Yankee Stadium, the Country Mouse Visits the Big Apple!

in #yankees5 years ago

I have been a NY Yankee fan my entire life, and it was about time I went to the new Yankee stadium which opened in 2009.
The last time I had been to a Yankee game was back in 2000 when the Yanks played the NY Mets in the World Series.
I went to that game with my son.
It was game 2 of the World Series and the Yankees won 6 to 5.
They would win the 2000 World Series in 5 games.

IMG_1140.JPG

Here is the Daily News from May 15, 1967 that I saved.
The picture is of the Mick hitting #500, home run that is.

IMG_3318.JPG

The day we attended the ballgame was also CC Sabathia Jedi bobblehead Day.
With CC just recently reaching the milestone of striking out 3,000 batters, he is a future Hall of Fame pitcher.
There have only been 16 players to reach this mark, and only two left handed pitchers have accomplished this feat, with CC being the 3rd.
I have a feeling that this replica of Sabathia may be worth a couple of $ one day.
On the way out of the stadium, I witnessed several people trying to buy them for as much as $50.00

IMG_3319.JPG

After getting into the stadium I had to take a picture of the people lining up to get their bobblehead.
It was refreshing to see the people in attendance lining up without cones, gates, or personal directing them.
Everyone was very civil and that was impressive, no cutting line, single file, and a quick thanks to the people handing out the bobblehead. Not what I expected from New Yorkers.

IMG_3167.JPG

Attended the game with my son, daughter in-law and our little princess Peyton.

IMG_1136.JPG
A 1st for our Grand-daughter.
Boy does this kid love to eat.
IMG_1145 (2).JPG

The Yankees would be hosting the 1st place Central Division Minnesota Twins.

IMG_3223.JPG
With J Happ getting pounded by the Twins, Boone calls in a relief pitcher. What a lonely feeling it must be out there.
IMG_3222.JPG

The boys stand around, waiting to resume play.
IMG_3226.JPG

IMG_3227.JPG

When was the last time you got paid thousands of dollars an hour to stand around at work.

One can only imagine what it would be like to play a game you love, for work.

People in the entertainment business all make out pretty well, and most of them are actors.
Baseball is also in the business of entertainment, but the major difference between them and actors, is that in sports there is very little acting going on.
Athletes are not impersonators, raw emotions are worn on their sleeves.
Anger, disappointment, joy , relief, harmony, bravado, empathy, competitiveness, love (just check out this video),
(https://www.mlb.com/cut4/sabathia-family-celebrates-3000th-strikeout
and just about any other human emotion can be witnessed while being a fan.

Grownups playing like children.

They entertain us with their athleticism, usually not with their mouth.
This is what draws me to competition at the highest level.

IMG_3228.JPG

Getting to the game with time to spare, we walked around the stadium taking in the sights.
The following pictures are of some of the Yankee all time greats.

In doing this post I figured I would share some of the pictures that were hanging on the walls of these guys.

I was just going to include their pictures and give you their names, but instead I thought it might be fun to give you some facts about each person and see if you could guess who they are.

If you think you know Yankee baseball, give it a try.

I will match the # of the player with his name towards the end of this post.

Go ahead, give it a try.
#1
Larger than life CHARACTER
The old Yankee stadium is refereed to as, The House that ---- Built.
Considered the best to ever play the game.
Loved to eat hot-dogs before and during the game.
IMG_3170.JPG
IMG_3178 (1).JPG

#2
Retired from baseball after being diagnosed with ALS
During his farewell speech at Yankee stadium he said, "Yet today I consider myself the luckiest man on the face of the earth. I have been in ballparks for seventeen years and have never received anything but kindness and encouragement from you fans."
Consecutive games played 2130. This record stood for decades until it was broken by Hal Ripken.
IMG_3204.JPG

#3
The Yankee Clipper
Married Marilyn Monroe
Won 9 World Series
The song, Mrs. Robinson
IMG_3174.JPG
IMG_3205.JPG

#4
Baseball is ninety percent mental. The other half is physical.
AFLAC
18 All Star Appearances.
Yahoo
IMG_3169.JPG
IMG_3176.JPG

#5
Center-fielder
Childhood hero
Best switch hitter baseball has ever seen
Hall of Fame
IMG_3172.JPG

#6
The Captian
3000 Hit Club, with #3000 being a round tripper
Will be first ballot Hall of Fame inductee.
Gentlemen/Good Guy
IMG_3171.JPG
IMG_3199.JPG

#7
Mr. October
Hall of Fame
The Bronz Zoo
500 home Run Club
IMG_3177.JPG
IMG_3186.JPG

#8
The gentleman without the hat was a Yankee manager for 5 years
Died at the age of 61 in a car crash in Upstate NY after a night of drinking, he was the passenger.
Yankees won the 1977 World series with him as the manager
IMG_3180.JPG

#9
Nickname Louisiana Lightning
Cy Young award winner
Won two world series with Yanks, 1977 and again in 1978
Yankees retired his number 49
IMG_3173.JPG
IMG_3182.JPG

#10
Played for both the NY Yankees and the NY Mets
Pitched a perfect game in 1999, at that time it had only been done 15 times
Currently a broadcaster for the Yanks
won 4 World Series with the Yankees
IMG_3189.JPG

#11
This epic photo was taken after the Yankees won the 1996 World series
Played for Boston Red Sox for most of his career
Hall of fame
Belongs to the 3000 hit club
IMG_3188.JPG

#12
Was selected to six All Star Games
Yankee 3rd baseman
Known for his defensive ability, garnishing the nickname, the human vacuum cleaner
Wrote a very controversial book, BALLS
IMG_3185.JPG

#13
The Captain
Died at the age of 32 in 1979 in a plane crash in which he was the pilot.
7 time All Star
IMG_3183.JPG
IMG_3184.JPG

#14
Known as the Boss, getting a beer poured over his head in this pic.
Family made their fortune in the ship building industry
Owner of the NY Yankees
IMG_3181.JPG

#15
Left handed pitcher
Won five World Series with the Yankees
He ranks as MLB's all-time postseason wins leader with 19.
IMG_3187.JPG

#16
1st baseman for the Yanks
Won 4 World Series with the Yankees
Winner of the Home Run Derby in 1977
IMG_3194.JPG

#17
Left to Right
Owner of the Yankees.
Mayor of New York during 9\11
Manager of the Yankees, winning 4 World Series during his reign. Executive vice president of baseball operations.
IMG_3197.JPG

#18
First ballot Hall of Fame
Nickname Sandman or Mo
13 time All Star
5 time World Series winner with Yankees
All time leader in saves (652)
IMG_3193.JPG

#19
Nickname A-Rod
Engaged to Jennifer Lopez
3000 Hit Club
696 Home Runs
Involved with STEROIDS and suspended from baseball for a year.
IMG_3201.JPG

Another exhibit we took in was the Wall of Balls.

IMG_3206.JPG
IMG_3207.JPG
IMG_3208.JPG
I can't believe I didn't get this dudes picture.
Known as Donnie Baseball, a fan favorite.
His career was cut short due to problems with his back.
IMG_3209.JPG
IMG_3213.JPG
IMG_3215.JPG
IMG_3217.JPG
IMG_3218.JPG
So much history in this display.

OK, time to provide you with the names of the players highlighted in the post.

#1 Babe Ruth #2 Lou Gehrig #3 Joe DiMaggio #4 Yogi Berra #5 Mickey Mantel #6 Derek Jeter #7 Reggie Jackson
#8 Billy Martin #9 Ron Guidry #10 David Cone #11 Wade Boggs #12 Graig Nettles #13 Thurmon Munson #14 George steinbrenner #15Andy Petit # 16 Tino Martinez # 17 George Steinbrenner, Rudy Giuliani, Joe Torre # 18 Mariano Riveria #19 Alex Rodriguez.

So how did you do?

The one thing that shocked me, which had nothing to do with the game, was the price for a IMG_3224.JPG

Now, I'm not a big drinker, but I had to get one of these. At this price, one was more than enough.
IMG_3225.JPG

What a truly wonderful day spent at the ballpark.
It is always a better time when the time is spent with family.
IMG_3220.JPG

When the game was over, and we had returned to where we had parked the car, the fog had lifted.
With the skies a little clearer I was able to get this picture. I believe it is a shot of The Freedom Tower.
IMG_3233.JPG

Its official, thebigsweed can ✔ Going to the new Yankee stadium off of his bucket list.

IMG_3380.JPG

Thank God my Dad was a Yankee fan and not a Met fan. Could you imagine the misery that all Met fans suffer.😢

Hope you enjoyed!

Sort:  

I got 15/19, and although I appreciate the history and the view from your eyes, as you can see from my pic icon, I despise the Yankees. Happy to take 1/3 on the road this past week. #1 in the league right now ;) Hopefully when we see you in the first round of the playoffs, we can finally be the team advancing.
Nice write up! But, Go Twins!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thanks for the reply. The Yankees, you either love them or hate them. Totally understandable, as they have won so much.
Happy you enjoyed. Go Yankees!

Congrats in getting on the OCD Compilation.

Seems like you had a great day out with the family

It was a wonderful day with the family for sure @livinguktaiwan. I would like to thank you for the role you played in getting this post recognized for being quality content.
Always appreciated!
Always humbled!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Thanks for your continued support. I have already voted for @c-squared as a witness.

Hey @thebigsweed
Your post has been determined to be Splat-Worthy!! Therefore You’ve been Splatted by the Splatz Curation Trail
E4D5E914-6CE9-4EA4-950A-18B199BC20DE.gif
source
Rewarding Your Original Work
With an Upvote
And
Resteem
If you find posts worthy of a nasty Splatin’ feel free and mention @splatz in your reply to their post. Call me out!!

Thanks for the splatting, always appreciated.

So you might know the name Mel Stottlemeyer then??? Pitching coach during the dynasty?? Mariano River days??? I just might have several autographs and a Dad who used to fish with him... A LOT!! He and my Dad were pretty good buddies and I have no idea how it came about. Johnny Bench told my Dad to tell Mel Thanks when my Dad met him. Then my Dad relayed the message to Mel and his head dropped and he described every single detail of that World Series game when he served Johnny Bench that fast ball which he smacked out of the park. Now how funny is that. My Dad is retired from a local power company and I have no idea how he came to meet these guys.

Rip Mel from what my Dad told me you were 1 amazing human being and always a pleasure to be around. He lost his battle with leukemia around a year ago. My Dad got diagnosed with some weird form of leukemia but I don’t believe them😉 He still goes fishing with Mel jr. and we are going on a Stealhead fishing trip in November with Mel jr. He has his own fishing guide service.

I was a big baseball fan as a kid then just kind of lost interest over time. I grew up during the Jose Canseco and Mark McGuire days.... the Bash Brothers. HAHAHAA roids... what roids???? Lol.

Thanks for sharing some baseball history and an awesome family experience.
Cheers!!

Hey @splatz
Do your Thing!!

That is very cool and to still stay in touch with Mel jr. and to be going on a fishing trip with him has got to be exciting. Mel Stottlemeyer pitched for the Yankees during a very bleak time. He was one of the few bright spots on the Yankee team for many years. His first year in baseball was in 1964, the only year they would make it to the world series in the 11 years he pitched.

The only Yankee that I knew on a somewhat personal level was Jerry Coleman, a second baseman for the Yankees.
My Dad was a milkman and Jerry Coleman was one of his customers. I would deliver milk with my Dad 6 days a week and on Saturdays Mr coleman would always come to the door to meet me and get his delivery. On several occasions he would hand me a set of tickets for a Yankee game. As a kid this was super exciting.
The Bash Brothers, what a shame. I remember when McGuire broke Roger Maris's Home run record in 1998. Later that year it was also surpassed by Sammy Sosa.
In 2001 Barry Bonds eclipsed the home run record by hitting 73.
All three of these guys were involved with steroids and I personally still consider 61 home runs to be the record.
Just wondering, how many of the players of the 19 were you able to name before going to the list.
Being a big baseball fan I'm sure you recognized most of them, as many of these players transcended more than the Yankees.
Thanks for the great reply and I'll be patiently waiting to see @jlsplatts's post on that Stealhead fishing trip in November.
Want some company. 😁😉👌

I was able to get 10. I few of them I have never heard of.
The Bash Brothers were just your normal Home Run Smashing ball players, then they Got HUGE!!! G... I wonder how that happened!! It is very sad to see that they felt like they had to cheat in order to become something. They were great already, why the roids??? Anyway I am with you, 61 is still the Number to beat.
That is what my Dad is giving Us 4 Boys for Christmas this next year. A Father and his 4 Sons Stealhead fishing trip guided by Mel jr. Can’t complain about that. lol

What a great gift! Four brothers, That would lend its self to some good old competivive games.

INCOMING!!!!

Congratulations on the @ocd mention, @thebigsweed! Well deserved my man. 👍🏿

Oh, you’re very welcome, more is coming my friend. I was able to tell you congratulations when this post was at 40 cents—that’s when I caught the ocd Resteem.

They’re coming dude, both ocd and Blocktrades, this is gonna be your biggest hit yet. Since I won’t be paying attention to the vote value like you will, let me know what this one ends up generating, please. My guess is... $43.00

Good luck!

$43.00 would be real nice. Always good to hear from you buddy.

Enjoy your weekend!

haha! Howdy sir bigsweed! what a great day that way, amazing and very cool the way you gave the photos and history of some of the greats of the game! How much did that beer cost?

Thanks for taking the time to read @janton, I know that you are a very busy guy. The price of the beer was $15.45. Needless to say I was not about to purchase more than that one beer that had the Yankee logo and pinstripes on it.
Have a great day.

haha! howdy sir bigsweed! wow, that WAS a great looking can though! Can you buy those at the store or is it a specialty item just from the stadium?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66407.27
ETH 3219.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34