I Thought I Was Doing Yoga Until I Did it … 6 Years in. steemCreated with Sketch.

in #yoga5 years ago (edited)

I was doing Yoga for 6 years, every morning. Greeting the sun, going through a flow of asanas and breathing all the way through. I thought I was killing it since I got much better and more flexible. I had no idea that the thought of getting better alone, was the opposite of what I was trying to accomplish in doing Yoga. Honestly, I had no idea WHAT I was doing. I was just following teachers with my movements. Disciplined like I was used to from my childhood where I had to compete a lot. This idea was still trapped inside of me. And whenever I did yoga with others I compared myself to them. How deep could they go into a pose, could they make it look easy and effortlessly, were they flexible like me? I was moving from one goal to the other.


Split? Check!
Bending backward into a bridge? Check!
Lotus seat? Check!
This'n'that? Check, Check, Check! I was even proud of my breathing for it was longer than most people's breath …

I was competing with myself and others until I finally had a life-changing Yoga lesson. We were doing lots of poses to open our hips and the teacher spoke about its connection to the root chakra. I felt the resistance in my hip that I am used to for all my life. This block on my right side is somehow connected to sexual abuse during my childhood and it has been there forever. This time, something popped open in this region. Like a bursting bubble, it felt while I was moving into a downward facing dog. I never landed in the pose for I collapsed in this movement. I fell to the ground, grabbed after my knees, coiled myself up into an embryo position and cried like an infant. I was shocked. Just like others who interrupt their flows and looked at me. The teacher approached me, placed her hand on my back and told everyone else to go on with a few chaturangas (a flow of particular asanas) or take a break in child's position. Well, I was. Not the child position from the asanas, I was a child, however, and I felt disgusting. She softly stroke my back and said: "Congratulations. You have just opened up your root chakra. I am happy for you. Mother earth loves you, you're safe. Everything you'll ever need will be provided for. You will always have whatever you need. Trust in your mother. Your true mother, Gaia. Just stay in this feeling. Look where it comes from, embrace it. Stay as long as you want. You're done for today. If you should have any questions, I am gonna leave my phone number next to your mat. Have a wonderful birth, my dear."

I had never in my life felt this way. I would have never dared to have such a meltdown in front of those I was competing with. But competition ended this day. It was the first time I understood what I was doing here. I was opening up my hips, my mind, my blocks, my chakras, I was overcoming my traumas! That was it all about! I had always been doing it wrong. At this moment, I just let it overfloat me. All the grief, the desperation, the urge to be loved by my other mother, the one my teacher had just called my fake mum. Fake mum. This term. I repeated it in my mind, over and over, until it became "redrum, redrum".

Fake mum, fake mum
see my longing baby arms
Fake mum, wake mum!
I'm using all my charms

I cried until I fell asleep. When I woke up, I felt fresh and new. Nobody was there, I left the empty studio and called the teacher. She congratulated me and asked how I felt. I told her how I had been crying about my mum and now felt some kind of relief. In my hips and emotionally. She told me that I had started my journey.

"Today was the first time you did yoga, dear, Welcome to your healing!"

I knew she was right. I felt better than ever before. I had never reached this point before. I felt the connection between my bodily blocks and traumas, how everything in my muscles and organs was just mirroring my emotional body and that I could move my breath and intention to where it hurts to heal. It was the last time I competed with anyone. In fact, I have seldom visited a yoga class since that day. I am always doing it by myself, every day for 13 years in total now. But it has only been for the last 7 years of it that I am really doing it. I am healing and I am tuning into my mother's frequency. Gaia's 7,83 Hertz of love.

Sort:  

You've inspired me to attend a beginner's class at my local yoga place. I'm about to walk over there right now. Thinking of taking some pictures of the experience and posting about how it goes.

… or maybe just focus on your body? ;)
I am happy to read I inspired you. Thanks for sharing. I hope you find pleasure in it as I do! Have a wonderful experience … and pictures or not, can't wait to hear about it.

If any question comes up, I leave my phone number next to your bed.
Much Love, your favorite author from the interwebs,
Bottoms Up!

φμεsτιοηαβℓε мατεяιαℓ εяяοя

Wonderful insights thank you for being so open about your journey @mayb. What a powerful breakthrough.

I am more familiar with Bhakti yoga than Hatha yoga, but have full respect for the yoga process.

Curiously you mention 7,83 Hertz, is that the Schumann Resonance of the Earth? Apparently we resonate to that frequency as children of Gaia.

I occasionally post yoga philosophy from Bhagavad Gita, like today.

Thanks for your warm comment. Yes, that's the Schumann Resonance. :) Happy to have you, like-minded friend. I already have you on my radar since I read "Vedanta" in your profile. Bhagavad Gita is definitely some of the finest knowledge humanity has to offer.

oh, and concerning different types of yoga. I like ashtanga the most, but usually, I just go with intuitive yoga and do whatever I feel like this day.

Amazing, I just wrote about "ashtanga yoga" in my post now a few seconds ago.

you've got no idea! I was just going to set up @ginabot to notify me about your posts when it informed me that …

Bildschirmfoto 20190405 um 16.26.47.png

Crazy synchronicities all over the place!

Haha lol, is it new moon today that is facilitating new connections and union of male and female within each of us?

Congratulations @mayb! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 900 comments. Your next target is to reach 1000 comments.
You got more than 700 replies. Your next target is to reach 800 replies.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Steem blockchain survived its first virus plague!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Hi @mayb!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.128 which ranks you at #9630 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 202 contributions, your post is ranked at #129.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to improve on your user engagement! The more interesting interaction in the comments of your post, the better!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Dear @mayb

Doing yoga every morning for so many years straight? Such a healthy lifestyle. I can only imagine how it does improvie quality of your life.

I presume that the best part is ... breathing. Am I right? :)

ps
Would you perhaps consider using "enter" from time to time? To separate blocks of texts? It would make it much easier to read.

Upvote on the way :) Thx for sharing

Yours
Piotr

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63855.79
ETH 3113.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.04