SMOKE or EDIBLES - A Pothead’s Lament

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

Even with all the research about how Marijuana smoke isn’t bad for you, it’s hard to ignore that hot smoke going into your lungs via your throat is good for you. And thus out of necessity or personal preference, various other ways to ingest pot have come about. You can drop it in your tea, rub it on your belly, or spritz it in your eyes, but the biggest alternative has to be edibles. That said, they can be VERY tricky. Knowing exactly what dose to take is hard, but that only helps you if the preparer is consistent. You can be wildly off, and be SUPER stoned for what seems like days. Smokeables or “flowers” are usually much easier to regulate.

So what do you prefer? Smoke it if you got it? Or chow down and get down?


@writesbackwards is a group of friends who love to write about life, sports, comedy, tech and other fun stuff!

Please, give us a follow! Re-steem this post for your friends! And, join us in promoting quality content on Steemit!

Thank you for your support.

Sort:  

It is wonderful having so many options on how to consume cannabis. I prefer to vape flower daily and consume edibles when vaping isn't appropriate. A flight or a long movie can be an excellent occasion for edibles. You are totally right about the inconsistency of the strength of edibles. This is especially an issue for homemade edibles. Fortunately legalization is helping with this matter. I know the edible industry in Colorado is extremely regulated and consistent strength is one of the things they focus on. They also require the individual pieces to be no stronger than 100mg. So no longer will you eat a little piece of chocolate only to have your friend tell you that you just ate 400mg! 😂

there is always a good and the bad side of it only thing if bad> good reject it if Good> bad accept it

I smoked fairly heavily for over a decade. I stopped before going into the military, and didn't smoke again for about 10 years. When I finally started smoking again, I couldn't handle it like I once did. The way it effected me had completely changed. While it once actually gave me energy and motivation to do things, it now just lays my ass out. It still has the same mental effects (creativity, laughter, etc...), but my body just can't take it like it once did. I sometimes wonder if edibles might be something that would bring back the old sensation, but I have yet to try them.

Look into vapes for flower. You can heat it to different temperatures for different kind of highs. Lower temps = Energy/Creativity. Higher Temps = Stoned AF. Of course it also depends on the strain, but the vape helps you regulate what kind of buzz you want.

Try smaller doses and keep a journal. Write what each specific strain is needed and your reaction. Start small with vaporizer or edibles for best control. And it can't hurt you!

It had the same affect on me when I quit but I like it because now I can conserve. The smallest amount will do the trick 😀

Different strains can have different effects. Sounds like you need something heavy on the Sativa side. Also CBD oil could provide the benefits you are looking for. :)

I prefer to smoke but I also have good experience with edibles. It's frustrating that it is still illegal in most parts of the world. I often think how many new jobs and tax income it would generate if it would be legal.

"

Move to Canada! Legal for recreational use Country wide this fall :)

Congratulations @writesbackwards, this post is the most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a Superuser account holder (accounts that hold between 1 and 10 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by Superuser account holders during this period was 1357 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $7153.72. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

Hey @writebackwards! I actually quit smoking pot about 3 months ago. I had been a regular user for 20 years and I found it got to the point where I just became lazy after using it.
I always smoked the plant but there were a few times that I did eat some brownies and got baked beyond belief. I always preferred to relax and be creative when I smoked but the edibles made that next to impossible as I found my self just trying to 'hang on'.

Always wondering how people can't get lazy after using marijuana. But there seem to be exeptions. Look at the inspiring McKenna. How on earth he managed to be so creative over long periods of his life, as he hardly spend a day whithout it.

Unfortunately it is still illegal in my country. Can only hope that things will changes in the near future and people will understand the real benefits of Marijuana :)

Following and you can change the world. Just say nature isn't a crime. Get a friend. Go advocate and join in the revolution to free a plant. Free the flower!

Everything is about money for them. They want to sell us cigarettes and alcohol instead of free plants.

Yep tax people into the ground and make so much you get to need more...

Sadly, most people know the benefits. It's illegal because prohibition is big business, provides talking points for fear mongering, erodes civil and human rights with little public resistance or outcry, and generally, empowers the state at the expense of disempowering the citizenry.

Is it just me or is there some critical thinking error statements in this piece? like how "it's hard to ignore that hot smoke going into your lungs via your throat is good for you."

Even though its a needed topic of discussion and the information is relevant, i find it quite interesting that a post with 2 fundamental errors in the 1st sentence still get so many votes. The 1st being the statement that "even with all the research about how marijuana smoke isn't bad for you" is a gross misinterpretation or understatement as a conclusion of the scientific findings of the topic of marijuana smoking and/or use in general. I shall have to do a similar article.. i've also been considering switching over to ingesting of my herbs as oppose to smoking it due to the high tar content and consequently harshly affecting the smoker who burns the plant matter and inhales the smoke directly (i.e. spliffs or bongs) where as smoking vaporized smoke would contain less harmful volatile organic compounds (VOC's) and heavy plant matter like tar etc.

Please comment on what my article should be focused for some guidance i am newly on steemit. awesome interface pleasure to be part of it.

It is just safe to light it up and smoke it. Eating an edible for a first timer is dangerous because the concentration tends to be higher.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64647.93
ETH 3160.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.09