Writing Prompts (Week 1) - Free Fall.

in #writingprompt5 years ago (edited)

80sv993lUKI_Raw_mirror.png

I could feel it in my bones. Like a deep dive into the ocean, the pressure of the situation engulfed me. My hands and feet were stiff, as if every cell in my body was flexing. I closed my eyes for a minute. I tried to take a deep breath but I found it suffocating.

Am I really doing this? I felt like a volcano on the edge of eruption. Instead of magma, its my blood. Instead of ash and earth, its my cells and thoughts.

I looked down and thought about everything that brought me to this moment. All my failures, all my setbacks, my frustrations and my apathy. I thought about all the should haves, all the regrets, all the awfulizings. Why wasn't I perfect? Why was I such a let down? What is wrong with me? What happened?

Will this really solve my problems?

In between these thoughts I did have glimmers of the good times. Friends, loves, family. The stuff that is supposed to matter, but in this moment, right now, as I inched up to the edge, they were simply past imaginings of a life I didn't want anymore. I cannot go back to my old life.

I could feel my whole body suspended in this strain, my body a beast wondering about my decisions. If it could speak it would only scream. I knew I ultimately wanted this. I felt proud in a sense, for the first time in my life. My breaths became shallower and shallower, the stress of the situation hitting its peak. Like the moment before a star explodes into a supernova.

I opened my eyes and...

I jumped.

As I fell at the speed of gravity you would think I would be completely terrified, but the weirdest thing happened. All my tension melted away. I felt a comforting peace of mind and a sense of tranquility I have never experienced in my life. As I fell like a stone, I felt like a feather. All my worries were finally gone.

I guess when you make peace with death, all the neuroticisms of modern life don't really stack up. The straining belief systems were all gone. All I could feel was the air on my face, my heart in my throat and a liberation in my soul.

I did it. I really did this.

There was only one thing left to do...

I pulled the cord of my parachute and I gently glided down into my new life.

Sort:  

I find the feeling of tension you portray in this situation very relatable. The build up and then release of tension in the rush down feels like a great balance. And I can imagine the sudden snap of tension in the parachute cords and then subsequent release again after he reaches ground, great use of embodying both emotional and physical aspects of the prompt.
Great piece of writing ♡

This post has been selected for curation by @sunravelme. It has been upvoted and will be featured in this week's Working Title post. It will also be considered for the official @minnowsupport curation post and if selected will be resteemed from the main account. Feel free to join us on Discord!

Oooh! I like the ending, especially. :)

Hi! We are @steem-ua. We upvoted you! Why? Because we noticed that you published some pretty cool posts, such as this one!
We like to support you, to help you grow on Steem. Would you like to know more about how things work on Steem(it)? Then feel free to join our steem-ua Discord Server.
Once you have joined our steem-ua Discord Server, please talk to people you see in there that have the UA Scout role. Tell them you have just joined, and like some help on how to make it big on Steemit. And they will help you!
Good luck!
Kind regards, @steem-ua
PS: Discord is a Chat Server Program, you can sign up there for free, and meet and talk to a lot of people on Steemit!

@soundwavesphoton Love the twist of hope ((:

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66095.77
ETH 3184.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.12