Yoga and Meditaion Thought

in #yoga6 years ago

Oy

I had so many plans for today, but they got derailed at around midnight. I woke up to my chickens screaming. I spent 45 minutes trying to figure out what had them losing their minds and waking the dead. Nothing. Absolutely nothing. I think maybe they were just lonely? As soon as I started talking to them they chilled out and went back to bed.

I didn't get back to sleep till after 3:00. Up at 5:00 to get Adam off to work and get some chores done. I remembered, at 6:40, that I had a dentist appointment at 8:00. So I had 30 minutes to get ready, gas up the car and get on the road.

I'm exhausted.

So, instead of the three posts I'd planned for #minnowuprising, I'll probably only get one finished. I'm gonna try for two, but it's already getting late, so no promises!

Something New For My Daily Routine

As if I've got time to kill during the day, I've added something to my morning routine. Yoga.



1530563935313.jpg



I picked up two mats at a rummage sale a while back, and a week or so later I found these dvds at the Dollar Tree. Maybe it was a sign from the universe? So I've started yoga-ing in the mornings. Meditation has been a part of day for a while. Now I do yoga then meditate for a few minutes. Or sometimes a lotta minutes.

I don't feel like it's wasted time though. I really do accomplish so much more in the day if I start it with some prayer and meditation.

I didn't get any yoga in this morning, but I did meditate when I got home from the dentist. I wanted to post about this real early in the day, but it didn't happen. Better late than never!

Exciting

I picked this book up at a rummage sale, and it gives me some greats things no meditate on. You see, I'm not very good at the think-of-nothing kind of meditating. Not very good at all.



1530564265189.jpg



I thought maybe I could post tomorrow's meditation focus here and we could talk about it a little, give me something to chew on in the morning.

As the title suggests, it gives 101 possibilities of who we've come here to be. I like to cover one possibility a day. Sometimes for a couple days.

Tomorrow's possibility is 'exciting.'

I've come here to be exciting.

What does it mean that I've come here to be exciting? Well, that's kind of the opposite of exhausted, which is how I feel today!

The book has a little blurb about molecules emitting spontaneous energy when they're excited, and that "creative impulse" being in us when we're in "a state of excitement". It goes on to suggest that we take advantage of the energy created when we're excited.

That sounds real super excellent, but I've never been good at applying that sort of thing to my life. I need specifics. So I've been thinking about it a little...

What am I excited enough about to create energy?

Well, a couple things.

  • Short term -
    I'm very excited to settle into this empty-nest thang we've got goin' here. I'm excited to figure out what our life looks like and what kind of adventures we can find and what kind of trouble we can get into.

But I don't know how to turn that kind of excitement into energy.

  • Long term -
    Pursuing a simpler, healthier life is about the most exciting thing I can think of. I get an instant energy shot from that. When it comes to learning more about gardening or animal husbandry or diy skills, I'm ready to get my hands dirty anytime the opportunity arises!

I understand the excitement-to-energy process there.

But that little blurb makes it sound more like "I'm here to be excited," than "I'm here to be exciting."

So,then, what does it mean that, "I've come here to be exciting,"? I'm having a hard time pinning that thought down.

What do you think?


One More Thing!

Please check out my Circle the Wagons post to help out a couple fellow Steemians and enter for your chance to with a share in Steem Basic Income or Dustsweeper services.

rsz_1530572086036.jpg

Sotall Directory of Steemit Posts

Sotall Community Forums


Join Us On Discord. https://discord.gg/hPJs5Rb

Sort:  

I think the "thinking of nothing" thing is a guy thing. Saw a comedy bid once that affirmed that, cause I can sit and literally have nothing going on upstairs for hours. Not sure if I'd consider it a good thing. Intense introspection is probably a lot more helpful.

Well, too much intense introspection might me took for me to deal with, with out a therapist or a stiff drink or two... 😜

The goal is to not need a shrink. ;)

Hmm, I wonder if this minnow uprising is what crashed the system. Lol! Do you know if many have committed to it? I'm not even going to try and cram anything else into my day.

Thinking of nothing while you meditate. Isn't that called falling asleep? Because I guarantee you that's what happens if my brain thinks of nothing.

Yeah, so I was trying to get my upvotes used up last night and suddenly....nuthin'. I really don't know how many are participating. But maybe it's a good "system test"? I mean, if the goal is to bring more people to steemit and have people actually using it, ( from what I understand a huge number of the accounts are dead?) don't we want to make sure it can handle all the traffic? 😏

I sit to meditate. In the floor, no backrest, good posture. If I get too comfortable I'm asleep in 5 minutes! 😐😔😑 😴

don't we want to make sure it can handle all the traffic?

Very good point. Keep testing the system!

We didn't break Steemit! lol Here's what happened...

Oh well, no harm in continuing to try! 😈

You got a plankton sized upvote from @worksinsane because your post appeared in the We Curate quality post search tool. It is a web art thingy thing that searches posts which fulfill predetermined guidelines. Upvoting isn't automated, @worksinsane reads posts before upvoting.

For more information read the introduction post.

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 19 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 9 SBD worth and should receive 108 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61041.41
ETH 2947.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85