Unzipped #1 – Worn Out Words

in #writing5 years ago

After another stretch of silence – for reasons unknown – I've begun writing again; pouring my soul's anguish onto both physical and online spaces.

While I don't always feel called to publish these decidedly personal missives, this one is asking to be shared.

This is the unguarded truth of my depression – the everyday reality of it.

I'm feeling just bold enough to let it be heard.


macroverse4.jpg


Written yesterday, 12 February 2019:

I'm running out of metaphors – reaching for ever more accurate ways to describe the same old afflictions; terribly worn out stories of pain and struggle.

I've exhausted every simile...over-used and regurgitated each and every word. The one that rests at the center of each is simply...'sad'. Yet that's too small a term for a thing so central and significant – too...gentle and vague to house the breadth of my plaintive emotions.

Perhaps I've run out of words – maybe I've lost the sensitivity for finding new ones. Or... maybe my reach is diminished, shrunken and tired, lacking the will to stretch beyond all these spent expressions.


Same old sorrow – same old despondence – only...it feels less and less like a 'place' I often return to and more and more like the space in which I always reside.

This feeling of 'stuckness' is nothing new, but my increasing resignation to it IS. Whatever thread I retain of 'self-preservation' is worn so thin it threatens to snap any second.

Fighting feels pointless, anyhow.

Who I am feels rather inescapable. I cannot banish a darkness that is so much a part of me.

And so....increasingly – I seem to be settling deeper into it – letting it draw me ever further in – observing a dimming of light, as though I'm slowly....closing.....my.......eyes.


I'm as exhausted as ever. More than, really.

I have to talk myself through every task, both menial and important. I feel strangely proud when I actually make a proper meal – when I go to sleep and wake up at a decent hour...when I manage to feed myself and shower before noon.

I notice my pride and recoil in unobserved embarrassment; ashamed to witness my seemingly ceaseless adolescence – as though I'm still a naive teenager who doesn't yet know how to properly care for herself – like the most basic of tasks deserves some kind of recognition or 'pat-on-the-back' in acknowledgment of my 'good adulting'.

Even this – taking time to sit and write – seemed like a good idea, yet here I am...dragging myself through it, like a 'sad' rag-doll with limp, lifeless arms, half-heartedly pressing the requisite keys.

My mind feels slow and 'foggy'; as though my head is stuffed with cotton, muffling the sound of my own voice.

Cotton...filling the space where thoughts should be. And sand...heavy and damp...resting at the base of my skull – lining the edges of my eyelids – settling in my fingertips...sinking into the soles of my feet – making them hard to lift.

I feel so...tattered – so...worn out and broken – so....sadly....beyond repair.


It doesn't matter how many times I try to mend my repeated unraveling – always.... ALWAYS...life finds my vulnerabilities and undoes my delicate darning, leaving me weaker and weaker each time, mocking my futile attempts at becoming 'whole'.

Perhaps saddest of all; just as surely as life tugs at those fragile threads, I obsessively pull at them from the inside – worrying them with anxious fingers – finding the knots that secure each stitch; those tiny balls of strength, determined to hold me together – running fingernails beneath their edges and slowly....stubbornly...loosening their life-preserving grip.

I participate in my own subversion, then curse myself and the universe while trying to revive and restore – wielding both weapon and remedy – forever caught in the crossfire between that diminishing part of me that clings still to LIFE, and a prevailing acquiescence; a silent sort of defeat...the brow-beaten, broken-down self who's lost the will to fight.


It feels as though my systems are shutting down – like...my defeated self is making her way through and throwing switches, without any fanfare or drama – just a quiet, methodical 'turning off' of life-supporting 'programs'.

And that once stubbornly determined survivor – her resilience is faltering...not quite gone entirely, but becoming so faint I can scarcely perceive it.

Sometimes, however....sometimes I can almost hear her.

Sometimes, she tries to turn my head – to draw me away from the destructive autopilot and its self-sabotaging impulses.

Sometimes she gently whispers – in just the right tone...at just the right volume – softly reminding and suggesting – nudging me to pick up my guitar...or pen and paper – quietly encouraging me to open my mouth and let the pain out.

Sometimes, I remember how to listen.

I believe my ultimate survival rests in that remembering. Perhaps it's rare and not so easily come-by, but – as long as those tiny sparks occasionally flicker – I have to believe some trace of hope remains.

However faint and feeble...there's still the tiniest glimmer of light. Somewhere in there; the muted murmur of a tender rag-doll's heart keeps a certain, unmistakable rhythm – steady beating and.....ALIVE.


PDXspring1612.jpg


raindrop2019.jpg

Sort:  

I am new to #fambalan. And found out this at the castle. This is soooo beautifully written. Thank you for being so true, pure and honest. Here, I am want to send you hugs and love.

I'm always inspired when you are brave enough to be this vulnerable, it reminds me of "how me met" <3

Posted using Partiko Android

Love you, my Meno. <3 Thanks for bein' there – through all of it. xo

There is ALWAYS Hope. Never, ever, please, forget that.

Many, many HUGS!!!!!!

The dark hole is always alive but we CAN make it out for a while. Resist its call because you are never alone. Know that always.

Love you, Snooks — thank you for the reminders. 😘 💜 xo

I'm so sorry that this is your (I hope) current existence, but keep listening to that girl's voice...the survivor. She's stronger than you might realize. Sending big hugs your way ❤️

It's alright, dear – I'm pullin' through; it might be a slog, but...I'm makin' my way.

I wish I could say this were a temporary thing, however – part of why I feel inclined to share more of these uncomfortably candid snapshots is to hopefully convey something of the 'everyday' nature of depression.

Aside from the glaring stigmas around it, I think people mistakenly believe it's a phase – that those who suffer from it will recover, just as one does from the flu or a broken limb. Not to be fatalistic, but – at least in my case – on the contrary; this affliction is pervasive and just as serious/life-threatening as a terminal, physical illness. Similarly, achieving some level of 'remission' requires unfaltering diligence and dedicated attention.

For me, part of that involves naming what ails me, identifying the abscessed wounds and figuring out how best to treat the infection. This is me, offering a front-row view of what that looks like. It may not be pretty, but it's fuckin' real.

Thanks for the hugs. <3 xo

There really is such stigma attached to mental illness of any kind; always such a puzzle for me. Why not treat it like any other illness and simply talk openly about it?! My son suffers from anxiety and depression; trust me, I heard more than once how he should just get over it... because that's what people would say to someone suffering from cancer. Ugh!

Thanks for your brutal honesty. So, I realize you "have" it, but are there days, weeks better than others? When you can count on some good days especially when you're having a really shitty one?

2916300da0dda1fe8c214b1cde52a3ec.gif

Grateful for your bear-hugs, Clayboyn. <3

Beautiful soul,
wonderfully written
and so very heartfelt

thank you for sharing this

I don't know how we made it through the last time though I heard she had acquired a distant but unknown friend. Usually it was I who would be standing there looking at her emotional-less body laying there on the ground. I don't know how many times I told her you are going to regret this but she never listened. The last time it wasn't a matter of picking her up and taking her away for a rest, she was totally unconscious and there'd be no place to hide. I held her in my arms and I ran and I ran.
One year, two years, three years and not so much as a blink of an eye. Four years, five years I finally collapsed, one knee on the ground with the other half bent I laid her on the ground, this was the end I had no strength left. As I went to say good bye she opened her eyes, gently lifting her arms and she says I got this. I collapse atop of her while she sat cradling me in her arms. I don't know who that voice was that nourished her through her harm, I don't think she knows but I will be forever grateful. We've healed through a good number of cherished memories we wouldn't have otherwise lived to see those events. She acknowledges the limits of her fragility as I to my own strength. We take each day battling the voices of depression, trying to find the common ground of a compromise. Your post sends tears steaming for I realize I am not alone, you are a mirror, a replica of my inner soul. Thank you so much it truly does help when you realize you are "really" not alone.

Good life article. Written from the heart, and very touching and truthful. It is always nice to hear strong and beautiful people. Everything will be fine. Thanks you. Happy holidays and lots of laughter

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi @zipporah!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.373 which ranks you at #684 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 368 contributions, your post is ranked at #60.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

@zipporah, one of your Steem friend wish you an Happy Valentine's day and asked me to give you a new badge!

To find out who wanted you to receive this special gift, click here!

Click here to view your Board

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Valentine challenge - Love is in the air!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 63418.73
ETH 3094.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89