Writing Prompts (Week 1) - The Angelic Children

in #writingprompt5 years ago (edited)

I wanted it to end...
This hell, this nightmare...

I wanted all I saw before me to simply cease to be. I wanted badly to wake from this terrible dream...

But deep down inside I knew...
I knew that it.. he.. had only just begun...

church-750251_1920.jpg
Pixabay
The Angelic Children...

It had started as a relatively simple case of a missing child. Not the first time a hyper active kid would lose his way in the local park was the collective thought we held. Until it was not.

Jack was never found, he never stumbled out of a forgotten structure, nor was he chanced upon by one of the too many volunteers who searched the streets and mini woodlands that surrounded our little town. Then exactly one year later, Charlie also disappeared...

Then Lily, then pretty Helen, and cranky Josh. Tony the hugger, and Peter with the loveable smile... And one more, and one more, and always one more... Every single year...

It became a dark cloud which hung over all of us. Many left, they never returned. For those of us who stayed, we found it hard distinguishing between those missing and those who left...

But Father Augustine was our opium... He was like a breath of fresh air, a timely God sent.

He stepped in with comfort, just when we needed it the most. He calmed our fears, oh how he spoke of the holy ghost..

But what truly brought the light back in our lives, what really made us recall that forgotten warmth of a friendly smile.. It was that monument which he made us build with each confirmed child lost, that symbol of rest and peace in the midst of turbulence.. dedicated to all those who were missing...

We christened it The Pillars of The Angelic Children...

And then for a while all had seemed and felt okay...

For a while...

Until I had fatefully, yet unexpectedly walked into one truly strange dinner...

It was maybe a word of advice I had sought, or perhaps just a soothing little prayer. I truly cannot remember now, it seems so far away..

I only know I walked into the Cathedral, and found it empty. And somehow I had found my way to the Priest's Chambers, no priest in sight, but a slightly opened door beckoned in front of me...

Down the stairs I had gone, down to the Church basement. And here, oh here I had felt my very being paralyse with each piece of dead bone...

Literally...

They were everywhere.. on the floor, on the tables, on the racks... I didn't need a second look, these were human bones, children's bones...

Comprehension fled, my thoughts struggled fruitlessly, and in that few tense yet strangely still moments, the silence was deafening...

Then the door up the stairs creaked, and somehow I had sprung alive...

.......................∆.........................

Disaster calls...
Like the mild ripples of a tropical river, approaching the turbulence of a water fall...
In slow, peaceful, immense orbits...

.......................∆.........................

Every breath I took was carefully measured, every blink calculated. I stood still in that old, dusty, closet. I stood there and willed all of me to die. Because somehow, my life had become dependent on it.

But as through a tiny little hole I watched, something in me did truly die...

He was six, he'd only been missing a few months, and we'd just finished his pillar a couple days back.

I watched as he was cut, I froze as he was cooked.. the aroma a mixture of both beef and incense. I watched as Father Augustine, oh but he was no Father at all. I watched as he stirred the contents of that pot and put a little taste to his lips.

Too late, I gasped...

He paused in his cooking, and he stared straight at me. I became inanimate, I didn't even inhale. Yet somehow it seemed he could almost see through the wooden doors of the closet.

Then he started walking towards me, the stirring spoon still in his hand. I knew he wasn't young and strong, but then neither was I. He had a spoon in hand, and I had my heart. He ate humans.. I, only a simple woman...

He took measured steps, and with each I felt the insides of his pot get closer. My heart left my hands to my mouth. He was now only a step away...

With his free hand he reached for the closet handle. My screams struggled to find a way past the heart stuck in my throat...

All I could think of was the words of one of the mothers of the missing...

"Reasons to live; but give me reasons to die..."

I blacked out...

.......................∆.........................

Find and receive what cheer you may..
The night is long which never finds the day...
--William Shakespeare

THE END

.......................∆.........................

#SladenSpeaks


Written for @themarkymark's Writing Prompt Contest


BTYQgzQFnem.jpg

Sort:  

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! We encourage and support quality contents and projects from the West African region.
Do you have a suggestion, concern or want to appear as a guest author on WAfrica, join our discord server and discuss with a member of our curation team.
Don't forget to join us every Sunday by 20:30GMT for our Sunday WAFRO party on our discord channel. Thank you.

oh my word! What a horror! Wow!

You are a master at spinning a story...my heart is racing...lol

#Bigwaves

I'm honored milady...

Thanks 😊

Hi seesladen,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

I gotta say I have a love-hate relationship with your endings. I love how you leave the ending open but I hate it too cause you leave me wanting more! hahaha. The story is awesome. Kept me at the edge of my seat for a while, way better than anything you watch at the movies. Great stuff!!!!

Oh thanks so much for the kind words...
I love how you hate but love that you want more, lol... I want you to want more, and more, and always more...

You rock!

What a horror! Who would ever think that one who seemed to be your refuge is the enemy after all? That actually makes me have my reservations when people are too good to be true to me. They have motives!

I don't know how to feel about the ending of the story but one thing I noted for sure: you are very creative to have ended it that way and make your readers want for more. Very good story writing you have there!

I love that you enjoyed it. Thanks for the kind words.

You're welcome. 😊

@seesladen Absolutely chilling. Nailed the tension bit!

Thanks good sir.

Creepy Christmas story, very touching and sad first part, that might happen in any place, tragedy that repeatedly happening every year and the second half that reveals the mystery of the story and that moment when it is clear who is behind that everything that made me feel sick. Of course knowing that the main character who is telling a story also now trapped and most probably will lose his life. Exciting story and only we can hope that we do not have such Priest in our neighbourhood.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by seesladen from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

This post has been voted on from MSP3K courtesy of @isaria from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ).

Bots Information:

Join the P.A.L. Discord | Check out MSPSteem | Listen to MSP-Waves

This post has been voted on from MSP3K courtesy of @isaria from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ).

Bots Information:

Join the P.A.L. Discord | Check out MSPSteem | Listen to MSP-Waves

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63157.91
ETH 3096.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91