1 Million Dollar Offer - Seven Days to Accept or Turn Down - What Will You Do

in #writing6 years ago

money-1015277__340.jpg

I ask this question because it happened to me . I was handed a check for 1 million when I was 19 years old . I was given a list of 14 names with phone numbers that would help me in whatever business I wanted to open . The terms were

That I would allow the people on the list to be my mentors .
I would not have to pay back the loan for two years
Interest free for the 1st 2 yrs then 3 1/2 % until loan was paid off .
The loan would be backed by the government in case of default
One week to decide to deposit the check (accept terms) or return the check with all information given .

What an opportunity you might say . holy shit .
I called three of the names on the list . They were some of the biggest CEOs of companies on the planet . I only spoke with their representatives who were very familiar with who I was . That I would only speak with him until a later date when I would meet the mentor TBD .

Over the next three days I made inquiries and found out that the resources from them that I could use was incredible . Free office space , warehouse space and much more .

The question that nag the hell out of me was why ! What did I do or what will I have to do to deserve this .

That friday I went into the skyscraper in NYC that held the office to return the check and package . I waited about an hour when two men came out . One older and very distinguished . the second man asked if there was a problem and I just simply stated my thanks and apologies . The older man was definitely in charge as the other looked for cues from him . When the older man turned and started walking the conversation ended and the other followed . I stood and watched as they walked away . The older man glanced back and saw me still standing there . He then turned back and walked toward me which totally confused the other man .

He ask me why I turned down such an opportunist offer . I stated I did not know why such an offer would be made . He said "motive ahhh " a big smile came across his face as he stretched out his hand to shake mine . He walked me to the elevator putting his hand on my shoulder as a father would a son . Shook my hand again stating a limo would take me home .

To this day I cannot say if I made the right decision . All I can say is that I made a decision that change the course of my life or did it

It's easy to say what one would do now compared to when we were young and the knowledge base that we had at that time . What you you have done .

Sort:  

Umm....I'd have to take the money and run with one of my ideas. No way I'd pass up the opportunity to launch a business with financial backing and more important the wisdom of those who have made it before me. Actually you could keep the cash, the access to the CEO's is way more important to success then anything IMO.

People think money makes more money, but if that was true lottery winners would all become insanely rich over time. The reality is most end up dead broke pissing away all of their winnings. Knowledge really is power and those who have managed to do what you want to achieve in life are people you want to surround yourself with.

@thedarkhorse The money had no value to them . My 1st meeting I was to bring them a proposal and the amount it would take . $40 K was my request . I was handed a check for 250 k and I laugh . the woman left the room and came back with a check for 750 k . I said you don't understand . and she left again coming back with the 1 million check .
They offered all kinds of resources . free ! LOL talk about whales
Today I would take it and it would work out . 19 years old and my family was a hinder .
5 years ago I did use one of their sailboat for two weeks and sail the east coast

I would have accepted the offer. Life seldom gives us an opportunity to do something incredible.

@akdx usually only once if your lucky

Good God.... ion know but even at 19 from where am from you almost dont make such decisions . You just wake up and your parents be like "get up sleepy head you gon be late for work" then you begin asking whats going on here .....😂😂. For me i think i second @janton. I believe some strings might have been pulled maybe not visible to you or never noticed or what people would call God's favours. But again is it HIS favours if there is a hidden motive.
If i was to take a decision then of which am sure would be highly influenced by my family and people around me . I guess you know already it will be a YES of which i believe i would at least get some time to figure everything out or an expert to put me through but guess no one would ever know the cost as it all tooooo good an offer to say NO. Thanks for sharing @wolfhart i have taken some berries home from this "its always deeper than the surface". Jah bless ..keep it skianking (am in the wind)

@kamiikazer
at 19 I already spent 3 years with an Airborne unit and taking a month or two to spend with my wife and child before going back .
I was in a whole different world with them . One I was unfamiliar with . I don't think I was in a position to make that commitment . but we will never know . LOL

Wow now i get the whole view i would say , it was pretty difficult i guess . I know certainly i would have done same . Like i said earlier family influences everything at the giving time getting involved with such a huge and demanding commitment might have been a disaster. Which leads me to a question , these days how many can be able to let such slide?? None that i know of ....jah bless (am in the wind)

@kamiikazer

these days how many can be able to let such slide??

How many these days at 19 have a work history of three years study work . How about just a job . How many can even make a commitment that can be relied on . Not to many I suspect

This days commitment lacks most times people desire but within there is no fire . No zeal to conquer and make a difference i guess thats what it is. Like you said not much....

what a fascinating account @wolfhart!
Did you ever find out why this was offered to you, someone you knew had to be connected to them.
And did you ever find out what kind of people they were and what they were involved in?
It sounds like an evil conspiracy and they might have owned your butt from then on.
I was lost at that age, I probably would have taken the deal to be mentored by successful people.
also..@aloha-creations is the cc companies worst nightmare and we just need to find @tryskele an investor who will lend him a million bucks so tryskele can become a millionaire too!
yes sir great post!

@janton LOL
no I never did . but they were connected to multinational companies . Talk about big fish . Ithink it had to do with my military connection . I just finished my 1st tour and deciding whether to reenlist

lol so it may have been totally legit, a group helping out Veterans!
possibly. any regrets about not taking them up on their offer?

@janton I can't say that they were helping out Vets . I can say that they wanted their experience and would pay for it . I really don't know and don't think about it that much . I read something earlier today and brought it up for a point . I have no regrets . not proud of everything but no regrets

very good sir thank you.
and thank you for all the work you do on here helping others.

Wow! That is some story! I guess you never found out why you were chosen for such an offer, or what their "motivations" were?

Whenever someone is "overly" kind in an offer, I try to distinuish what their intentions are or motivations behind it all. If you figure out motivation, you figure out what's in it for them, and more of what's expected of you.

Truthfully, I don't know what I would have done. My younger self was kind a little naive, so she would have reacted much differently than me now. She wouldn't have considered 'motivation' because she believed in the goodness of other. I still do, but not so glassy eyed; I can now see people for who they are pretty quickly. With age comes wisdom, right?!

Such a cool story. Do you ever kick yourself or during tough times over the years, wonder "what if" ?

@lynncoyle1 At that age I had a lot of experience with the evil of people of the world .
No . I made the right decision . Nothing is free .
the what if could drive you crazy . so no , I don't think that way anyhow . Things are the way they are and you can't go back and change any of it . You can learn from it but that's it .

Yep, you're right. The "what if's" will drive you crazy.

Nothing like the military life to show you life's evils I guess.

That's an interesting proposition. When I was younger I definitely would have said no, mainly due to not having the knowledge of what to do or how. At this point and knowing what I do know. I would probably take the chance. It sounds crazy...but I would buy the company I work for, improve the fleet, offices and mechanics. I know the business currently make well over 2 mil a year if a few things were fixed, it could easily be doubled then branched out. I would more than likely have the loan paid back within 2 yrs. (Yes, I have thought about this part of it as to what it would take) Even if I was directed into something different what I would be willing to be coached by people of that caliber .

@tryskele With what I know now I would take it under the same terms .

Your balance is below $0.028. @dustsweeper is now disabled for your account until you transfer new funds.

Wow, that is an unbelievable story! I'm sure you made the right choice. Although things might have been above board, it is something that sounds too good to be true. There is always a catch, and rarely a shortcut....

@bengy I believe it was above board . But then again I got to speak with the personal limo driver of the older man on the way home . 😀

19 year old me was given a choice of whether I wanted to be an officer in the Navy with college payed for and a starting officer's salary or be boots on the ground with the Marines. I chose to be boots on the ground with the Marines and 15 years later with a brain injury and PTSD and now a divorce I wonder what would have happened had I chosen the alternate route. Very compelling story, btw REALLY compelling. Like seriously, there's got to be more to this story, I want to know

@corpsvalues
That was the skin and bones of it
I try and learn from the past and never second guess
Thanks for you service brother even though you were a marine 👍

@wolfhart, I think you intuitively knew they would've owned you - hook, line and sinker... in some way, shape or form, with no hope of exit!

@whitelite It was definitely a life changer . Good ,bad who knows
The older man's reaction was a confirmation . I think

Life goes on my friend, and you sleep well at night...

I dont think i would want a loan that size on my shoulders, i would have done the same and returned it. I work hard for what i have and never borrow money that i dont have there for i never pay interest 😂 credit card companies hate me lol.

@aloha-creations There was a hidden cost to the loan . I don't know what it was

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64733.60
ETH 3170.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16