago. We had just left Jessica Taylor's birthday bash. As you know, she's the "it girl" in Hollywood right now and she just had to have Chauncey make an appearance. So we're leaving the party after a long night and I'm driving, but then I look back at Chauncey's special car seat, and that little puppy is just sitting and smoking a cigarette. I did a double-take because he was just a puppy and he shouldn't know how to smoke, but I guess the girls at the party had taught him, and just like that he was hooked.

Before I knew it, he had gone full "rockstar" on me. Yeah, he still had the same cute demeanor on stage and for performances, but as soon as the cameras were gone, he was a party animal. I couldn't do anything to dissuade him from it. I made him see professionals, but by that time, he couldn't even show up to the doctor's appointments sober. I'm not sure how much you know about little dogs and their livers, but they really shouldn't be drinking that much whiskey!


Source: Pexels

This photo of him was the last picture ever taken of him. We went to a photo shoot for his latest movie, Canine Crush: Return of the Paw. We did some glamour shots and stuff. It was a normal day, a good day. But looking back, you can see from his eyes, that he just wasn't there. He was just dead inside.

After the shoot, he said he was going for a drive and would meet me for dinner at 6:00. He never showed. I went home at 9:00 figuring that he had forgotten about it as he was known to do. It wasn't until the next morning that I heard the news.

It's really just bizarre. They found the car, they found his phone and ID, but they don't know where he went. There were no tracks leading to or from the car. It's like he just vanished into thin air. I'm heartbroken about it and just sickened that I might have been able to do more to stop him from going down that road.

I don't know if he's alive. I can't imagine he is, but if he's out there, I hope that he found peace. I hope he was able to put down the smoking and drinking, and just focus on getting healthy. And Chauncey, if you happen to read this, I hope you know I really do love you, buddy. I miss you and I'm sorry I couldn't do more for you.

Sniff

That's all I have to say. Sorry.



This was just a little free-write that I did last night. From time to time I like to find pictures on Pexels that I can write a story about. If something comes to mind, I try to go for it. Sometimes it works out. Other times it doesn't. How do you think think this one turned out?


Ono Small.png
@themanwithnoname

Sort:  

Lol for a brief second I thought it was your pet

Ha ha, no, just something that I was inspired to write. Maybe it's just the crazy seeping out into the real world. Or maybe I just saw a cool picture and thought that I could make a story from it. Who knows? :)

lol. I'm happy it wasn't a real story. Awesome pictures of the little fluffy baby. Good work. upvoted

Believe me, I've done my best to keep my dog from smoking, but he's just that resourceful. The other day I even saw him forcing the cat to hold it for him while he smoked. ;)

I'm glad you enjoyed the story. Thanks for stopping by!

I upvoted your post.

Keep steeming for a better tomorrow.
@Acknowledgement - God Bless

Posted using https://Steeming.com condenser site.

Thanks, I acknowledge and appreciate your vote! :)

hahaha! sir Blondie! what a freaking shame..now I'm a little bit depressed but I'm sure you are much more depressed. But it wasn't your fault. dog's have a mind of their own and sometimes they make bad decisions.
lol. wonderful post and writing sir!

Yep, can't stop dogs from making bad decisions. It's even worse when there's all the pressure from being a star. ;)

ahahhaa! yes sir Blondie it's a real problem, I can see that, it's why you can't blame yourself. But if if does get you depressed you might have to go to the coin shop to get your mind off of it.

The coin shop does offer a respite from such worries. There's it's only a worry of how far can I make the currency go to buy what I want.

I understand sir Blondie. And your wife is fine with whatever you buy right? You must have some kind of guidelines though, maybe a set coin budget?

She lets me decide which coins and such to get. If she happens to be at the LCS with me and comes in, then she might make a suggestion of a coin that she likes.

We talk about how much currency is prudent to spend right now. The USD is still the currency of the land and that's what people accept for groceries and goods. We still need to keep enough of that so that we can pay our bills, but I personally believe that the faith in the US Dollar will collapse soon.

yes sir blondie it has to at some point unless they can work some other kind of magic but that is so cool that she also likes coins! I love that. Mrs. J has zero interest.

Sorry, buddy. Hopefully she'll get interested soon so you can get precious metals and preserve some of that wealth. :)

Hello @themanwithnoname, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Thanks for stopping by! I'm glad you liked the story. I try to do little creative stories from time to time. Most of them aren't long, but I try to have some fun or be satirical with them. I appreciate your support. :)

Poor Chauncey. Poor, poor, poor, poor Chauncey.

You know. All we ever talk about is how fame and fortune can ruin humans but do we ever consider the heavy toll it takes on puppies? Cute, cuddly puppies?

One day they're all yips and wags and the next, they're kicking it hard with smokes and Jack Daniels and getting belly rubs.

I think we need a national campaign to alert everyone to this growing epidemic. I think Chauncey's story needs to be heard. Far and wide. Up every hill and down into every dale. From sea to shining sea.

Chaun-CEY. Chaun-CEY. Chaun-CEY. Chaun-CEY.

It's at moments like these I wish I actually had a lighter instead of just the light on my smartphone. And a crowd of people to stand in.

Sniff.

I think we need a national campaign to alert everyone to this growing epidemic.

It really is one of the most understated tragedies that is occurring right now in the world. If you want to help get the word out, that would be great!

Up every hill and down into every dale.

Well, I don't think we need to do every dale. The hills are fine, but I think maybe just a smattering of the dales would be ok.

Ha ha, Glen, I like your writing style. Maybe you can do chapter two. Or maybe a companion piece to this story. I feel like you could do it justice.

Chapter two? Companion piece? Wait. Are you saying there's a chance... a chance... that Chauncey...

I dare not say it. I daren't. (Didn't even know that was a word until I typed it).

Nah. I'm just having fun, like you. It's your story to tell. Now that I think of it, I'm wondering what happened to everyone's favorite pig. Or did I miss the big ending? Man, I need to go back and look now. :)

Daren't. I like that. Apparently my browser's spell checker (which hasn't known many words that it really should) thinks that it's a word. It's definitely one that doesn't come up a lot in my conversations. :P

You're free to write another installment if you would like. I left it open-ended intentionally. I wasn't sure where I wanted to go with it, so I didn't make it conclusive. Although I could just bring him back. Heck, I just found out recently that apparently even though Obiwan Kenobi cut Darth Maul in half in one of the Star Wars movies, they decided to bring him back. Yes, he was cut in half. Yes, his bisected body feel down a reactor shaft. However, he focused his hatred and rage and was able to stay alive because of it. Hmmmm.

I don't think I did an ending to the pig one either. Dang it! I need to commit and stick with some of these. The problem is that it takes a lot of work to put together a story that continues because you have to check for continuity and such. Also, when you're writing it as you go, you have to make sure you don't write yourself into a corner. I wouldn't want to do that. This often leads me to starting something and writing out a good opening, but then abandoning it because it was just a whim anyways. It's sad for the stories, but maybe I'll pick them up later. Right now I'm just having fun and doing what's easy on Steemit.

Honestly, there are some other potential money-making things that could be done to increase the value of my account, but I just don't feel the urge or need to pursue every scheme that could get my extra little votes. Maybe some of them would be worthwhile, but at this point I'm just letting them rest.

Then it's settled. Daren't.

That's okay. You do a great job on your own. I really do like it when you get creative. I can see why you would want to have fun, though, and not end up turning that fun into something that wasn't fun. Just because you could continue stories doesn't mean you have to.

I know all about writing myself into a corner. Fortunately, I've had fun (mostly) writing my way out of them. Not that it's my preference. With a little forethought, those things do get avoided.

Writing as you go is not that easy. Kudos to you for trying it.

I was thinking that selling my house, buying up STEEM and powering it up into an alt account, then delegating 100,000 SP to myself would be good, so i could then upvote myself, get a hefty vote still from my alt account and post 10 times a day. Maybe convince 30,000-plus Red Fish to follow and upvote. I think that would be one way of nurturing my account. :)

I'll probably hold off on another installment for now, but maybe at some point Chauncey will come back. There's also Rufus and TMWNN waiting to have their stories revived. That's to say nothing about Jake the blueberry seed who was widely panned as a viable character for a story. Ha ha.

If you could get your wife to sign off on that idea, you could have a lot of minnows nipping at your fins. They'd all be looking for a handout. It's my understanding that the markets are at highs, so it might not even be a bad idea to sell. I can't advise you there though. I probably wouldn't put it all into Steem even if you were to sell your house. Still a lot of risk.

I was thinking I could just call my alt account farmchillo and maybe go by Baejin or something, even though I can't really change the name of this account. I don't know. Just a thought.

My wife isn't really signing off on this, let alone selling our house for STEEM. I can't see myself doing it, either. Just in moments of sheer fantasy.

Now, Jake the Blueberry got a bum wrap. One, because people had problems with the name Jake, and two, because he was likely to be short lived, anyway, being a blueberry and all. However, a fearless author goes on, brings the reader to their side, and listens to them thanking them profusely for doing it. So, you want to bring back Jake. Bring him back. :)

I have been wondering about TWMNN, though. He was in some downright dire straits the last time we'd done did laid eyes on him. So, as I said before, whenever you're ready to revive him, go for it.

It would be kinda nice if you had the option to change your username, but that's not how it works. You could totally do an alt. I'm not sure how to get one for free yet, but when I find out, I'll let you know.

Yeah, I sometimes think about what I'd do if I had crazy sums of Steem. Probably just self-vote and buy myself a yacht. Just kidding! :P

I like your tenacity in writing. I still think Jake is done for though!

I want to want to bring TMWNN back. I just can't get motivated to work on it. That would take more concentrated effort than I want to do right now. Therefore, I'm just going to leave it until the desire bubbles up on its own. That would be nice of me to give you some closure though. Alternatively, if you can't wait, you can read the next snippet. Otherwise, stop reading.

"As Horse brought Blondie into town, he realized that he had run too slowly. He knew he shouldn't have eaten so much junk food, but he did. The late arrival was the entire reason for his rider's demise. Well, that and the hole where he had been shot. Horse died of a broken heart.

The plague killed everyone in the town. Even the bad guys died of starvation because they had no one to rob, so therefore no money or food. The US government eventually quarantined the whole area and spread misinformation about it being a nuclear contamination zone. No one has been there since. It's very sad. Can't write about it anymore. I'm crying too much. All the sads."

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64014.44
ETH 3064.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86