Seven Day Positivity Challenge - Day 1 @tryskele and receiving gratitude

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

Gratitude-MelodyBeattie.jpg

Welcome to my Day 1 of the #7daypositivitychallenge. Receiving Gratitude!
First of all thank you to @holisticmom for passing the baton. Also to @wolfhart and @lynncoyle1. It's a funny little story, but to keep it short in a roundabout way they invited me too. 😁

13.png

To be very honest. This is something I have had to learn and relearn. I personally try to stay positive in general, but as some of you may know from my Mindfulness Mondays postings, I have had a bit to overcome and still deal with. For better, worse or indifferent, that is life. I am ok with that.

One of the things as I mentioned I had to relearn is how to receive gratitude. Most people say 'Thank you' and move on. I couldn't even say 'Thank You.' I would give people a puzzled look and say something like 'Oh ok' or 'Thanks, I guess' not the best way to go about it. It is looking like someday in the near future I may share my story. That could keep us going for a week or 2 LOL. Anyway, my self esteem had been destroyed. Any compliment I received always had a BUT included with it. So when it came to accepting gratitude of any sort, I waited for the other shoe to drop.

positive-954797_960_720.jpg

I have gotten better a receiving gratitude over the past few years. I still look at my husband a little cross-eyed when he tells me I'm beautiful. I have learned though to say 'Thank You' rather than 'Ok', 'You must be on drugs.' or 'If that's what makes you happy.' After some reading and a talk with my therapist. I came to the realization that I was in fact telling him, he makes bad choices and I have no concern for what he likes. When that sunk in, it broke my heart. I never had thought about it that way. He said it was ok, but honestly it wasn't. I took a step back and realized that any compliment I had gotten I pretty much blew off, even from customers at work. I made the conscious decision to change my response. 'Thank you, I am happy that I was able to help you.' 'Thank you, I am glad that I was able to make you smile.' To the hubby 'Why, thank you. You have such good taste.' Rather than just a 'Thank You' I made myself respond back to why I was thankful. It gradually became easier.

The biggest test has actually come in the past few weeks. The amount of gratitude I have received on Steemit has blown my mind. I actually sat here a week or so ago and I was crying. My husband had asked me what was wrong. I showed him some of the responses and comments I had gotten. He gave me a big hug and asked me when I was going to realize that I was worthy of such praise. 'You have such a giving and loving heart. You love to help people and here you are putting your faith in people you hardly know, to build them up to make them feel better, to give them a chance to work towards their dream.' Which of course made me cry more....I'm such a baby.

A couple of people have told me that what they really like about me is how much I give of myself (mainly since I lack the funds to do otherwise) to help build others up and I don't ask for anything in return. I promised myself when I started on Steemit I was going to be ME. Uncut and Uncensored (ok maybe a little censored, I can get a little colorful with my language and I really prefer to find more appropriate phrasing.) So ...... Thank you to all of you that have visited, commented, joked, upvoted and the like. I do truly appreciate it, and I am glad that I have been able to provide support, guidance and friendship when needed.

13.png

So in the nature of things with this challenge,

I would like to nominate @sams-world

13.png

The Rules:

This post is part of the Seven Day Gratitude Challenge started by @conradt.

The 'rules' are fairly simple, but truthfully, I would encourage all of you if you don't, to live your life as if you're entering a positivity challenge every single day. It really does take more muscle movement and energy to frown instead of smiling ;)

  • Write a post about something you have to be positive about today - this could be anything from being thankful for your current situation, someone being nice to you, being thankful for your friends and family, or even being thankful for the opportunity you have been given here on Steemit - just keep it positive :)
  • Do this for 7 days in a row if you get nominated (with my life, I won't be doing it seven days in a row, but you can be sure I will write seven posts :)
  • Mention three people who should do this on each day.
  • Tag it with #7daypositivitychallenge and include these rules at the bottom of your post
  • Include a picture of something positive (related to your story if possible)

13.png

manna banner.jpg
Want to earn universal basic income (UBI) ?

nrd_banner.png
Newbie Resteem Day

sgg_footers7.png
SGG - Steemit Greeters Guild

Asapers.gif
ASAP'ers

sig.jpg

Sort:  

I feel that way too on here, omgawwwwwsh people like my stuff? Whaaat? Why? What planet am I on?

Exactly so. I have never thought I was a writer of any sort. And now I'm dumfounded.

My crying 'they like me, they really like meeee' moment came with my first @Curie up vote about a month ago, aaand I had another with my second @curie up vote the other night.

Since my first vote I've gotten a chance to know some of the curators a bit, and look into what they do and the content they support and I'm still in shock that I somehow wiggled through. My abuse brain attributes it to luck no matter how many times my friends repeat "why are you not understanding you're good?"

Brains are funny things. (I have exactly 26 of them.)

Hehe. I don't remember which post I did, and got a @curie upvote I was so new at the time I didn't understand what it meant. I joined the discord but never took it any further.

It's worth looking into!
There's also a new curating group called the curation collective worth checking out too, here's the discord
https://discord.gg/DaWxB9

@accio I've seen that. Isn't @freedomshift involved with that? If I am thinking it's the same one.

@freedomshift isn't a name I immediately recognize

I'll definitely look into it. Thanks for the advice :)

I know exactly how you feel. I use to find it really hard to take a compliment. I went on a confidence and assertiveness course when I was in my early 20's which really helped.
I'm glad to see you took part in the challenge! I look forward to the rest of your posts. :-) xx much love xx
and yes you are worthy of the praise you have been getting :-) <3

I had been seeing it and was going to take @wolfhart's open invitation, then @lynncoyle1 said she would, but I told her to pick someone I would just use the open invitation and since you invited, I had to accept :)

Thank you so much . Luckily Im off the next 2 days so I shouldn't have any issues <3 <3

Aww well I'm glad you've decided to give it a go! Looking forward to reading your posts 💖

I'm glad that you've found a protected space (steemit) where you can start coming into your own and understanding your true value...

Thank you, I am too. I never realized that such a community existed. With FB I got to the point, I would just post cat pictures and such, because no matter what I put up someone always got butt hurt. Sharing seems to help others, so it's a win-win.

WTG
baby steps

He gave me a big hug and asked me when I was going to realize that I was worthy of such praise.

That's an understatement

Thanks :) That means a coming from you.

Spreading the love dear xx

Thank you. You keep putting up those awesome quotes..it helps :)

haha you can only dodge the positivity bullet for so long! So glad you grabbed the baton and ran with it...this is apparently a day of metaphors for me:)

He gave me a big hug and asked me when I was going to realize that I was worthy of such praise.

I love him too :) I read through the comments and found it interesting that @wolfhart grabbed that same quote too.

You deserve everything and then some. I did one of my "days" on this too, and was surprised at how it seemed to hit a similar nerve for so many. I wonder why that is?

EDIT: and btw, I have a potty mouth as well haha :)

spammer oooohhh no that's plagiarism wwaaaahahahaha maybe we just think alike or , or or you are starting to develop a superior mind like mine from association . nnaaaa it's a coincident .
How can one miss such a statement with all its truth and love 🤜🤛 (fist bump)

hahahahaha the 2 of you always put such a smile on my face :D I think she's has a superior mind, she's waiting for the right moment. Women do that sort of thing.

ooohhh you woman stick together . woman power or something .
You do know that men have egos that have to be feed and feed often . If not we would have a lot of men laying around all depressed . I'm talking way more then the couch potatoes that we have now

Well...we know men have egos. Which is why we toy with them so LOL

fist bump right back atcha @wolfhart ...weirdo 😎

I do try and have some fun with this . otherwise it would be to much like work . 🤠

hahahaha, I knew we're kindred spirits!! Someday there just might be the big F bomb post. Who knows. I might even do it just to be silly :P

I think we've all gotten the you're good..BUT everything has a catch or some negative has to be thrown in there to make you feel lesser. I know work is a BIG source of that, because OMG if you should perform so well yo deserve a raise. We're just going to soften the blow by adding some fake sugar to the front.

haha @tryskele, the f-bomb post will come from you first I think 😎

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 69965.85
ETH 3540.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71