Hi guys! A Little about me, a vegan, yogi gypsy

in #yoga6 years ago (edited)

I’m on a mission live a kinder, more mindful, happier, healthier life. I want to wake up each morning feeling clear and purposeful. To be fulfilled. To align my actions with my values.

And I want the same for you.

Here I’ll share with you the tools that help me on my journey: recipes, yoga practices, and musings on life.

About Me:

I’m a foodie, yogi (both teacher and student), aspiring acrobat, writer and gypsy.
I grew up in Sydney Australia, but my wanderlust has led me to live in Melbourne and Byron Bay, as well as Cambodia and India. I’m currently residing in Morocco.

Food

I’m not a trained chef or a nutritionist or a dietician. I’m just a girl who likes food, a lot. I feel happiest when I live sustainably and ethically, and part of that is being vegan.

I believe everyone would benefit from eating more plants, and I know that I’m at my healthiest when the bulk of my diet comes straight from Mother Earth, with as little processing as possible.

That doesn’t mean boring food – anything but. I like my food exploding with flavour, texture and colour. Eating should be a joyful experience, satisfying to more than just our physical bodies.

And you know what? Every now and then I fall off the wagon. I’m no saint. I some times stuff myself with hot chips or raw chocolate. Occasionally I drink too much. And then I feel a bit shit and remind myself why I don’t do it too often.

Yoga

As a gymnast from a young age, I realised early on that I’m happiest upside-down, and when I found yoga, it was love at first Downward Dog. Nearly 20 years after that first class I still find joy within each practice.

I began teaching Iyengar-influenced yoga in 2002 after apprenticing with my first teacher. A few years later I discovered vinyasa yoga, and relished the freedom of flowing through movement and connecting with breath. My yoga practice became a moving meditation. Most of my teaching can now be described as alignment-based vinyasa, though I also teach Yin, Restorative and Acro yoga.

I have studied both in Australia and overseas, and am accredited as an E-RYT500 with Yoga Alliance, currently the highest level of accreditation. I’ve been privileged enough to spend the last few years facilitating yoga teacher trainings at Byron Yoga Centre, in Byron Bay Australia.

Love,
Marita x

IMG_7771.jpg

Sort:  

@marita.dortins, I gave you an upvote on your post! Please give me a follow and I will give you a follow in return and possible future votes!

Thank you in advance!

I'm eating from my gardens. You are lovely. I'm Oatmeal Joey. Nice to meet you, Gypsy Girl. Oh, yes, I love yoga, too, Marita. Love your photo here, beautiful. I love to be healthy too.

Thanks Joey! I look forward to seeing more of you here on Steemit.

Hi Marita,

warm welcome to the Steemtribe. My name is Ralf, I live in Colorado and I'm a visionary artist. Love your values, mindfulness is one of the main keys to healing the world. Hope you find what you're looking for here. I follow you and look forward to what you have to share. Blessings.

Totally agree that mindfulness is one of the main keys t healing the world! Great to meet you Ralf.

Welcome to steemit @marita.dortins. Join @minnowsupport project for more help. Checkout @helpie and @qurator projects.
Send SBD/STEEM to @treeplanter to plant trees and get an get an upvote in exchange of your donation (Min 0.01 SDB)
Upvote this comment to keep helping more new steemians
Send SBD/STEEM to @tuanis in exchange of an upvote and support this project, follow for random votes.

Welcome, Marita! So cool that you are living location independent - Morocco is just beautiful, right? Curious to see your future posts ☺️

Thanks and lovely to meet you! Morocco is beautiful; I feel very blessed to be here. xo

Hello! Welcome, I followed you and will support your blog and your articles, but I want you too to follow me. Let's develop the power of Steemit together!

Welcome Marita! I am really happy to meet you here on steemit! You seem to be such a positive and beautiful soul! I hope you are enjoying your time here with us and you are having a great time! ☀️

Thanks love! Look forward to getting to know you better. xo

Same here! I wish you great success with your steemit account!

Welcome on board. I hear you... I am just a girl who loves food and yoga too. Looking forward to your posts about it. Where have did you live in Cambodia. Have been here for 4 years now.

come back soon

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70753.86
ETH 3589.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75