ON WRITING AND FIGHTING MOSQUITOES: WINNING WARS

in #writing6 years ago

So few minutes ago, I killed a mosquito in the darkness. It buzzed around my right ear and I just struck and I heard silence. I put on the torch and saw the smear of my blood, dark red on the pillow case. The tiny sucker had my blood in it. I felt enraged and went on a killing spree. I have killed three so far. I am a mosquito killer.


mosquitoe-1548975_1280.jpg
photo by 41330 on pixabay


I slept early today, kinda. I did a short post on depression and tried to do a bit of trading on binance but etherum and bitcoin are in a dump right now. I just left my steem where they were with the hope of trying again at midnight.

It was great day to work, yesterday. I have finally started something that may be a short story or a novel, who knows. I managed to write 2400+ words yesterday. It was amazing the way my thoughts just flew from one scene to the next, one action to the next.

As I write this, I do not know where the story is headed. I am yet to identify the protagonist and the antagonist. I don't know if that is a bad thing. People tend to like to get a clear picture of who is what as soon as possible. I hope the story doesn't become too dreary.

I worry too about finishing the project. I love that word, project. It makes it seem as if I was doing something grand. Anyhow I have abandoned many projects before. I have several half written pieces in my hard drive that would never see the light of day and it saddens me to think of the time spent crafting them to that point.

I consider myself to be a lazy writer. That is why I write more poetry than prose. Prose takes more out of me and after a while, I begin to feel drained, used. It is as if the muse that inspires my prose rides me like a horse on a horse race, running for no particular reason, not even for the joy of running.

I get so, I begin to hate my creation and if it were on a piece of paper, I'd have squeezed the pieces or shredded them and tossed them away. Thankfully, I find it difficult to delete anything that I had written on Microsoft word.


I have plans to travel to spend time with a friend at his place in Sapele. I don't want to be in a place for too long not until I get a job again. I think I need a steady source of income. I have been off the rat race for too long. Lol

I have killed not been able to kill another mosquito since those three fell to my sword and i have several swollen spots on my body to attest to the savagery of this war. One is presently buzzing about, possibly thinking she will change the tide of the war but I still some surprises up my sleeve.

It didn't rain yesterday, so i did a little bit of washing. It was surprising the way the sun shone. It had been raining for days here in Benin City. In fact on Tuesday, the rain trapped me along airport road and I had to walk down a great distance before I could get a taxi to take me home.

I wish it would not rain today too but I hear the sound of a drizzle and it seems the gods are not listening to my prayers today. Oh well, what can I do? We can't win them all now, can we?

Well let me see if I can make head or tail of the crypto market today. See you later. Peace.


©warpedpoetic, 2018.

Sort:  

Maybe the little buggers were trying to suck out all of your creative juices. Kind of like muse vampire mosquitos. I say whack a few more while you are at it.
Wishing you much luck with the trades.

That is a possibility I have not considered. 😂. The trade has been poor so far. I will stick to writing crappy stories for the time being.

Thanks for stopping by

I love when that state of flown happens when you just fly through writing. It’s like a highly trained person doing their job without thinking , a 20 year butcher cutting meat. They are all in a state of flow. “Doing grand” . Are you from or lived in Ireland. It’s their national saying. I’m on holidays at the moment and I’m grand!

Not at all, I am a Nigerian who reads too much. Lol. Yeah there's nothing like that state of flow. You just go on and on and it keeps pouring out nonstop. It is the best.

I think what hinders me the most is my inbuilt auto-correct. I want to edit every line as I go and soon I get caught in writing and forget that I need to be writing and then editing becomes boring, I lose steam and badabing I am done.

Yesterday, I ignored the errors and just went on writing and it worked. So I am going to ignore all the errors and just write until I am done with the mess then we will see.

Thanks for stopping by and for the follow. Appreciate my friend.

Hey man. If there is a prize for world's laziest writer then I should be winning that easily. I'm such anally writer. I still to poetry cause it comes without stress. just stringing out thoughts to make sense. I always abandon my writing projects 5% into it. Hopefully that should change soon.
One more thing buddy. You must finish this novel even though you have no idea where it is going right now.
I kid you not. It is going to be awesome.

Yeah, that's the destination.

Dante is here no fear

Cheers

#bigwaves

I'll try my best bro. I don't even know ignition is going to be a novel yet. It is like a foetus, 2 days old. Can't tell which sex it's going to be.

Thanks for stopping by bro @dante31. It would seem poets are lazy. Prose is too much work joor

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! We encourage and support quality contents and projects from the West African region.
Do you have a suggestion, concern or want to appear as a guest author on WAfrica, join our discord server and discuss with a member of our curation team.
Don't forget to join us every Sunday by 20:30GMT for our Sunday WAFRO party on our discord channel. Thank you.

Hi @warpedpoetic!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.464 which ranks you at #6475 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 8 places in the last three days (old rank 6483).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 324 contributions, your post is ranked at #139.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to improve on your user engagement! The more interesting interaction in the comments of your post, the better!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63458.69
ETH 3084.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99