Stardate 11.28.18 Yoga: Non-Attachment

in #yoga5 years ago

These are my thoughts on yoga today...

Been a minute since I've made a yoga post
TBH, been a minute since I've practiced solid postures
-though I do stretch every day, to some degree-
but postures are just one aspect of an ashtanga = 8 limb
yoga practice anyway.

In truth, EVERYTHING is yoga!
The compartmentalized Western brain likes to call it this or that and break it down and separate it for neat and tidy categorization, but the ALL is not that simple and clean - and yoga is a practice of unity, of wholeness.

I haven't been on my mat on the regular lately,
but I have been in my heart, body, mind, and soul big time this season.
Now especially, NON-ATTACHMENT is my jam.
This is my yoga practice today.


image.png



The 8 limbs of ashtanga are:

  1. Yamas - Restraints/moral vows
    a. Ahimsa - Non-Violence
    b. Satya - Non-lying
    c. Asteya - Non-stealing
    d. Brahmacharya - Celibacy/"Right" use of energy
    e. Aparigraha - Non-attachment, non-hoarding, non-greed
  2. Niyamas - Observances
    a. Saucha - Cleanliness
    b. Santosha - Contentment
    c. Tapas - Passion
    d. Svadhyaya - Self study
    e. Isvara Pranidhana - Surrender to a higher power
  3. Asanas - Postures
  4. Pranayama - Breathwork
  5. Pratyahara - Sense withdrawal
  6. Dharana - Concentration
  7. Dhyana - Meditation
  8. Samadhi - Enlightenment



These limbs are built on 2 main concepts: practice (Abhyasa) and non-attachment (Vairagya).

There are 2 Sanskrit words that represent NON-ATTACHMENT in an ashtanga framework = APARIGRAHA & VAIRAGYA; clearly, it is very important. So what does NON-ATTACHMENT even mean???

Non-attachment to me is maintaining my peace no matter the external circumstances. I am a low maintenance gal, but even my easygoing self has desires and wishes and wants and things I call "needs". Non-attachment means I'm chill whether I get them fulfilled or not.

Why would I throw away my inner peace just because the external environment doesn't bend to my will, or cater to my every whim, or the fact that everything is constantly changing? That's a waste of energy that doesn't accomplish my physical, mental, emotional, or spiritual goals. I see no point in getting bent out of shape by attaching to some idea of how the NOW is "supposed" to show up for me.

My most common desire lately is to be with my loved ones in full love and presence, but for various reasons we may or may not want or be able to be together. My weak human nature gets offended or hurt by this from time to time, but thankfully I quickly recognize how futile it is to ruin my own experience and sour my mood because someone else has #1 different responsibilities or preferences and #2 their own free will to conduct themselves as they see fit.

To me non-attachment also means the ability to let go of pleasurable experiences when their time is up. I can have a great time in the company of my loved ones, but inevitably our time together comes to an end. I can long for the past or wish for the future, but again that ruins my golden present NOW.

I have a choice - I can stay offended and in a bad mood and cast myself as a victim because I didn't get what I wanted or "enough" of it, or I can tune into love and appreciation. Experience shows me that it feels waaaay better to choose the latter, so I tune into love and appreciations and let go of attachment and expectations.

My focus is on the action - to FEEL and EMBODY love and appreciation - rather than on the outcome of that action (such as spending or not spending time together). If I'm feeling love and appreciation, then I already won. I already achieved my ultimate aim, and I didn't have to depend on someone else to give me what I wanted.

There is great freedom in non-attachment, and I give thanks for the abundance of circumstances that remind me of this truth.

May you be blessed along your path!

















✨💛✨ Sara!

Sort:  

Mental posture shapes experience, and non-attachment is valuable for a healthy and fluid mental posture.

Non-attachment = mental, emotional & spiritual flexibility to me

How do you have Yogic Thoughts??

Tell me because I've been Involved with living YOGA for So Long and I never ever had any Yogic Thoughts.

So please Enlighten Me Mrs.Saramiller how do you have Yogic Thoughts.

Good day, @amarbir! What do you mean by Yogic Thoughts?

My thoughts on yoga today??

This is what came to my mind when I thought about yoga on this day, so I wanted share. What comes to your mind when you think of yoga?

I don't think YOGA. I Love to Live it.

Is thinking part of living?

Yup. But do you want to stay Restricted to The Experience of Your Psychological Drama or Are You Hungry for MORE??

The daily practice of Yoga or similar activities (I work Martial Arts,same basic philosophy and practice), is essential to combat the daily wear and tear we endure in life, be it physical, mental or spiritual. The main theme, be at one with self to better understand and cope with life.

I fully believe yoga to be a great benefit to daily life. It vastly enhances health and happiness!

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70638.80
ETH 3565.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73