Yoga: the view of a sceptic.

in #yoga6 years ago

This week I have not been writing a lot and that is because I have been falling into bed exhausted at 9 pm every day of the week.

My soon to be wife @yogacoach has been doing yoga for a few years now but as most men I just looked at it like some women in a room bending around a bit saluting the sun.

Like most men, I was wrong

With me being laid off I had to spend all my vacation days and she had been planning this trip already so I just joined in (trying to keep an open mind)

The thing to remember is that this course is a yoga teacher course (so not really aimed at beginners like me)

So every day we get up at 7am and there is meditation and breathing practice, then there is tea or coffee followed by the first yoga class of the day. After that there is and hour breakfast/brunch which leads into history or anatomy. Next up is the more powerful yoga class leading into an hour and a half break. Then there is some more yoga and another class on theory. dinner is up after that followed by more theory and ending with some more meditation at 8pm.

So these are days filled with a lot of things and there is also a lot of studying involved. I came here with the intention of just laying by the pool and blogging, helping organise our crypto conference and maybe participate in a class here or there but now I just want to take away as much as I can. I guess I am hooked

For me one of the biggest successes is that I can touch my toes again!!!

Yoga is a lot of exercises that really make you limber up, help you get back in touch with your body and be aware of what is going on in there. There was a lot of stress in my body that is now slowly being released and that is bringing a lot of joy and liberation.

We spend all of our lives in this one body so we might as well take care of it.

The basic sequence of moves is called the sun salutation. This sounds very light and easy but my liters of sweat from this week will attest that this is really not easy. It is a warmup (thats what they call it, for me its a full workout) that prepares your body for an hour (and a half sometimes) of yoga exercises.
The one thing I cannot seem to get the hang of is sitting. I dare anyone to sit cross legged on the floor for more then 10 minutes, it is pure torture. Every day I can sit a bit longer before my whole body starts to protest but it still remains torture.

A lot of it in the beginning is the focus on the physical and the body. But there is also a spiritual aspect that makes a lot of sense.

I can only recommend giving it a go, take a chance and join a class. Me being the least limber in this group of people seemingly made of rubber was strange in the beginning but now its ok.

The goal is not to compete with the others but only to improve yourself

And thanks to these exercises I am truly reaching my goal.

Some things I have taken in this first week:

  • I will be doing sun salutations in Switzerland, even if it is just us two in the living room or on our balcony.
  • I will be practicing some breathing exercises on my own and enjoy the benefits.
  • I will check out some classes in the area and see if they fit me, if not I can do them myself.

The next step is to convert the yogi to bitcoin and decentralisation: My next mission.

Sort:  

Agree about the pain of the lotus position - need to learn how to do it as a kid, then it works. I found a great Taoist book that recommended sitting on a chair :-D
(Sure, not quite yoga, but is easier and better for meditation.)

Upvoted (by @rycharde), resteemed (by @accelerator) and has been added to the latest MAP Upvotes post.

= Quality Content Creators can request to join MAP = see the Benefits = Free Membership =

I've been interested in yoga for awhile now, ever since I got in a accident that cause me to get a lumbar spinal fusion. But I as well have been a skeptic. But reading about your experience you thoughts, has pique my interest.

just be mindful to let the teacher know you have back problems, because some of the poses are not good but most will really open your back again and let you regain a lot of mobility

I love yoga. I joined it 2 years ago for the first time and loved it. It made me fit and feel happy all time. Now I stopped because we dont have a yoga club near by, but have to start again soon this year :)

maybe try on your own, there are a lot of apps with sequences to follow as well. I wish you luck that you can start again.

Glad to read that you have started some thing new Yoga will benefit you greatly in the future.

I hope so, lets see in the future.

Welcome to the world of Yoga. There are so many different poses and ways of practicing that there is something for everyone.
My Yoga teacher always said to get rid of sofas and chairs - that they are really making us stiff and lazy.
Just keep changing your position a bit when you sit on the floor. And when you are doing a still meditation, laying down helps :)
I prefer moving meditations myself...

I have just gone back home for 2 days to a conference and have now arrived back into the yoga zone...

I've always felt like you - that yoga was totally different than it is. As a runner, breathing and stretching play a crucial role and yoga's helped me lower my PR's quite a bit.

yea, its really putting the body to the test, I am enjoying it without prejudice...

This sounds fascinating and equally painful, I have to admire you for joining in and giving it a go - Yoga is supposed to be as good for the mind and spirit as it is for the body if you give it time.

c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance #witness

let us see where we end up... I am enjoying it for now, pains and all...

We have selected your video for our top ten.

Absolutely amazing! :O :O :O

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64014.44
ETH 3064.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86