The Letter! (Fiction)

in #writing5 years ago (edited)

P_20190628_192955.jpg

It's hot, too hot to be inside. The fan I recently invested in, brings me no relieve, managing only to blow hot air on to my face.

So I grab my felt hat and soak it in water. Felt has such a wonderful ability to absorb water and hold it in, so that when you are outside in the sun, it keeps your head, real nice and cool. Which is exactly where I wanted to be. The river is a 15 minute walk from my house and there I planned to immerse myself and my canine friend in the water, to help us both get some relieve from the intense heat, that had been persistent this past month.
The walk is mostly shady, however the last stretch is fully exposed and here the sun really beats down on you, it is lucky that the cool river water is only 5 minutes away.

But when I get there, I do not feel that luck, instead I can feel the moisture being sucked out of my body. I look to Charlie, who is panting wildly at my side and I feel bad for bringing him along. But then we both see the river and that feeling of guilt disappears, as he begins to bark at me excitedly.
I quicken my pace, it is too darn hot to go any faster.
And then we are there by the river's edge, charlie goes straight it and I am less then a minute behind him as I step out of my clothes and sink into the water.

Oh the relief!
Finally I relax, my body seems to melt into the water and all stress just seeps out of me! This is exactly where I am meant to be. I immerse myself into my surroundings and let the water envelop me.
I quickly lose track of time, there is just me and the river and the constant chatter from the birds. It is so easy to zone out in here, to just lose myself in the gently flow of the river. I can hear Charlie barking in the distance, chasing some animal no doubt.

And then before I know it, he is by my side, attempting to lick my face. I push him away playfully and realize that the sun will soon drop behind the mountains. Now is a good time to head home.
I stand up, step out of the river and let the sun dry my naked body. I make a promise to myself to come back again tomorrow and then I put my clothes on, remembering to soak my hat in the river before I head off.
I feel so much more relaxed and at ease. The water really cleansed me.

The walk back home is so much more enjoyable and when I get to my home there is a letter waiting for me on the doorstep.
Not a note, but an actually letter, concealed in a purple envelop with my name on it.
I try to remember the last time I received a letter and find that I cannot.
I remember saying to myself that I would resist the age of technology, by continuing to communicate with all my friends by letter. It didn't last long, it's funny how we all get sucked up by modern technology eventually.
But right now I have a letter in my hands, in a beautiful purple envelop that appears to be made from natural paper.
I open it carefully, not wanting to rip the envelop.
Inside, is a single sheet of paper, folded over.
I can see that there are not many words written on it.
I opened it and in Bold Letters it says;

I AM WATCHING YOU!

The letter slips through my fingers and I feel the hairs rise up at the nap of my neck. I have no idea who wrote this, but right now I feel really vulnerable and really scared!



8 Pillars of TribeSteemUp



DESERT ADVENTURE.png

Sort:  

very nicely wrote. Felt is the name of the hat or its a type of hat which i do not know about maybe

thanks @vibesforlife, felt is the material you get when you work wool with water xxx

wool with water = felt , hmm new info for me, thanks for sharing :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63594.33
ETH 3039.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.10