In General

in #ye6 years ago

DSCF0438.jpg

This very old general store is about a 15 minute drive from where I live. I've stopped in there many times for emergency supplies on my way home from a gig in parts north.

To say it has a history is a huge understatement. When I took pictures of the place a few weeks ago I told @shadowspub that I had done so and was excited to share the old general store in a post. She thought that was cool, especially since she owned it at one time haha. How about that!!?? I'll let her fill in the details in a comment if she wants :D

What would an old general store be without a DVD section. For real!! @poeticsnake literally made me send her a pic of it before she would believe me.

DSCF0440.jpg

It has the most basic hardware supplies I think I've ever seen with likely the most random stuff you could ever need making it very likely that you would get lucky enough to find what you were looking for.

DSCF0441.jpg

Well, it's not the Big Apple, but it sure is cool!! That floor though!

DSCF0442.jpg

DSCF0443.jpg

Sort:  

Hopefully @shadowspub will chime in here and give us the history on the old General Store. It's a terrific little place. I have played a street dance cornroast for the last two summers and they closed down the street for it.

This year we won't be closing down the street but I think I'm still playing the gig again :) Well, at least according to our local mayor I am ha!

Well, I started to write more and then realized it was going to get quite lengthy. So, here is my post about it -- More About the Castleton General Store

WARNING: Keep this post open. You are going to need to the pictures here to follow the comments there.

Oldschool Id call it!

And by seeing the diversity of what they have the term General Store does its name honor :D

Generally speaking yes! :) ha! How's the google voice thing working out?

I never see a DVD rental section in stores anymore - how cool is that! Thanks for sharing!

It's pretty neat. The only one I've seen in recent memory! I remember the 'bigbox' DVD chains and how they were wiped out so quickly with technological advances.

Wow, a real blast from the past!

Yeah you're not kidding! Gosh I still remember the battle between VHS and Beta. Unreal. Remember Laser Disc? The were the size of a full LP vinyl record! Skipped just like them too haha.

We had a V2000 video recorder... the tapes were the size of breeze blocks and they recorded 4 hours each side... easily the superior tech but VHS won out!

Great pictures! I’m reading @shadowspub’s post on the store’s history. The two posts make a nice pair!

Very cool, to see these photos of the General Store which we've heard about on PYPT! I like the photos you made of the inside of the place, and how fantastic that this prompted @shadowspub to grace us with some stories in a post of her own! THANK YOU for sharing this with us! 😊

Thank you so much for making this post!! I was fun to see a place I had heard stories about :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63510.75
ETH 3065.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82